Find companies:
Genesis HealthCare
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
522 reviews

Genesis HealthCare Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had a bad experience.
Speech-Language Pathologist (Former Employee), Spooner, WIMay 28, 2014
Overall the company has a good, therapy-centered culture. They want us to achieve, advance, and educate. However I had a particularly poor rehab manager who felt her 26-bed SNF (with an average of TWO Medicare A patients at a time) required a Full Time SLP. I left. Be careful, this company PROMOTED her for her desire.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5 star
HEALTH IN (Current Employee), Dunbar, WVMay 27, 2014
Pros: good benefits..caring and comittment
I have been 10yrs with present employeer, Genesis Health Care they are comitted to providing Quality Care. I am interested in relocating to a warmer climate since the loss of my husband.
My day can go from 0-360 in a second when multiple request from
hospitals,,Dr. offices and etc all want records at once.

I can say i love my job...i love being a Nurse..would – more... not change a
thing..
You cannot survive in this field unless you are a team player. I rate my
employeer a high 5 star rating. I enjoy the good benefits my employeer
offers.
Being at this facility for 10 years have made life-long friendships and
respect for my co workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Medtech/PCA (Current Employee), Pottstown, PAMay 26, 2014
Great place to work! Taking care of the elderly population makes you appreciate life in so many ways! You are responsible for taking care of the resident's personal needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Genesis HealthCare
Dietary Aide (Former Employee), Macungie, PAMay 26, 2014
A typical day included ensuring quality food is delivered to over 100 patients and using communication skills to deal directly with customers. I learned to customer service skills as well as how to adapt to a constantly changing environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being a Supervisor
Billing and Collection Supervisor (Current Employee), Kennett Square, PAMay 26, 2014
Pros: overtime, flexible, benefits
Cons: sometime no lunch, no communication, no training
Come into work with a smile ready to take on the challenge I will have ahead of me for the day. Hundreds of emails of questions from the centers on how to bill or collect for service. Questions from co-workers about on how to collect on a account. I learned that in the healthcare field everything changes all the time and you never know when. Every insurance – more... carrier is different and will deny a claim for the smallest issue. The hardest part of my job is getting the provider representatives to have their systems set up correctly with our contracts. The most enjoyable part of my job is having resolutions to take to higher management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
GNA/CNA (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDMay 26, 2014
Pros: rewards for good jobs
Cons: sometimes no breaks but they dnt take out for meal break
A productive an helping care plan place for rehab with anyb pat of body some good team work at times i learned alot being there on the TCU they assist with an older or younger adults daily needs such as bathing ,feeding,an dressing,wound care plan,keeping upon the infection control.What i enjoyed wat the patients they was joy to my life i love going – more... to work toput a smile on there face an they was happy see me . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall review for Genesis is 8 out of 10.
Director of Social Work-MD Licensed (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDMay 26, 2014
All nursing facilities require lots of paperwork and management requires lots of meetings. Since I am more of a hands-on person with expertise in discharge planning I am ready to come completely out of management and utilize my discharge planning skills on a full-time basis in a hospital setting.
The hardest part of my job is lots of paperwork, meetings – more... and limited time to do discharge planning. The fun part of my position at Genesis is pulling together a safe discharge plan when the odds were against us due to limited support system in the community. It is great to see a 95 y. o. patient return home to his or her own setting with personal care aides in place and a family member who agreed to check in on him or her. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work place
Clinical Coordinator (Current Employee), Zanesville, OHMay 26, 2014
Pros: new medical center to open in 2017
Cons: forcing rns to obtain bsn in order to keep their jobs at the new facility
Typical day at work:
Primary duty is Clinical Coordinator, a liaison between the manager and front line staff. I provide direct patient care to 5-7 patients of my own assignment, in addition to being charge nurse to my unit and at times the sister unit next to use. I am also scheduler for night shift staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I HAD GOOD TIME WORKING AT GENESIS
CNA (Current Employee), Spring House, PAMay 25, 2014
Pros: got along with staff amd residents quick.
Cons: had to leave in a very short period of time, after the good time we had.
MY SHORT STAY WAS AMAZING, WHERE I LEARNED SO MANY THINGS IN A SHORT PERIOD OF TIME.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my job, however the salary provided is not worthy of what I provide
Accounts Coordinator (Current Employee), Sistersville, WVMay 22, 2014
Pros: love my co-workers and most of the residents. feel proud after a day at work.
Cons: the money i make for the skills i provide and the money i save is ridiculous.
I mangage four differend budgets. Order all supplies for the Center. I handle all the A/P duties from invoicing to researching statements to make sure all invoices are paid. Reconcile petty cash as well as customer service. Management is wonderful at our Center. I've learned that hard work does pay off in getting a "good job" however the financial rewards – more... are lacking. My co-workers are amazing. The hardest part of my job is losing a resident. Most enjoyable part of my job is saving my Administrator money (because he's awesome) and also the joy I get from helping a resident that I know no family member visits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive Management
CLINICAL ADMISSIONS DIRECTOR (Former Employee), Andover, MAMay 21, 2014
Advanced sales trainings, management support and overall costumer service was outstanding
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for advancement
Rehab Office Coordinator (Former Employee), Charleston, WVMay 21, 2014
It was great interacting with my patients on a daily basis. Many of my patients were over 80 yrs young
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Entry Level Job
Dietitian (Current Employee), Seattle, WAMay 19, 2014
Get plenty of experience building skills as entry level position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love Helping and talking to people
CNA/Caregiver (Current Employee), Gettysburg, PAMay 19, 2014
Pros: talking to people all day
Cons: pay/health insurance
I love my job for many reasons, the biggest of them being that I work on the Transitional Care Unit (TCU or REhab) I get to meet people that aren't your "typical" nursing home resident. I love hearing their stories and the things they've seen and done. It also take a huge toll on my emotions. getting to know these wonderful people as they come and go, – more... pass away, or move to our long term care. I have learned so much from my job and that's something i can never forget. Not to take life so seriously all the time, enjoy it while you can because you never know when you won't be able to anymore. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very physical work environment, not what I expected
Food Service/Receptionist/Volunteer (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAMay 18, 2014
Pros: free lunches and dinners
Cons: no flexibility in scheduling, kitchens get extremely hot, short breaks, high stress environment
Genesis Healthcare is great place to work if you enjoy working with your hands, working in an extremely fast-paced environment, being physical most of the day, and don't mind working in extreme climates. I took this job thinking that I would learn a lot about food, food service, expand my knowledge (I am a nutrition major) etc. However, I quickly learned – more... that any nutrition knowledge used in the kitchen, I have already learned. There isn't much room for expanding my knowledge. I also thought that I would be able to work regular part-time hours, however, I only get 9 hours a week, but this is because I am a student. If you have ample amount of free time, then this is a good place to apply. If you're a college student such as myself, there isn't much flexibility in the schedule. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company for therapists!
Rehab Office Coordinator (Former Employee), virginiaMay 16, 2014
Pros: solid benefits.
Cons: not much advancement for business support staff.
Although there isn't much advancement for business support staff, they are a great company for therapists, with much training and support available if you follow the procedures/protocols.

Profit is high on priority list, but it's understandable in today's Medicare reimbursement structure!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good plce to work
Licensed Nursing Assistant (LNA) (Former Employee), Bedford, NHMay 13, 2014
Pros: working with good professionals
Cons: working long hours without enough help
Great people, flexible hours, the residents was the best part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I do not recommend working here, no matter which department
Dietary Aide (Former Employee), Meridian, IDMay 13, 2014
Pros: free food for dietary staff, free coffee, wonderful residents
Cons: cheated by company, pushed around by management, no teamwork, underpaid, extremely stressful
I worked in the dietary department for one and half years. During my time, I learned a lot of things and met a lot of really cool people, but after getting a second job I realized how awful it was compared. The management is controlling, the company itself is just plain greedy, and many of the people there are just plain rude and unkind to the residents – more... and fellow staff. There is no mystery behind why each of the departments are hiring if you search "genesis healthcare" in the bar. The turn-over rate is pretty high because people honestly are not treated that well.Often times, people will be denied raises, or their raises will be so small it's a harsh slap to the face. I myself did not get a raise from minimum wage until a year and a few months passed and only because I threatened to leave. Favorites are very obviously picked by supervisors. At the end of the day you just want to fall over because you were so stressed and you don't look forward to going back. It's just not a good place to be. They claim they put the residents first, but that is not what I see. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Physical Therapist Assistant (Former Employee), Sun City Center, FLMay 13, 2014
Pros: no travel
Cons: no travel - can get cabin fever
Worked for this company inside of an ALS. The thing I loved about this company is the amount of care they showed their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Time is very flexible at Genesis
Senior Test Technician (Former Employee), Santa Clara, CAMay 10, 2014
Pros: coffee is always free.
Cons: dailly driving to offsite is a must.
Many tasks needed to be done and it seem impossible; but with flexible time you can take your break and relax until your head calmed down. Your co-workers most of time will help when you needed them.

About Genesis HealthCare

Genesis HealthCare creates care for people when care is what counts.┬áThe company operates more than 400 assisted living and skilled – Read more

Genesis HealthCare Photos