Genesee Intermediate School District Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 22 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive yet different kind of environment
FAMILY ENGAGEMENT ADVOCATE (Former Employee) –  Flint, MIApril 1, 2016
Enjoy working with family and children. I focus only on my job. Very interesting place to work. absolutely love my immediate co-workers. I try to be cordial to everyone else. You never know around here.
Pros
Pay
Cons
No Paid Lunch No pay increases
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Place
Family Advocate (Former Employee) –  Flint, MIMay 20, 2015
Great Work Environment
Opportunity for advancement (advanced to Coordinator) learned about how to manage staff with different work style and personality
Effective case management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Work Environment
Substitute Teacher K-12 (Current Employee) –  Davison, MIApril 24, 2015
- Davison Community Schools
- K-12 Grades
- All Subjects
- Enjoy seeing all different personalities of students
- Excellent support from teachers and district administration
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great learning opportunity.
Program Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Flint, MIApril 15, 2015
I gained some great friends and great experiences while working for this organization. I learned a lot about being in a leadership position.
Pros
Fridays off
Cons
No Health insurance
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Koerts Glass
Transportation Aide (Current Employee) –  Flint, MINovember 5, 2014
I would clean up around the shop to make sure it was a safe environment for everyone to work in. I would also carry glass and other items out to customers cars if they were to need help. Loaded trucks for the guys in the morning to get them on the road. Workers and management there were great all respected each other and worked great together. The company went under and had to close so we all split and went our own ways.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working for the school systems
Substitute Teacher-Swartz Creek, Flushing (Current Employee) –  Mount Morris, MIAugust 12, 2014
Organized, prompt, and a joy to work with! I have had no issues with GISD.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School setting, pediatrics
Student PT (Former Employee) –  Flint, MichiganAugust 6, 2014
Work with teachers OTs and SLPs, do home visits and set up motor learning classes in the schools. If you love kids, love school hours, this is the place to be!
Pros
school hours, babies!
Cons
long drives especially difficult in the winter, sometimes unsafe neighbourhoods
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Internship in the Technology and Media Services (Former Employee) –  Flint, MIJuly 24, 2014
I really enjoyed working at Genesee Intermediate Schools. I was able to use my knowledge I had learned at Baker College. I really liked the people I worked with.
Pros
keeps you busy
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you love working with children and working out side this is a wonderful job
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Flint, MIJune 23, 2014
Driving school bus, you are your own boss. The hardest part of this job is the cold winter days waiting for the bus to heat up.
Pros
travel
Cons
summer breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful district to work for
Transportation Aide (Former Employee) –  Flint, MIJune 12, 2014
I grew up receiving educational services in genesee county. I was happy to see that the administrative professionals truly cared for the students and their needs. The transportation department is dedicated to providing the best possible services to all students.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy and detail oriented place
Special Ed Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Flint, MIApril 28, 2014
Work day is all about time managment and customer service.
I learned to have better customer service and manage my time.
Co workers are great when you get to see them.
Hardest part of the job is being at work before 6 am .
The most enjoyable part of this job is watching the children grow and become amazing young adults.
Pros
go on field trips, meet new people, and snowdays!
Cons
not a year round paycheck, long breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice to help children learn
Substitute Teacher-PESG (Current Employee) –  Genesee CountyApril 15, 2014
Typical day is to be a guest teacher in a classroom. I learned that children learn in various ways. Management is not really seen in the school setting, the co workers are nice and most enjoy what they do which is educating kids. The hardest part of the job is disobedient children that just wont listen. The most enjoyable part of the job is when all the kids listen and get the lesson complete without questions and issues. The fact that is only a job that is only an as need basis.
Pros
planning hour and lunch hour
Cons
kids with severe issues that you want to help but cant
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult work Environment.
SSW For GISD (Current Employee) –  Flint, MINovember 22, 2013
Difficult working with SEI high school students on a daily basis. Very good staff to work with in the program. Goal is to help students with social skills.
Pros
small group of students.
Cons
having to physically manage students.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fine place to learn how to handle stress
Parent Educator/Prevention Education Specialist (Former Employee) –  Flint, MIAugust 27, 2013
A typical day of work exceeded the normal work day, with preparations for the next day's work. I learned how to handle the pressure of getting a job done, that could not be finished during a normal work day. The hardest part of the job was knowing that the grant funding would run out. The most enjoyable part of the job was the interaction with the students.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This program ensures that the students are learning beyond the classroom.
Youth Development Instructor (Current Employee) –  Flint, MIAugust 14, 2013
A typical day could range amongst many different activities. I learned how to deal with students more thoroughly on an individual basis. I was apart of the supervising team for my site. My co-workers were a joy to work with and they were very responsive to my leadership. The hardest part of the job is watching the students go home at the end of the day knowing that they are no longer in your care. The most enjoyable part of this job is knowing that you made a difference and had an impact on a student that could potentially change the world.
Pros
teaching the students.
Cons
programs should have lasted longer throughout the day.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place, flexible
RN (Former Employee) –  Flint, MIJuly 23, 2013
I loved this job, every part of it!! My co-workers were the best & I enjoyed helping the patients.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun work place.
Paraprofessional (Current Employee) –  Flint, MIJune 24, 2013
Working with Special needs children. Assistant Students in growth and development. I enjoyed working with my co-workers,
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great after scool program
Club Leader (Former Employee) –  Flint, MIFebruary 4, 2013
This was a great oppertunity for me to become apart of a team that helped students with academics and makimg the best out of their spare time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
High School Co-op/College Intern (Former Employee) –  Flint, MIJanuary 23, 2013
At Genesee Intermediate School District, I was provided with my own work space, surrounded with great co-workers, and was given great responsibility in the company. A typical day at work would include sitting at your desk to perform your duties, take an hour lunch, return back to work. The most enjoyable part of my job was working with the employees and my co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive good feelings working with special needs children
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Flint, MIJune 20, 2012
Taking special needs children to and from school.That everyone is special no matter what.Managment is very good and understanding.Coworkers are kind and considerate.Hardest part is straping in wheelchairs .Enjoyable part is at the end of the day
Pros
selfworth
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 22 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture