Find companies:
Gentiva Health Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
351 reviews

Gentiva Health Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, love the people
Admissions Coordinator/ Patient Care Secretary (Current Employee), Victorville, CAJuly 21, 2014
Pros: vision and dental are great
Cons: health benefits
Scheduling explanation of benefits with patient and or families
Responsible for ordering durable medical equipment for new admissions. Responsible for setting up transportation from hospitals to home for new patients Responsible for placing patients in skilled facilities for either respite, general inpatient and custodial care.

I have learned that – more... death is something very special. I know that sounds a little weird, but If I could choose to die at home with my loved ones, over dying in a hospital with tubes and wires, I would choose to be with my loved ones. To me that is special.

My nurses are great. Compassionate and loving.

The hardest part of my job is telling someone they have less than 6 months to live, the best part is letting them know that they can be at home with their loved ones and die comfortable and in peace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
24/7 Hospice
Crisis Care Nurse (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 20, 2014
Good 24/7 job with good pay,On call work is mainly what is offered
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place to work
Reimbursement Specialist (Former Employee), Overland Park, KSJuly 14, 2014
Pros: had a job
Cons: short lunch, pay could be higher, management could be better
A typical day at work was just posting cash. All day. Completing Correspondence and Adjustments before days end.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable, supportive work environement
Home Health RN (Current Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 14, 2014
The hardest part of the job is the traffic. In home care you drive to each patient's residence and the traffic can be bothersome. The best part is working one on one with families,identifying needs in their environment and seeing the change you can effect in their lives. My co-workers are the best, skilled and compassionate caregivers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Branch Director (Current Employee), Gilbertown, ALJuly 10, 2014
From management down everyone that I met was compassionate about the patients and the employees. Great benefits. Great company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful work environment, flexible schedules, great staff and management
Home Health Nurse (Former Employee), Christiansburg, VAJuly 10, 2014
I loved working for Gentiva. The hours are flexible and the benefits are great. The staff and management helped to make this job the best one yet.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love Home OT
Occupational Therapist (Former Employee), Malta, NYJune 30, 2014
Pros: making my own sched and working with people in their home
Cons: lots of paper work
I have worked for Gentiva in Phoenix AZ and Malta NY. I have loved both, paper work is demanding as in all home care. The reward of working with my own schedule and treating people in their homes is priceless!! Couldn't ask for a better job. After a year there is an opportunity to advance yourself with Clinical Ladders.
Love my co-workers, pt's, and – more... management. Paperwork as always is a challenge – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
don't do it look for a better place to work the place SUCKS
RN case manager (Former Employee), Maumee OhioJune 23, 2014
Cons: very bad management, pay was not good, hostile work environment
The office branch manager never was up front about anything. Work ed15 days in a row with one day off , then on for another 15 days. On call every other weekend. My pay was always wrong on my pay checks and had to fight to get my money. The branch manager was very hostile to the employees which made for a very bad environment to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Must be a self starter
Home Health Aide (Former Employee), Phenix City, ALJune 13, 2014
Pros: meeting new people and going to new places.
Cons: no time for breaks and the wear and tear on your vehicle.
I absolutely loved this job. This is a job where your not stuck in one place all day and get to meet new people from some of everywhere. My co-workers were great though because we all went in different directions we didn't get to spend much time together. I did learn that you have to be a self starter to get going and finish at a decent time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Christian Based Organization
Hospice Aide (Former Employee), Jackson, MSJune 13, 2014
Pros: schedule flexibility
Cons: breakdown in communication
I have been able to grow in all areas of life since working for this hospice organization. I have learned that it takes a special kind of person to work in Hospice,. One must be kind, caring, compassionate, patience with others, and a problem solver. I consider my colleagues to be great team players. A typical day at work for me is to be more productive – more... and motivated in getting the job done. In the healthcare industry there will be days when you have to accept negative and disturbing behavior from others, but you must press forward and make the best out of the situation. The hardest part of my job is watching someone transition into a new life, and not being able to do anything about it. I enjoy what I do, I find great joy in serving others and being able to provide quality care for my patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and understanding work place
Home Health Aide (Current Employee), Westbury, NYJune 12, 2014
Pros: no pros
Cons: don't pay good, the aides never get a vacation unless they work 1200hrs which vacation time will never happen, don't get sick days or personal days, health insurance is to much, doesn't pay for gas only miles, the company is very cheap overall and do not give the employees nothing hardly, no bonus pays nothing.
my review of gentiva is that it's a good company but have a lot of down falls about it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close Knit
Administrative Specialist (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCJune 10, 2014
Family type office environment, great team environment where everyone pitches in and helps the other to meet deadlines. Clinicians are focused on the care of their patients and are dedicated to seeing each patient through the home health experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor training and development of staff, lack of managerial support, poor structure
Quality Assurance Manager (Current Employee), Stockbridge, GAJune 7, 2014
Pros: good clinical staff
Cons: poor managerial support
Would not recommend this company, management likes to bully employees, poor training and development of people, unrealistic goals and under staffed, poor retention of staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing staff, Amazing managment
LPN staff nurse (Current Employee), Wichita ksJune 2, 2014
Pros: flexible scheduling
Cons: hard on the car
Staff is very much like family. They care about one and other as well as the clients they serve. Management is second to none. Love working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oustanding Company
Certified Nurse's Assistant (Former Employee), Savannah, GAMay 30, 2014
This Company is so outstanding with caring for homebound clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very taxig too much paperwork, drive time is not compensated
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Kingsport, TNMay 27, 2014
Pros: great patients
Cons: no respect from management, too much paperwork, drive time, no help too much on call
Gentiva would be an excellent place to work management thought more of staff and patient care and less of the day ending at 5:00pm when the office phones are rolled to the staff that works the road. on call every other weekend, paperwork is never ending. after working 7-8 hours each day, driving over 200 miles then having to go home and work non stop – more... to make sure paperwork was completed timely by 9 the next am. between the drive time, charting and oncall everyother weekend the pay is not worth what you make. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intership
Healthcare Administration Specialist Intern (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALMay 24, 2014
Love the people here and learned how to work indepentdently
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patient care was wonderful and very rewarding
RN- Case Manager (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCMay 23, 2014
Pros: make your own schedule
Cons: lots of hours spent with documentation. no free time to enjoy life, sometimes working 12-14 hours a day, work 8 hrs then another 4-6 hours on documentation. fast burn out rate, field rn's don't stay long, big turnover
Would not have traded this experience with working in the community It was wonderful to work with the geriatric population. My co-workers were wonderful out in the field. Office staff helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrator Specialist/Medical Records
ADMINISTRATOR SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Gastonia, NCMay 22, 2014
Answer Phones, Maintained the Compliance of all Patient Charts
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people
staff (Former Employee), houstonMay 21, 2014
great people providing the true gift of hospice. incredible stories of compassion and truly amazing clinical and sales team

1 2 3 4 5

About Gentiva Health Services

Gentiva Health Services is a gentle giant. As one of the┬ánation's largest home health care and hospice services firms, the company – Read more

Gentiva Health Services Photos