Find companies:
General Nutrition Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
28 reviews

General Nutrition Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive work environment
Sales Associate/Store Manager (Current Employee), Gibbstown, NJDecember 10, 2014
Pros: base pay with commission
Cons: limited employee appreciation
•Sell merchandise to customers by following GNC’s prescribed selling methods.

•Manage the operations, staffing, and sales/profit goals in a single assigned retail store.

•Implement evaluations and improvement strategies for the employee performance.

•Managed the revenue of the store which includes cash handling, delivery of deposits to the bank, – more... and deposit reconciliation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
solid company
Sr. Executive Assistant (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PANovember 14, 2014
Pros: provide many benefits for employees (free fruit, health fairs, etc)
Cons: lacking in communication
GNC is a good solid company with its corporate headquarters in downtown Pittsburgh. Many long time employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
General Manager (Former Employee), Florence, ALOctober 14, 2014
Pros: loved helping people with health goals and talking with them
Cons: 65 miles from i live and cant afford to commute anymore.
Ive enjoyed my time with GNC but am looking for a company with better advancement opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive sales environment, knowlege based sales.
Sales associate/ Manager (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: employee discounts and free products to test.
Cons: constant changes in marketing, high employee turn-over rate
In a typical workday I would be in charge of processing payroll, training employees, meeting sales plan for each day/ year. I would interact with many different types of customer and find the products that best met their needs and show them new supplements that may benefit their lifestyle. We had to constantly keep up with new merchandiding guidelines – more... and change visual marketing tools within the store. Sales chaged on a regular basis, and we had to keep up with changing prices according to sales and progressive markdowns of products with lim ited shelf life. It was fun and challenging learning about new products and hiring and training new employees to work in the same challenging environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience, fair pay, good work/life balance.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Grapevine, TXAugust 9, 2014
Pros: fair pay, decent hours, overall good company
Cons: hours can be low, some slow days
The job was good; you get paid commission on certain items so you could make more than minimum wage. For a starting job it's nice to have, although the benefits for part-time aren't much but I didn't expect it to be. As for a typical day, it consisted of helping customers find products, or answering their questions about products. Most customers were – more... nice which made the job a lot more enjoyable. Sometimes the hours were low maybe 20 a week if that, which could be bad for some but good for others who maybe just want some experience. Also some days can be very slow with just a few customers stopping in which can make it boring and hurt chances for commission items. Overall I really liked the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Centerville, UTJuly 15, 2014
Pros: freedom at the workplace
Cons: not enough training or hours
Get to learn all the new and upcoming supplements on the market. Help build supplement plans to meet every customers personal goals. Typically worked alone but had a great manager. Hardest part of the job is sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive, fun, yet difficult
Part-Time Sales Associate (Former Employee), Brookfield, CT, Danbury, CT, Newtown, CTJune 24, 2014
Pros: good people, fun environment, learn a lot about health, overall good time.
Cons: too much work, while being paid next to nothing.
Whether you were a sales associate or a manager, you had responsibilities way above your pay grade. As an associate, i was responsible in handling customers, cleaning shelves, maintaining inventory, reading about new products, and more, while working alone.
I did get to learn a lot about health, and i had fun doing it. The commission is scarce, but – more... after you learn a lot about the products and know what you're selling, it isn't hard to come by. It is definitely harder than any entry-level job, because in order to be a good salesman at GNC, you really need to know your product, and working in a mall you will need to know about a lot of products for a lot of different types of people of all ages. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On feet mainly all day either cleaning or helping others.
Part-Time Worker (Current Employee), Portland, TXMay 30, 2014
Currently only my manager and I work together. I help customers all day or whenever I may go into work. My manager and all my other higher ups only support us part-time employees and full-time employees. The hardest part of my job is really just dealing with people who are closed minded, but I stay smiling and happy to just help them. The most enjoyable – more... part of my job is that I learn something new everyday on some products that I don't know much about and that I get to help someone every day and help them achieve their goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN
Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Gulf Breeze, FLMay 22, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: standing for large amounts of time
Had a great time working for this company. I learned alot more about health and fitness while working here. Management was great and understood my need for flexible hours. The hardest part of the job is standing for large amounts of time and the most enjoyable part is interacting with customers and sharing my knowledge of health and supplements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales oriented
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Kokomo, INMay 14, 2014
Pros: discounts
Sales and time management are crucial. Co workers are nice and friendly, the hardest part about the job is dealing with difficult customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding sales/customer service position
Key Holder/Assistant Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 22, 2014
Pros: comission alongside hourly wage
Cons: full-time shifts last 12 hours in most corporate locations and you're not allowed to sit
Functional for those who enjoy building sales relationships through good customer service. Individual performance is not blemished by any failure to meet store goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrific Atmosphere
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee), Viera, FLApril 14, 2014
Working at this job has helped me develop an even stronger sense of truly helping people live well and placing their needs before my own. I enjoy being around all of my coworkers, and also enjoy being able to provide and exceed the expectations of my customers by making their thoughts and goals my priority while they are asking me questions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had one of the best manager of my career. wonderful learning experience.
PRODUCTION AND DISTRIBUTION SUPERVISOR (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAApril 1, 2014
Pros: excellent compensation & benefits at the time. great learning opportunities.
Cons: very uneven work/life balance.
Most of my co-workers were wonderful. One of the most difficult things was constant change while promotions were in progress.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail Sales
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Mission Viejo, CAFebruary 3, 2014
Cons: have to stay standing during shift
Retail Sales, hourly wage, best part of the job is access to supplements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and fast pace work environment
Senior Store Manager (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: upward mobility
Cons: competition
As a GNC manager I am responsible for every aspect of operating a business including staffing, inventory controls, sales management, and store operations. I have acquired a vast
knowledge of supplements and the human body. As with most retail management positions, the hardest part of the job was hiring the right people. The most rewarding part was watching – more... the people you trained succeed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible!
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Newburyport, MADecember 12, 2013
Pros: genuinely helping your customers live a better life!
Cons: micromanagement, long hours, lack of appreciation, training, or any general support from upper management whatsoever.
GNC is the typical corporate big box retailer, who looks to hire over qualified employees, yet somehow gets away with paying them minimum wage salaries, by promising them lucrative compensations in the place said commissions. However once you've spent a few months working you soon realize their lofty "KPI" indicators are not only impossible to hit, – more... but the lack of any serious training they provide means that the information a customer might receive is usually just plain wrong since the associate is forced to make up answers just so he can sell certain products, just so they can keep their job. This company is just plain terrible, I could go on and on and on, but that one word truly describes it all! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work many new faces you get to see all day!
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Harrisburg, PASeptember 6, 2013
Pros: working with boss
Cons: no breaks
Good place to work if you want to advance into management at some point in your life! Great atmosphere very close knit, you work side by side with a boss at all times so you learn to catch onto the job alot faster!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent organization. Tremendous potential for growth. Reputable.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Rockford, ILAugust 19, 2013
Pros: a learning and growing organization.
Cons: limited opportunity to promote into high ranking positions, unless employees are willing to relocate.
Prepared to meet clients, consult and address their business expectation. Helped clients in every capacity to reach their wellness goals. Generated high sales and met business goals. Maintained and complied with all business governance protocols.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always had something to do.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), North Hollywood, CAJuly 17, 2013
Lots of busy work, cleaning, learning, shipment, stocking, banking. Had a great manager, and fellow co-workers. The hardest part was the down time, too slow on certain days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crazy retail with toxic environment
Store Manager (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCFebruary 27, 2013
Pros: set your own schedule, do your own recruiting and hiring, learn about nutrition
Cons: typical retail environment, unreal sales expectations, high pressure, toxic culture, no formal training, forced to fire employees for ridiculous reasons
A typical day at GNC involves trying to convince people that they need to buy the most expensive items in the store. Ideally they not only buy one expensive item they don't need, but an entire selection of expensive items. If they don't buy a ton of expensive items, you can't make your sales goal. If you don't make your sales goal, you will be forced – more... to fire your employees or get fired yourself. Employees are routinely fired or punished for not making sales goals, even when they have only been with the company a month, and have received no significant sales training at all. Making your goals only ensures that you will not be yelled at for a short period. There are too few opportunities for advancement, and these advancements come with little in the way of monetary awards. And these people who get the advancements complain non-stop about how they hate their jobs and the company - but they don't do anything about it - and in the next breath they yell at you for your sales numbers. – less

About General Nutrition Corporation

GNC, the leader in the development and manufacture of dietary supplements, is committed to producing the highest quality products – Read more