Find companies:
Genesis Logistics
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
30 reviews

Genesis Logistics Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worker's
warehouse clerk (Former Employee), bordentown njJuly 28, 2014
Pros: they give you lunches for holiday's and good work perfromance, they try and get there emplyess to follow but it dosen't work, good benefit's etc.
Cons: they need to add a second 15 min break during the day, probally whysome people just take one. some people
the job itself is fine it's the people they hire, nobody check's on
it's employees enough worker's walk out for 30 to 40 min at a time
stand around and talk, mgmt dosen't enforce it's rules enough.
actaully enjoyed the work but had to leave for those reason's.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exel Inc is a good company to work for
Operations Manager (Current Employee), Pompano Beach, FLJuly 27, 2014
I like working for Exel Inc, I have been with the company 7 years and you have growth to move around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
strictly business work place
Driver (Former Employee), Pompano Beach, FLJune 3, 2014
Pros: consistent paychecks
Cons: driver are usually over worked and under paid and not really appreciated
we would have safety meeting and that would be about it.....everything else is strictly business
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mid-sized, team structured workplace with growth opportunities.
Delivery Driver (Current Employee), Auburn, WAMarch 23, 2014
Pros: competitive pay, paid vacation/sick leave, excellent health/dental and vision benefits.
Cons: inconsistant communication and/or procedures.
Genesis Logistics is a well established nation-wide food distributor for 7-11, Racetrac, and Walgreen stores. A typical day involves verifying, staging, loading and delivering daily store orders that consist of fresh foods, dairy and snack products. A normal shift usually ranges from 9-11 hours and delivery to approximately 20 stores a night between – more... the hours of 5:30 PM and 3:30 AM.

Throughout my two years of employment with Genesis, I've had the opportunity to gain management experience by being given the responsibilities of training new recruits, routing, and acting as a liaison between stores, drivers, and upper management.

In many ways my immediate supervisors have served as both mentors and friends by passing along advice and expertise without being overly critical of my shortcomings.

My counterparts all bring individualized strengths to the table and enable me to build upon previously gained work-related knowledge.

The most difficult part of working for Genesis would be the unforeseen circumstances that occasionally arise e.g., extra stops/hours relative to staffing issues, compliance with Hours of Service regulations, and excessive delivery volumes

What I've enjoyed most about working for Genesis is the empowerment that each driver gains by independently developing his/her own delivery techniques, given that the techniques are safe and within general company guidelines. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned alot in a short period of time
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Bordentown, NJMarch 6, 2014
Pros: free lunches and gifts foe the holidays and great birthday celebrations.
Cons: not having enough help in the office.
There was nothing typical about this job. I began as a temp employee doing data entry. I was hired on within 3 months and from that point on was a very was a very significant part of the office team. Doing anything from data entry to accounts payable. Working 7 days a week at 60-70 hours per week. The management was somewhat difficult because it was – more... ever changing. You had to learn to adapt quickly as to what each new comer expected of you daily. I think the hardest part was not being able to take even a personal day. Giving up holidays and not even getting a scheduled day off during the week because I was really the only person in the office that understood every facet of the company. I loved being the one that everybody had to come to in order to get through the day. I had so much knowledge of the office and was really needed. It felt very rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of people come and go, productive and very busy
Putter (Former Employee), Auburn, WAJanuary 26, 2014
Cons: the pay rate.
I would come into work at 8am-6pm Sunday, Monday, Thursday and Friday. My duties were to set up for work and put merchandise in designated area's.
The only thing I learned from this job was how quickly food can expire.
Management was not good. My manager would consistently sit in his chair and just browse on the internet while we all worked and the – more... other supervisor would constantly work us non stop even if we had a family emergency he would not understand us.
My co workers were really cool to work with.
Hardest part of the jobs was working all the heavy items such as crates and crates of milk.
Nothing really fun about this job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very unorganized place to work and management is very poor.
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Pompano Beach, FLJanuary 13, 2014
you come in Management tell you what products came in and whats going out and we start our day.
i've learned nothing good at that job.
management very poor.
co-worker are a great bunch of guys teamwork all the way that was very nice.
the hardest part of the job,the job was very simple so i didn't have a hard time at all.
working with the employees there – more... really a great set of guys. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
has the potential of being a really great company to work for
Truck Driver (Current Employee), Bordentown, NJDecember 25, 2013
Pros: my hours where in the evening from 6pm-2am
Cons: delay in paperwork, and sometimes vehicles, were not readily availabe
nice place to work for. currently not employed there, due to having my route taken by another driver with more seniority
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), Chesapeake, VADecember 24, 2013
Pros: you can be creative
Cons: time sensetive
great place to work. the GM really cares about people. He will give you the chance to prove yourself and will show you other aspects of the business
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace work place and an ever changing envirnment.
Light Truck Driver (Former Employee), Chesapeake, VANovember 14, 2013
A typical day at Genesis is a fast pace and forever changing of the rules.
I have learned to adapt at short time notice along with accepting a work place for what it is.
Management at genesis is confusing and difficult to comprehend.
The co-workers are great hard working individuals.
The hardest part of the job is looking for your items to load up.
The – more... most enjoyable part of the job is finishing your route – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good job
Route Delivery Driver (Current Employee), Portland, OROctober 31, 2013
Route delivery driver for 7 - 11. Deliver dairy, fresh donuts, & dry goods. Hours are from 8:30pm till complete. Usually aroun 4:00am.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work
Driver Trainer (Former Employee), Fontana, CAJuly 30, 2013
Pros: benefits and pay
Cons: working at night
Easy job and fun
I learn how to park in very tight spaces
Good to get along
Good people to work with
Working at at night
Benefits and pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place absolutely sucked!!
Route Driver (Former Employee), Chesapeake, VirginiaJune 14, 2013
Pros: low cost health care, with low premiums.
Cons: long hours of 10, 11 & 12, poor management & low pay or extremely physical work...nuff said!!
I used to work @the Chesapeake, Virginia location, you will work an average of 10+ hours daily, for $13.58, no overtime included as u get paid for what u carry on the trucks. I was a delivery driver with a route of 15 stores. Your pay for items on the truck is .5 cents, no matter how heavy the item. Often times ur truck is loaded to the max, as u can't – more... even move to off load items, bcuz the 7-11 stores that u delivery to always over order. Management doesn't care about any of the people that work for them, routinely writing people up for even tha smallest infraction. A raise is hard to come by, 2% was being discussed as a possibility, when I worked there, but it was no guarantee. They don't like to give any days off, the place has 150% turnover of all workers, drivers, management & warehouse workers!! This 150% turnover happens 2x in one year I might add, I worked for them for 10 months...heh, ha, haa...I stayed way to long!! The work is extremely physical & extremely low paying & non gratifying!! Absolutely run from this job, u can do a whole lot better is my advice!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Turned out not to be what I was hired to do.
Truck Driver (Current Employee), Lakeland, FLMay 16, 2013
I was told it was a day time position driving tractor trailers between distribution centers. Starting salary was suppose to be be 15.00 an hour.

Turned out...starting salary was 12.75 an hour. Its an evening position loading, unloading and driving vans.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very fast pace
Operations/Warehouse Manager (Former Employee), Bordentown, NJMay 13, 2013
Pros: steady work flow
Cons: longs days
Genesis Logistics/Exel is 7 Eleven main distribution warehouse. Maintained delivery to over 500 stores, 7 days per week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I woudl have never left
Business Operations / Logistics (Former Employee), Dayton, NJMay 7, 2013
Pros: great people, ideal job, advancements
Cons: still had to travel in the snow storms
I worked in many areas of this small business. I was part of our 4PL start-up programs. This position realy pushed me to the limits and beyond allowing me to realize my abilities in purchasing, logistics, warehousing and the over all functions of business operation. I wish I did not have to move to North Carolina but, family does come first.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
100% turnover in Lakeland Florida
Driver (Former Employee), LakelandApril 25, 2013
Pros: good health insurance
Cons: 100% turnover
Company always messes up on your paycheck !
Management never communicates with themselves or employees!
Only good thing is health insurance low premiums!
A 25cent raise after a year if that!
Don't work for this company if you want long term you will probably quit in days with the stuff you have to put up with and little pay!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, plenty of work I wanted to retire from this company
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Burlington, NJApril 6, 2013
Pros: great enviroment, well managed, team oriented, work flow wanted to retire there.
Cons: not being employed there.
I enjoyed coming to work it was very physically demanding, challenging even asked for more assignment when mines where completed. I learned to be patient, react effectively, improved my chemistry with co- workers, able to take some of the work load of my bosses. Decent worker relationship I enjoy working with them at times "personal issues" arose at – more... times. Job was easier once I learned how to do the job more effectively. I enjoyed working and be one the "Go to guys" – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont walk, run away from them!! Lakeland,fl
Driver (Current Employee), Lakeland FLApril 4, 2013
Pros: its a paycheck. if u get 1.
Cons: 90% of job its con
Mandatory 6days a week work, all overnight. Pay u 12.75hr but its based on route pay. All route u get will pay u like 8hrs but you'll be working 10+hrs! No overtime $ even thou u working MANDATORY 6days every week. Management is a joke. U ask for a day off and they give u another day off. No life working up to 14hrs for 6days a week. Paid every week – more... IF u get a pay check, some weeks they'll forget to pay U!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What a joke! Un coordination
Driver (Current Employee), Lakeland, FloridaFebruary 15, 2013
Pros: its a paycheck
Cons: schedule, management, etc
Start your day not knowing what route you are doing/ were you going or what truck you are driving. Then you get assign a route thats already late. So you have to load your truck as fasts as you can to try and make up time. Since route you got is already late by the time you get to first 7eleven store to deliver they are on a bad mood with you since – more... you are late, so they on purpose take 30min to scan and review your delivery, and you only have a maximum of 15min in each store, so then you start falling behind on ur appointment time @ each store, so all night goes like that w managers and clerks mad and taking their sweet time to take care of u. Typical route is 14 to 16 stores @ night. They pay you $12.75hr BUT pay u route pay, so if they say a route takes 9hrs to do and it takes you 11hrs to do you will ONLY get paid 9hrs! No overtime. They pay u 1hr to load truck BUT it takes MORE than 1hr to load, then @ the end of the night you have to unload truck for FREE! Thats a minimum of 30min. Trucks breakdown constantly. New truck are ramp trucks so everything is unloaded down a ramp. No more lift gate so now it takes longer to unload @ each store for same pay. Management is a joke, supervisors dont even know what days am working or off or were are their trucks @. Each week they hire minimum 10 people and by the end of da week only 2 drivers will still be there, high turnover rate. – less

About Genesis Logistics

For Exel, the goal is to¬†excel at supply chain management. The company arranges for its customers' freight to be hauled in truckload – Read more