Gentiva Health Services Employee Reviews in United States

Found 620 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only wants to be number one
RN Case Manager Hospice (Current Employee) –  Florence, ALMay 28, 2016
Upper management turn over every 3-6 months. Office management has no clue. Never enough. Always needs more. Rn case managers complain about everything everyday. Back stabbing all day long.
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a great place to work
Payroll and Data Entry Clerk (Current Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCMay 27, 2016
Love doing what I do with the team I do it with. It really a wonderful company to work for. It's lots of laughs with lots of hard work. We typically have 100 referrals a day to get entered in a timely manner for 24 branches. Its hard work, bt at the end of the day we manage to get the job done.
Pros
Eating
Cons
Raises
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To work with team players that have love and compassion for those that are in need of love.
Health Care Provider/ Aide (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVMay 27, 2016
I find every thing that i have read is sufficient for my needs and a great opportunity to be a team player with your company.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
15 minute break
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Doesn't Have a Clue
RN Case Manager (Current Employee) –  San Marcos, TXMay 25, 2016
I cannot speak for other Gentiva locations, but the San Marcos location is a horrible place to work. When I first started working there, I was paired with many of the Case Managers on their visits for the day. I was amazed at how quickly they opened up to me. They talked about management and disorganized they are. One manager will tell you to chart one way and then you will get the document returned from another manager telling you to make those changes back the way you had them. Very, very disorganized. And they chastise you when they are correcting you about something. They would speak to me like I was 10 years old and I had done something wrong. The training I received before I was on my own was ridiculous. I had only observed one admission, and management gave me an admission twice a week. There are many hospice companies out there who have a competent management team. Looking for new employment now!
Pros
RNs work as a team. They all think the same about management, as they all told me, even when I was very new.
Cons
Unprofessional, unethical, and abusive management. If you want to spend some time in a psych ward, go work for this company a while.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gentiva Health service
RN case manager (Former Employee) –  Hopkinsville, KYMay 24, 2016
long hours and a not enough pay for the mileage on my car. barely made 40k a year after driving expenses. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxoo
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with very good management
LPN (Former Employee) –  Lees Summit, MOMay 24, 2016
This workplace was one of my favorite. Excellent manager who was honest and appropriate with staff and delegation. Taught me excellent nursing skills that I continue to use to this day. Would not have left this company if I would not have moved to Florida, and was able to move to full time. Would strongly consider working for this company again.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Account Executive (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMay 23, 2016
They do really well with taking care of their employees and putting patients first. They provide quality care and have great specialty programs. This is a nationwide company and provides great care across the nation.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gentiva is a wonderful place to work.
Home Health Aide (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMay 14, 2016
Gentiva cares about their employees and the patients they serve. The pay is not great, but is competitive. My co-worker are wonderful. The hardest part of the job is the driving, I put about 150 miles on my car a day. The most enjoyable part of my job is seeing my patients.
Pros
Work independently.
Cons
Not consistent with hours of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good understanding when hard times come
Caregiver (Current Employee) –  Brownwood, TXMay 9, 2016
I love it because it is a good environment working for them at the elderly person home.
I can always count on them when i am going through a hard time in life to ask off with no consequences.
Pros
Understanding when have hard times
Cons
Pay and hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional environment
PHYSICAL THERAPIST ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Lebanon, TNMay 6, 2016
independently work throughout day efficiently from visit to visit following schedule of patients provided by scheduling coordinator and communicating with team of each patient
Was this review helpful?YesNo4

Want to know more about Gentiva Health Services?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Place
RN Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Dothan, ALMay 2, 2016
Worked there for 6 months, volunteered for extra hours to try and help out because they were so short-staffed; then when things got tough, they started cutting jobs. Management is horrible, only look out for themselves. Director has no loyalty to anyone but herself! Wouldn't recommend this place to anyone!
Pros
Good co-workers, bad managers.
Cons
12 hour days, multiple expectations, no appreciation, then expected to pull call.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office staff always gets their hours, field staff, if its slow go home unpaid.
HHA/CNA (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAApril 29, 2016
Worked their for many years, constant management change, managers acted like high school kids with their clicks, luckily my pts loved me. The plus side of this job flexible, nice coworkers and lovely pts who made my day.Benefits and pay were good enough to put up with the bad management.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Expensive benefits and sometimes hours cut short
Was this review helpful?Yes15No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nope
RN CM (Former Employee) –  Southfield, MIApril 23, 2016
failing organization, high turn over rate, high caseload for nurses, not a good place to work. Seek employment somewhere else.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers, entitled management
RN Case Manager Hospice (Current Employee) –  AlabamaApril 19, 2016
Truly value my time with coworkers out there trying to give the best experience to hospice patients and their families. The case managers generally try and take care of each other but burn out is evident. Morale is low and this is because management will threaten you, pile on more work, and never rescue their staff when overload happens. Text messages with all caps, multiple exclamation points, and innuendo do not a happy staff make.
Pros
Good pay, autonomy, loving field staff
Cons
management that have no intention of leaving the safety of their desks to provide support
Was this review helpful?Yes14No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company but as a nurse you have NO LIFE outside of work
CASE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  NCApril 19, 2016
Management and company are great but you have no personal life outside of work. You see patients all day then go home and document for hours at a time. Their form of communication is all e-mail so you better be on your tablet all the time or it gets lost in the shuffle. The benefits here are phenomenal though, lots to choose from, they even offer pet insurance which has been great. The only thing I would change is their communication style. Pick up a phone and call someone during the day.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Bad work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun work enviornment
Quality Assurance Manager (Current Employee) –  Bluefield, WVApril 18, 2016
Loved going to work. I had an amazing team that was fun to work with. I managed RN, LPN, PT, OT, PTA, COTA, HHA. We averaged about 220. I was the quality assurance manager. I reviewed oasis, paperwork, medicare billing.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management could have been better
Registered Nurse Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIApril 15, 2016
They gave me 3 days training as a brand new RN grad then expected me to succeed. Was not satisfied with management team. Heard they changed training so it may be much better now.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and professional place to work
Staffing Coordinator/payroll (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 15, 2016
Great place to work, multitasking is a must in this field. Works with clients and providers on a daily basis. The most enjoyable part of my job is making a difference when it comes to my clients. The hardest part is keeping up with all the daily issues that you have to deal with on a daily basis. My co-workers are very professional even when we a rough day. We do have our ups and downs but we can always move pass it and move forward for a better tomorrow.
Pros
Great pay & fun eviroment
Cons
Hard to get time off to handle your personal matters
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Oriented
Volunteer/Intern (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 11, 2016
The staff within the agency environment is family oriented and warming. Visiting terminally ill patients and meeting patients are rewarding but can be emotionally draining I have learned to maintain boundaries with patients as as well as staff. Management commit to open communication with staff member if there are any suggestions or issues regarding patients. the most difficult part of the job is traveling between patient visits during peak times of traffic. The most enjoyable part of the job is providing emotional and social support to patients and families.
Pros
weekly interdisciplinary team meetings/ (discussions)
Cons
emotionally draining
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work but rewarding
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALApril 8, 2016
Travel is approximately 100 miles a day. Patient care is individualized. Lots of paperwork is the downside to this job. Staff is wonderful
Was this review helpful?Yes5No6

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 623 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture