Find companies:
Genesis HealthCare
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
452 reviews

Genesis HealthCare Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Day at Genesis
Certified Nurse Aide (Current Employee), Norristown, PAApril 15, 2014
Pros: love helping people progress
Cons: sometimes are short of staff
I work the 7am to 3 pm shift, which is the most busy shift, so my work day goes by pretty fast. At 7am I awake my residents, help bathe, groom, and dress them. When I'm finish I send them to breeakfast. For the residents who aren't able to eat in the cafeteria, I get their orders and deliver them a room tray. Through out the rest of the day I toilet – more... residents, prepare their for their therapy, chart their ADL's, restoratice, etc on the kiosk. Around 11:30am lunch begins, and I get all of my residents in to the cafeteria for lunch. After lunch, I toilet them, answer call bells, do restorative with certain residents as needed, do vitals, and chart. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work, however each day has its own package of blessing
LPN /CHARGE NURSE (Current Employee), Frederick Maryland.April 14, 2014
Pros: thanks god i can help somebody and make the feel happy at the end of the day.
Cons: sometimes, i can miss lunch.
Busy place , on a typical day,.Learned to respect other peoples culture, that my culture is not superior in any way.Management are sometimes helpful,just a little bit,otherwise most of the time they are not.Co-workers are respectful to each other.Hardest part of my job is passing medications to 60 patients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with advancement opprotunities
Dietary Aide (Current Employee), Catonsville, MDApril 8, 2014
Pros: flexible work shifts
Cons: wages
Management is always available to educate and help. Working to ensure satisfaction of patients is always the number one priority. The hardest part of the day is trying to get everything accomplished on a tight timeline. Seeing a smile of the patients is by far the most enjoyable part.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring environment
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee), Chelmsford, MAApril 7, 2014
We all work hard to go above and beyond to make the residents feel comfortable and at home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Dietary Aide (Former Employee), Concord, NHApril 7, 2014
Pros: people
Cons: pay and hours
The people I worked with were nice and friendly, made a lot of good friendships. The work was busy but fulfilling and always kept me busy. However the shifts they game me sucked. 3 hour shifts a day at the same exact time. No morning shifts no afternoon shifts just the same night shift from 4:30pm - 7:30pm sometimes 8pm. The pay was absolutely terrible. – more... After working there for almost 2 years taking every shift I could, never missing a day. I was rewarded with a 12 cent raise for those 2 years. Get ride of the stupid hours and bad pay and It would be an awesome job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the place to work.
CNA (Former Employee), colorado springs coApril 6, 2014
Pros: you got a job
Cons: everything else
horrible place to work, always short staffed and over populated. Nursing has no clue as to how to properly care for the residents. Management always looking for a way to pull a fast one rather its over the staff or residents head. They are not willing to help with anything. Very high turnover rate of staff. You get a max of 1% raise a year which is – more... ten cents. Very under paid for LTC center. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad for start
CNA/GNA (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDApril 2, 2014
may feel over worked and underpaid
coworkers arent that helpful
theres no teamwork
they work with you
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
blah
CNA/Caregiver (Former Employee), Burlington, NJApril 2, 2014
Cons: everything
horrible place to work, always short staffed and over populated. Nursing has no clue as to how to properly care for the residents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very low moral
Coding Specialist 1 (Current Employee), Zanesville, OHApril 1, 2014
Very low pay with absolutely no perks. The co-workers are very supportive of each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place out there.
Dietary Aide (Former Employee), Windsor, CTApril 1, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: management.
Job: Tray line, calling out meals, preparing meal trucks, delivering and serving meal in a dining room setting, dish washing/cleaning.

What I learned: Having to work fast and efficiently with little or no time for breaks.

Management: Run by bureaucrats who doesn't really care much for their staff let alone the residents.

Co-Workers: I'm sure every – more... department is different, but the people that I worked with, worked with each other despite call out's and daily delays.

Hardest Part of the Job: Poor management from supervisors and higher-up's. A lot of personal agendas being mixed in with work that created a bad work environment.

Enjoyable part: Getting to see the residents and interacting with them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People person who is dedicated and deependable (intership)
Occupational Therapy Assistant Internship (Former Employee), Athens, GAMarch 31, 2014
Early start, with a positive attitude and open mind to learn new things. willingness to be a team-player avoiding any tension and un-comfortable situations on the job. the hardest part of the job was the distance. The most enjoyable part is helping people, looking at the smiles on their faces or as their eyes or faces light up, knowing you have made – more... their day brighter. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved my Residents and missed them.
LPN Charge Nurse (Former Employee), MDMarch 29, 2014
Pros: good families.
Cons: no time for lunch
I had a very busy day some time there no time for lunch. I really don't have anything to say;
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong emphasis on teamwork
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Eatontown, NJMarch 28, 2014
Teamwork is emphasized and used as a tool for all employees to provided high quality care. Management on floors very involved with care. Great relationship with coworkers. Long shifts with heavy patient loads.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experiance always encouraging learning
LPN (Current Employee), Boise, IDMarch 27, 2014
Pros: great insurance
Cons: na
A typical day at work consists of passing meds processing orders and providing wound care to those who need it. It also includes admitting and discharging. Co-workers are amazing, the most enjoyable part is I learn something new almost every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great residents
cna (Former Employee), Agawam, MAMarch 26, 2014
Pros: wonderful place to work
Cons: seening resident pass.
I enjoy working at a nursing home . The residents are so funny and full of life experiences they would make my day with there stories.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexable schedule
CNA (Former Employee), Milford DeMarch 24, 2014
Pros: flexability
Cons: call outs
Caring for patients, assisting patients with dressing, eating, and daily activities!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aweful Place to Work
Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Rutland, VT, MVCMarch 22, 2014
Pros: semi-flexable work schedule; over-time avaliable
Cons: over worked, short staffed
This place has a high rate of turn over and you will work with a lot of traveling nurse. Pay is low compared to other local LTC faucilities. Short staffed and over worked. Mangement is not helpful at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible experience with elderly; present staff were not dedicated to their patients nor their work performance
CNA/GNA (Former Employee), Easton, MDMarch 20, 2014
Cons: lack of training
Helps patients by supporting personal hygiene and daily living needs; providing comfort, transportation, and vital sign monitoring
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
CNA - GNA (Current Employee), Dundalk, MDMarch 18, 2014
I enjoy take care of residents, I learn a lot from them, I like a Team work, I respect my co-workers, my residents. The hardest part of my job is see how one resident sad. the most enjoyable part of my job is being at work, Talk, help and care for my residents..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
CNA (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMarch 18, 2014
Pros: small facility
Cons: no hours
there were no hours but they kept hiring new people making it impossible for people that has been there to obtain hours.

1 2 3 4 5

About Genesis HealthCare

Genesis HealthCare creates care for people when care is what counts.┬áThe company operates more than 400 assisted living and skilled – Read more

Genesis HealthCare Photos