Genesis HealthCare Employee Reviews

Found 1,372 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Seaford, DEDecember 2, 2016
They can work with your schedule. Pay rate isn't great but you get a raise 2x per year. They are very strict with policies. In the one that I worked I work with a great team and we all got along not always the case.
Pros
Secure job, it's a job
Cons
Pay rate isn't great
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patient care tech
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee) –  Zanesville, OHDecember 1, 2016
Not ideal company all they care about is themselves they change schedule without warning and I had to have emergency surgery and got fired for it.
Pros
None
Cons
No breaks expect to work 6 days a week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is this high school again? Managers grow up!!
Worker (Current Employee) –  Wallingford, CTDecember 1, 2016
There is no staff moral, can't blame them. The gossip starts right at the front desk , runs through sales, nursing, accounting every department you go into and these are the managers! No holiday party's to try to boost moral. No one is discplined for malicious gossip. Very dark place.
Pros
the residents are great
Cons
Nasty staff
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work environment
Charge Nurse (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MDNovember 30, 2016
Heavy task oriented 20 acute patient bed unit. Very little support from other nurses or manager. Patient load very heavy. Assistive staff lacking professionalism and many display poor attitudes toward taking care of patients.
Pros
day shift, OT available
Cons
poor staff culture, i.e. backbiting, frequent call outs, unprofessional behaviors. Lack of support from management and very heavy daily work load.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelent team to work with
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dunn Loring, VANovember 30, 2016
Is a pleasure to work at this company with people of different Ethnic.. No discrimination or racism.
We all work together for the benefit of our residents
Pros
You can take your vacation any time of the year
Cons
Expensive benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack support and organization
Associate (Former Employee) –  North Cape May, NJNovember 30, 2016
This organization doesn't follow there own core values. The administrator here does not have the knowledge or the ability to run this building. There is no support from corporate. The employees who need to be gone are pampered while the ones who do good are kicked to the side. Absolutely nothing is don't to retain staff. There is no recognition program whatsoever. Hasn't been for quite some time.
The culture lacks enthusiasm. Morale is poor. Leadership lacks the ability to delegate when necessary and follow-up. Leadership lacks the ability to confront and take a stand with other leaders for the good of the facility. this company hires bodies not qualified individuals. thus creating sub standard performance. Overall to run a company it is about the people who work for you and the processes that are put into place. I'm afraid genesis (at least where I am located) fail on both fronts.
Pros
The pure experience of helping others
Cons
Low morale standards are low
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always extra shifts to pick up
Manager (Current Employee) –  Wilmington, DENovember 29, 2016
Fair management, always career advancement. Good teamwork, right in the center city of Wilmington. Lots of Longevity here.
Pros
Extra hours always, gifts during Christmas, friendly
Cons
Cant please everyone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Food Service Worker (Current Employee) –  Circleville, OHNovember 28, 2016
It was a good job close to home. Pay was competitive with the area it was located. I worked for the company for 17 years until I had to be on a lay off due to jobs being outsourced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once upon a time....
Recreational assistant (Current Employee) –  Southern ocean center njNovember 28, 2016
Staff gets along with each other great relationships with family and customer/residents. Staffing is poor...never enough money in the budget for anything. Recreation staff are dedicated and compassionate but are run down and exhausted. Nursing is always short. Laundry and house keeping deal with a boss that does not appreciate them and is overly intimidating. Dietary again another short staffed department. No options for over time in any department but nursing. Administration hides behind closed doors and have no relation with employees. Moral is poor.
Pros
1199 seiu union pension health ins etc
Cons
Under staffed management bullying etc
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You do not stand a chance if
Management Associate (Former Employee) –  MarylandNovember 26, 2016
Working for this company is challenging. If you are not connected to someone at the top forget about making it in this company. Not minority friendly
Pros
Great Work Life Balance
Cons
Terrible Benefits, Click-ish wok environment. A lot of nepotism
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place to work
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Chelsea, MANovember 25, 2016
Place is run down. Employee turn over if very high, pay low. Consistently understaffed. Management does not have your back, and throws you out with out proper training.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Asst. Director of Nursing (Former Employee) –  Shawnee, KS 66216November 22, 2016
Shawnee Gardens has been a great place to work. It has a very positive environment and the team shows great teamwork. The staff is wonderful and are very caring.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big business corporation
LPN (Former Employee) –  Shillington, PANovember 18, 2016
Would never work for Genesis again, literally treated as the employee number you are given upon hire. The management team never came out from the office and clearly had no concern or compassiom for the guests.
Pros
Great direct care staff team
Cons
Management, budget cuts
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small rehab depts that makes you travel to other buildings
Occupational Therapy Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CANovember 18, 2016
Genesis is a good company that offers good benefits but lacks steady flow of patients that causes therapist to travel to other buildings
Pros
Good inservices on documentation and benefits
Cons
Travel to other buildings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a place that needs more organization and team work
Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chelsea, MANovember 18, 2016
most people i work with are nice however it is very hard to work as a team with the other cnas because they refuse to help you with patient that are two people assistance the worst part is that most of time i don't get the support i need from the nurses. i planning on talking to the manager so, he can do a meeting and talk to everyone about this.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Pharmacy Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Darlington, SCNovember 16, 2016
Treat everybody the same.......................management should be more developed and defined and refined
....The benefit of this job is that you do not work weekends-pay is low
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpleasant, Unhappy, No room for advancement
Licensed Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  NHNovember 15, 2016
Management didn't give staff support in any way. Nurses have come in to work as lnas because the DON refuses to help out. DON forces staff to stay until that staff member can find someone to come in and work when next shift calls out or doesnt show up as she will refuse to help.

The hardest part of the job was knowing the residents already dont receive the care they need and deserve due to be understaffed and management not willing to help on the unit when they are qualified to help with patient care.

The most enjoyable part of the job was knowing I made a difference in thier lives and that I did the best that I could. I enjoyed working with my fellow coworkers but management was not pleasant.

Turn over right is very high. At most it is a year but most don't make it through the 1st week of orientation on the floor due to how we are treated.
Pros
Always overtime due to short staff
Cons
Management doesnt provide staff support and are mainly in thier office
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Seaford, DENovember 14, 2016
Love the staff, Residents, and Management. Residential care is thorough, and not half way done. Very clean, and on point with the residents ADL's. The employees really care about their residents almost as if they were family, and thats how I feel they should be taken care of.
Pros
Good Hours
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very awesome work environment
CNA (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMNovember 14, 2016
Very professional place awesome environmen learned a lot learned to change colostomy bags and catheters high paying good shift and hours was very much a great place to work everyday was looked forward to management was excellent co-workers were excellent and well trained hardest parts were Hoyer lifts or two person transfers accident reporting most enjoyable was being able to help others and make a impact on their lives as a great nurse
Pros
Free lunches loving residents great staff $50 bonuses for extra shifts
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place and people
Assisting of the Dietician (Current Employee) –  Oak Hill, WVNovember 13, 2016
Great place and people but no room for advancement, pay is not good and not very much training available. I would recommend the job if i lived closer.
Pros
Great people and residents
Cons
bad pay, not very much over time availible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 1,393 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.9
Culture
3.1