Find companies:
Gentiva Health Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
370 reviews

Gentiva Health Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
By 2013 culture changed to one of hostility and mistrust
DCO (Former Employee), TNAugust 28, 2014
Pros: enviornment with support, trust and teamwork, job security
Cons: with change in supervisors came lack of upline support, lack of trust and job loss
Many negative changes occurred in 2013 with changes in upline supervisors who did not lead with honesty or caring about the staff. Turnover increased. Culture changed from employee support to reduction in force. Positions were eliminated and filled again in 6 months.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over-utilization of Medicare/caid Visits
Past Sales Position (Former Employee), AtlantaAugust 28, 2014
Pros: the income and benefits are competitive
Cons: poor upper level management and questionable operations
Both Genteva Home Health and their various hospice companies stay in trouble most of the time for over utilization by Medicare and caid. Patients are seen far to frequently and seldom if ever discharged.

If you don't mind having having your license put at risk, this might be a decent place to work until you can find a more honest HH provider to work – more... for.

I would not work for this company under any circumstance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The atmosphere was fast paced and constant revolving
Payroll Specialist (Former Employee), Overland Park, Ks.August 27, 2014
The typical day at Gentiva consist of daily process changing I learned to process payroll using the different time keeping system, PS, Chase Pay cards etc. The management at Gentiva was focused for results. The co-workers were helpful and had the team player attitude. The hardest part of the job was making sure that everything balanced. The most enjoyable – more... part of the job was the satisfaction knowing that the employee was correctly paid. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work atmosphere
Account Executive (Former Employee), Westbury, Long IslandAugust 15, 2014
Typical day involves meeting with home healthcare referral sources - MDs, SNFs and Hospitals etc.,
Convey any pertinent information to MDs and staff regarding status of patient referrals if necessary.
Meet with and develop relationship with new referral resources and communicate information on why Gentiva is the very best provider of home healthcare – more... services.
Do presentations to groups of Docs, Social Workers, Hospital Staff and Office personnel on the range of services that the company provides.
Meet with internal staff and AVP of sales regularly.
Develop new ways to reach clients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HOSTILE
RN (Former Employee), IndianaAugust 14, 2014
wondering if they are paying people to write good reviews . company preaches about pt care but $ comes first. Managment is constantly changing. Opinions of staff are not considered. Work hours are unreasonable. Classic case of people being put in positons that they do not belong causing staff, patients and their families to suffer. You must watch corporate – more... complaince vidoes before starting which encourage you to call upper chain with concerns when in fact they could give a s%^& – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Volunteer Student (Former Employee), Southfield, MIAugust 13, 2014
Pros: social and laid back atmosphere
Cons: working with families and the end of life care of their loved ones
While Volunteering for this company I enjoyed working with the staff, sitting in on meetings and helping in every department. Loved the location and atmosphere
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding, challenging, positive
Home Health Specialist (Current Employee), Nashville, TNAugust 11, 2014
Positive work place, great staff, not always a positive environment, not much support from upper level management, poor training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lpn.Racine,wi
LPN (Former Employee), Racine,WiAugust 11, 2014
Pros: my patients were nice overall
Cons: a lot, hard on the car, low pay. bad benefits
they fire people over human errors that didn't cause any harm to patient. They talk behind employee's backs, yelling,swearing very unprofessional behavior.while on orientation they had me sit in the office doing nothing on most days,when I should have been working, and learning from others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Homehealth company
Branch Coordinator (Former Employee), Leesburg, FLAugust 10, 2014
Pros: hours and benfits
Cons: supervisor
Data entry, scheduling, and filling of all charts.
Scheduling.
Management was not very pleasant to work with or for.
Co-worker where pleasant and all nursing staff very understanding.
Dealing with the supervisor of the branch.
The nursing staff was the greatest part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work, would be better if they had computers
Case Manager (Former Employee), Pink Hill, NCAugust 9, 2014
Pros: great compensation
Cons: too much paperwork
At least 6 patients/day up to 10 patients/day, charting is not computerized, too much paperwork
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Home Care/Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Pittsfield, maAugust 8, 2014
Too high of work load for hours required. Pay per visit and do not reimburse for travel time for entire county. Expectations for work too high and little support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy and new adventure everyday.
LPN (Current Employee), Hickory, NCAugust 7, 2014
Pros: different everyday, pays well, good benefits, good co-workers
Cons: when done seeing patients you are not done, hours of paperwork
I enjoy this type of work as a visiting nurse going from home to home. You meet different kinds of people and patients. The biggest complaint I have is the many hours of writing notes at home after seeing patients all day. I don't even mind seeing 8-10 patients a day, but spending all evening late into the night doing notes is not cool. The job itself – more... is rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transitioning
Primary Home Care Liaison - Home Health (Current Employee), Austin, TXAugust 5, 2014
Pros: dress and punctuatlity policies consistent with the pay.
Cons: no upward mobility.
The ever revolving door of ownership keeps managment in scarcity mode attempting to protect their own job while they look for other opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical Social Worker
Medical Social Worker, LMSW (Current Employee), Atlanta GAAugust 1, 2014
I've been working for the company for several years, and have enjoyed evey moment spent with my patients and immediate team. As part of my job I conduct psychosocial assessments, provide emotional support and resources to patients and families. The hardest part of my job and when my patients expire, but I am greatful to be about of their hospice journey, – more... and provide support as needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Manager of Clinical Practice/ Patient Care Manager (Current Employee), Southaven, MSJuly 31, 2014
Very good group of professionals. Overwhelming work load though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gentiva Health Services is a great place to start a career in healthcare
Tax Accountant (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 30, 2014
Pros: relaxed environment
Cons: upward mobility
Gentiva is a great place to begin a career. A typical day at work is filled with learning new terminology and building relationships with internal clients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To many changes in leadership
Senior Account Executive (Current Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 28, 2014
to many changes in leadership...... since starting @ Gentiva 3 years ago I have had 7 bosses....... regional leadership averages less than a year .... once things calm down gentiva should be a decent company to work for
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLJuly 25, 2014
Pros: a small amount of freedom in setting your schedule to work for you and your patients, one on one with the patients allows for the formation of a trusting relationship.
Cons: sometimes very long nights due to being constantly short handed, bonuses were taken away left and right, making pay decrease, unfortunately the cost of gas was not decreasing.
At the time of my departure the company was in need of a management overhaul. The employees were not first and sadly neither were the clients. From what I understand in the almost three years that I have been gone there have been a lot of changes made which I hope, but do not currently have personal knowledge of, has made the company better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Change/ High turnover
Outside Sales Rep/ Home Health/ Hospice Specialist (Former Employee), Montgomery, ALJuly 22, 2014
Pros: great bonus
Cons: poor management
Outside Sales, paperwork collection, patient/ family/ community education. Called on hospitals, discharge planners, and case managers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, love the people
Admissions Coordinator/ Patient Care Secretary (Current Employee), Victorville, CAJuly 21, 2014
Pros: vision and dental are great
Cons: health benefits
Scheduling explanation of benefits with patient and or families
Responsible for ordering durable medical equipment for new admissions. Responsible for setting up transportation from hospitals to home for new patients Responsible for placing patients in skilled facilities for either respite, general inpatient and custodial care.

I have learned that – more... death is something very special. I know that sounds a little weird, but If I could choose to die at home with my loved ones, over dying in a hospital with tubes and wires, I would choose to be with my loved ones. To me that is special.

My nurses are great. Compassionate and loving.

The hardest part of my job is telling someone they have less than 6 months to live, the best part is letting them know that they can be at home with their loved ones and die comfortable and in peace. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Gentiva Health Services

Gentiva Health Services is a gentle giant. As one of the┬ánation's largest home health care and hospice services firms, the company – Read more

Gentiva Health Services Photos