Find companies:
Genesis HealthCare
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
514 reviews

Genesis HealthCare Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful organization; patient care is top priority; teamwork; leadership inspires confidence in employees.
Medical Staff Assistant (Former Employee), Zanesville, OHJuly 20, 2014
Pros: free meals, flexible hours, supportive leadership and co-workers.
Cons: one hour commute each way to work.
Excellent leadership in my department. Relaxed and fun while remaining devoted and hard working to complete duties. Most enjoyable part of the job is interaction with co-workers, manager, physicians, and support staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not worth it
dietary aide (Current Employee), mt olive ncJuly 19, 2014
Cons: breaks cut in half. .no time to really take one
Like the residents but the work is not worth the pay.complete disorganization and managment shows favortism.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
limited resources to work with
CHARGE NURSE (Former Employee), Conway, NHJuly 18, 2014
Pros: baylor shift
Cons: limited staff per shift
long term care facility with snf patient care. hardest part of day is limited nursing staff available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay
Licensed Practical Nurse-Charge Nurse (Former Employee), Oak Hill, WVJuly 15, 2014
Loved my manager and the residents. The pay was low but that is regional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Receptionist and more!
Receptionist/Secretary (Former Employee), Williamsport, PAJuly 14, 2014
Pros: free meal when you pulled a double or when you worked a holiday.
Cons: wasn't too often able to take break or lunch/supper break away from desk.
I answered phones, directed visitors to the proper locations, typed new admissions, and entered data into computer. I also did filing, copying, and fax. Their were admission packets I made up, and assisted the accountant when needed. I also was responsible for bulk mailings, opening and distributing daily mail and distributing newspapers. Some of the – more... typing and computer work I did was monthly menus for Dietary and monthly calendars for Activities. Also, other work as needed and when assigned and supervising lobby so patient's that were not allowed to leave facility did not leave. I enjoyed talking to patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management that struggles for cohesiveness.
Business Office Manager (Current Employee), Las Cruces, NMJuly 14, 2014
The work load is steady and keeps me busy. The struggle is that the management at this facility does not work as a cohesive unit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A comfortable environment to work
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 14, 2014
Pros: great preceptors/nurse educators, fair environment, comfortable to work with co-workers
Cons: equipment availability.
Company provided a fair and stable work environment. This company provided me with excellent training and orientation before I started working on my own.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
focus on family and residents
GNA/CNA (Current Employee), German hill roadJuly 12, 2014
Pros: advancement
Cons: number of residents per employee and low pay
Genesis is a great place to work. I have been there for 10 years and I really like my job. When I come to work I greet my residents with a smile and offer my assistance to those who need it. I wash them up brush their teeth help them dress comb their hair to get ready for the day. Breakfast comes up and I open milk cartons cut up food if needed and – more... continue to feed if needed The staff is nice and my co-workers are always willing to help with pulling up and anything else I need to make the resident feel happy. Genesis not only focus on the resident they also focus on the staff by giving us training on how to deal with difficult residents. Sometimes we have to pick up extra residents due to call-outs and its a little hectic but we pull together and work together and the end of the day the smiles on the residents faces really make you feel good. I think genesis should pay more money because we really work hard then maybe they would not have people calling out as much due to being overworked. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Review Of Genesis
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Salisbury, MDJuly 9, 2014
Genesis Healthcare is a great place to work. The staff are nice and friendly. Management as well are nice including the coworkers. I enjoy working with elderly people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Love being able to help and care for others.
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Elizabethtown, NCJuly 8, 2014
Pros: there are no pros, that i can think of.
Cons: alot of disorganization going on. no appreciation of how hard the cna's work. under payed.
You learn people everyday. You learn to work as a team not a individual, which some people try to make it difficult. But at the same time you can't let other peoples negativity cause you to have a bad day. The most enjoyable part is being able to see my Residents happy and smiling. The hardest part is seeing a Resident pass away.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CNA
Certified Nursing Assistant (Rehab) (Former Employee), Agawam, MAJuly 8, 2014
Pros – Close to home, great co-workers. Great administrator. Love the job but underpaid for the responsibility and work load.great co workers. On the job trainging and paid in services.

Cons- frequently understaffed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drama filled work place
Staff Nurse and Pool RN (Former Employee), Glen Mills, PAJuly 7, 2014
Pros: small facility, pay was ok
Cons: personal drama brought to work
This particular facility in Chester, was not my favorite. Lots of drama in the work place, because Chester is a small place and the people that live in Chester, work at this facility. They all seem to know each other. Things may have improved since I was there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair
other (Former Employee), RIJuly 6, 2014
.Benefits awful,heavy workload,Can only say fair for everything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being honest
Dietary Aide (Current Employee), Colorado Springs, COJune 26, 2014
Pros: co workers and residents are nice. an 'okay' environment.
Cons: taken advantage, poor management
Started working late 2012 before genesis showed up and since then, I haven't really liked it. 1% raise isn't really worth it (especially for people with families). I work in the dietary department and my supervisor would take advantage of anyone who couldn't say, no. I couldn't even keep a set schedule and if I did, it would only last for 2 weeks before – more... another co worker asked for days off that you already wanted or have. Favoritism is STRONG. Management is terrible (they probably don't even know some of the employees by name), Some of CNA's were/are lazy, some of my co workers do less work than others and can't even follow basic rules like no hats in the kitchen, unless it was provided by the department. If you need a desperate job and are fine with minimum wage, go for it. If not, don't bother working for these guys. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY PRODUCTIVE WORKPLACE
INTERNSHIP (Former Employee), BALTIMORE, MARYLANDJune 26, 2014
Pros: clean environment to work
Cons: tedious work schedule
GREAT TEAM WORK AND VERY WELL EQUIPPED FACILITY. THE STAFF ARE FRIENDLY AND ENVIRONMENT IS CLEAN.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable workplace
Lead Telecom Billing Analyst (Former Employee), Kennett Square, PAJune 25, 2014
Very enjoyable workplace. Learned so much about Telecom. Co-workers very wonderful to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Occupational Health Technican (Former Employee), Zanesville, OHJune 18, 2014
Overall, it was a great place to work. I got a lot of good experience. Management could be better. They put management in departments that they knew nothing about. Poor judgement on Genesis
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated beyond normal expectations. Absolutely reliable and punctual!
Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee), Saugus, MAJune 18, 2014
The most enjoyable part of being a nurse is being able to make a difference in my patients lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Rehab Office Coordinator (Current Employee), N Cape May, NJJune 15, 2014
Genesis provides a quality work environment and great patient care
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had fun with my residents! Yes there was up's and down's.
Long Green center (Former Employee), Baltimore MdJune 12, 2014
Pros: pay for lunch/ salary $12.00
Cons: pay on your years as a gna
A typical day as a GNA is providing patient care and ADL's the normal. LongGreen center management was always there for me when dealing with lying patients. Co-workers are team players. The enjoyable part is when your hard work is recognize or getting to know the residents. The hardest part is when you become close to a resident and they suddenly pass – more... a way. I transfer to Agency you will make above $13.00 an hour no benefits because of the money you will make a week. I make my own hours now. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Genesis HealthCare

Genesis HealthCare creates care for people when care is what counts. The company operates more than 400 assisted living and skilled – Read more

Genesis HealthCare Photos