Find companies:
Genesis HealthCare
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
502 reviews

Genesis HealthCare Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong emphasis on teamwork
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Eatontown, NJMarch 28, 2014
Teamwork is emphasized and used as a tool for all employees to provided high quality care. Management on floors very involved with care. Great relationship with coworkers. Long shifts with heavy patient loads.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experiance always encouraging learning
LPN (Current Employee), Boise, IDMarch 27, 2014
Pros: great insurance
Cons: na
A typical day at work consists of passing meds processing orders and providing wound care to those who need it. It also includes admitting and discharging. Co-workers are amazing, the most enjoyable part is I learn something new almost every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great residents
cna (Former Employee), Agawam, MAMarch 26, 2014
Pros: wonderful place to work
Cons: seening resident pass.
I enjoy working at a nursing home . The residents are so funny and full of life experiences they would make my day with there stories.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexable schedule
CNA (Former Employee), Milford DeMarch 24, 2014
Pros: flexability
Cons: call outs
Caring for patients, assisting patients with dressing, eating, and daily activities!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aweful Place to Work
Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Rutland, VT, MVCMarch 22, 2014
Pros: semi-flexable work schedule; over-time avaliable
Cons: over worked, short staffed
This place has a high rate of turn over and you will work with a lot of traveling nurse. Pay is low compared to other local LTC faucilities. Short staffed and over worked. Mangement is not helpful at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible experience with elderly; present staff were not dedicated to their patients nor their work performance
CNA/GNA (Former Employee), Easton, MDMarch 20, 2014
Cons: lack of training
Helps patients by supporting personal hygiene and daily living needs; providing comfort, transportation, and vital sign monitoring
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
CNA - GNA (Current Employee), Dundalk, MDMarch 18, 2014
I enjoy take care of residents, I learn a lot from them, I like a Team work, I respect my co-workers, my residents. The hardest part of my job is see how one resident sad. the most enjoyable part of my job is being at work, Talk, help and care for my residents..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
CNA (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMarch 18, 2014
Pros: small facility
Cons: no hours
there were no hours but they kept hiring new people making it impossible for people that has been there to obtain hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Each facility is different
CNA (Current Employee), Wilmington, DEMarch 15, 2014
Pros: can work at other facilities
Cons: low pay for cna
I have worked at serveral Genesis locations as a CNA. One that I work at now is located in the ghetto. And the place is ghetto. Two others i worked at are 5 star. Genesis is a good place to get started as a CNA because they hire you fresh out of school with no experience. How ever the pay is really low if you have no experience. I started at just 10.50 – more... hr for day and 11 hr for night. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Convenient and flexible workplace
Activities Assistant (Current Employee), Glenside, PAMarch 14, 2014
Pros: set schedule
Cons: pay and benefits
Aiding and helping residence engage in various activities to keep them active is fulfilling and rewarding. In a typical day I'd start off by gathering a group of patients to begin our morning excercise sessions. Throughout the day we engage in activities such as Bingo, Trivia, story telling, listening to music, etc. In between time, I'd deliver mail – more... and record each patient's progess in a log book. Also, I plan monthly activity calendars and assess new patient's interest and skills.
The hardest part of this job is getting some stubborn uninterested patients to participtate. However, after getting them to join in is rewarding and self-satisfying. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people
CNA (Former Employee), Bowling Green, KYMarch 14, 2014
Provided patient comfort by assisting with Activities of Daily Living, transporting patients safely, answering patients call lights and requests, making beds, reporting observations of the patient to nursing supervisor
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educative and promotional
Nurse Practitioner (Former Employee), Sarasota, FLMarch 13, 2014
I was almost busy with the file.
I learned the efficay of the new electronic health record,
the management of time, ... the cooperation with new co-workers.
the best was learning and sharing more clinical approach.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good fit for my skills
RN STAFF (Former Employee), Sparta, NCMarch 13, 2014
Pros: worked weekends. away from dept heads
Cons: beancounters and census driven
Pushing meds
Doing treatments
Redundant paper/computer work
No time to be with clients
Socially too much drama
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun team, limited materials, poor pt motivation
therapy (Current Employee), MDMarch 11, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Cons: insurance forcing minutes
8-14 patients per day, difficult to motivate patients, pts not ready for therapy 2/2 low level patients
management varies depending on site but mostly part of the team and approachable
fun and professional co-workers-family dynamic
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most stressful unorganized unappreciative place to be
Central supply/ transport/ CNA (Former Employee), Farmington , New MexicoMarch 7, 2014
Pros: the residents
Cons: not staffed well, dishonest management, resident care secondary
I worked there for over a year. The residents will get to your heart. The meanest nastiest staff ever. No idea of team work or resident care. Upper management sleeps with lower staff members. Extremely long works hours and no on call pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easily Frustrating to work here
Most Departments/Overall (Former Employee), Pomona, CAMarch 7, 2014
Pros: advancement opportunities
Cons: rarely able to take and enjoy a lunch, depts clash, stress level way above average, low ball pay even with advancement
Low ball advancement opportunities, coworkers purposely retaliate to make your work environment miserable, large employee turnover rate. The time I was there we had gone through 5 administrators. Corporate (some not all) were very nasty people to be around and would go out of there way to look at your social media. They've lost a lot of good people – more... just because they don't really care about there employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at
Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee), Agawam, MAMarch 5, 2014
Cons: benfits
the residents have away of getting to your heart. Co wokers will help. nurses will teach you if you don't know enough.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a learning experience
COTA/L (Former Employee), DeLand, FLMarch 3, 2014
Being my first job as a COTA/L it was a good learning experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
RN /Supervisor (Former Employee), Windsor, CTMarch 1, 2014
Pros: paid meal breaks
Cons: heavy workload
Get report, ensure adequate staffing, attend to clients' needs.
Workings of the long-term care system
Hardest task was to try to replace staff at nights
most enjoyable part of the job were days off
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DECENT WORK PLACE
Respiratory Care Practitioner PRN (Current Employee), Silver Spring, MDFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: 12 hour shifts, decent work load
Cons: crazy manager
NICE PLACE TO WORK BUT THE MANGER IS A LIL CRAZY. IT TAKES A PATIENT PERSON TO PUT UP WITH HER, NEVER THE LESS I LIKE WORKING THERE. WORK LOAD NOT BAD. NICE DIFFRENTIAL FOR NIGHT SHIFTS TOO

About Genesis HealthCare

Genesis HealthCare creates care for people when care is what counts.┬áThe company operates more than 400 assisted living and skilled – Read more

Genesis HealthCare Photos