Genesee Community College Employee Reviews

Showing all 16 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College was fine
Student (Former Employee) –  Batavia, NYJanuary 18, 2016
It was very interesting & I received good grades. I met a lot of interesting people and learned a lot about the human body.
Pros
I like to learn.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales experience
Intern (Former Employee) –  Batavia, NYOctober 25, 2015
When I worked for the Batavia Muckdogs, I learned sales techniques through cold calling to season ticket holders. I also sold promotional nights to local restaurants and group ticket packages to families and other companies. Here i was given a list of people to call, past and present season ticket holders and asked if they were renewing. We also sold sponsorships for around the ball park to local companies and restaurants around town.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Work Study Student (Current Employee) –  Batavia, NYApril 5, 2015
I start my morning with a coffee, fill in my shift, fill out my time card.
I would pick up the phone and transfer calls to offices inside the student activities office.
The hardest part of my job would be to have answers right away for people.
The most enjoyable part of my day was doing tasks for my co-workers.
Pros
Free coffee, free food, amazing boss
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Genesee CC expereince
Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee) –  Batavia, NYOctober 30, 2014
As a Computer laboratory assistant I was responsible for maintenance of the lab as well as assisting students that are in in the lab. maintenance of the lab can consist anywhere from keeping track of printing paper through out the lab, the number of students in the lab each hour, which computers that might be broken. I had a motivating staff to work with who seemed to enjoy helping the students, which was my favorite part of the job. I really didn't find any task to be difficult
Pros
keeps you caught up with the school programs
Cons
you see most of the students the attend gcc
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job great co workers
Cleaner/Janitor (Former Employee) –  Batavia, NYSeptember 30, 2014
I was in housekeeping dept. Cleaned various parts of building.
Pros
good pay
Cons
overnights
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very educational
Senior Library Clerk (Former Employee) –  Batavia, NYJuly 13, 2014
coworkers were nice to work with. worker who trained me was lacking alot of information i should have been taught not very good.
met many nice people.
Pros
meeting new people
Cons
not getting answers to questions
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Adjunct History Instructor (Former Employee) –  Albion, NYJuly 2, 2014
Never felt like work. Where else can you get paid to talk about something you love?
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a college
General Studies and Physical Therapy Assistant (Current Employee) –  Batavia, NYFebruary 21, 2014
It's a good school, small enough to have smaller classroom settings for more attention with work.
Pros
not having huge classes
Cons
distance, too competitive to get into programs
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High energy, fun environment
Event Staff (Former Employee) –  Batavia, NYMay 14, 2013
In a fast pace atmosphere attending to athletes with high spirits was fun and easy. A few things that I learned was paying close attention to the games and stayin gin tune with other co-workers so the game could flow. The hardest part of the job was understanding the game and the easiest part was making sure the fans were energized.
Pros
fun surroundings, high energy
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to teach
ADJUNCT INSTRUCTOR (Current Employee) –  Batavia, NYMarch 24, 2013
Good place to teach, helpful and resourceful staff, good training
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was an awesome YMCA helper.
Upward Bound Teachers Aid (Former Employee) –  Batavia, NYJanuary 7, 2013
I helped kids with food and other activities they needed. It was fun and I learned alot about teamwork and leadership.
Pros
thge satisfaction i helped kids
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Computer Lab Tech (Former Employee) –  Batavia, NYJanuary 3, 2013
Fun environment. Loved working with and helping the students. Was the perfect job for me.
Pros
if there is no student that need help you can work on your own homework while on the clock.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able to utilize my teaching skills and help out other nursing students
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Batavia, NYSeptember 3, 2012
Typical day was to focus on topics and test questions in an area that a student was not understanding very well. It helped me in reviewing old material and understand various students learning styles. The hardest part of my job was feeling like their success in that topic was all on me, but I enjoyed meeting students with the same desire and compassion in wanting to become an RN.
Pros
it was a paid position
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people working together to produce superior opportunities for students and staff
Public Relations Assistant (Current Employee) –  Batavia, NYJune 8, 2012
Freedom to be creative; team collaboration; unlimited growth opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Medina Campus
Clerical Aide (Former Employee) –  Medina, NYMarch 30, 2012
While I was at "GCC", I had a very positive experience there. The co-workers were very accomodating and helped whenever possible. The work environment was mostly positive.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Genesee Community College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 16 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.8
Culture
4.1

Genesee Community College Reviews by Location