Find companies:
Gentiva Health Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
312 reviews

Gentiva Health Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy at all times, multitasking is a must.
Care Team Coordinator (Current Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: commute, flexibility
Managing a weekly schedule for all clinicians. Patients being referred by rehab facilities, hospitals, doctors office. Staffing patients with the correct clinicians to treat patients at home. Receptionist duties, assisting intake by verifying insurance, processing payroll, data entry, taking doctors orders. Ordering DME equipment, wound care supplies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with Recruitment in the Community and Retention of Volunteers
Volunteer Coordinator / Recruitment Specialist (Former Employee), Savannah.GaJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: lots over night and weekend work and over time although salaried position
I recruited, Trained, helped maintain retention of Administrative, special project and Patient Care volunteers for Hospice patients. I was responsible for reports and Team and Quarterly Reports and Audits. The Savannah Office had wonderful co-workers and I could rely on other Volunteer Managers from other sites to bounce ideas off of and was also selected – more... be on a Forum to create new and improved ideas for the Company. The hardest part of my position was balancing recruitment, retention , meetings in the office as well as follow up on incomplete applications from interested applicants.I enjoyed the community outreach, speaking engagements, and working with over 70 volunteers to create a diverse program to help over 13 counties and 15 facilities in our area – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for and a great place to work.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: great work hours and pay.
Cons: none that i can think of...
I enjoyed transcribing facsimiles, entering new claims, and verifying insurance coverage for the clients, contacting the insurance adjuster of scheduled appointments and obtaining authorization to order DME for the clients, the people I worked with were awesome, we were like a family and we always helped one another. Management was great as well, fun – more... place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
CareCentrix Care Coordinator (Former Employee), PhoenixJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: the back log challenges.
Cons: management turn over, we never got to really know them.
The management did change more then I'd liked it to but it was always communicated as a positive transition. The was a routine company you did the same thing everyday process referrals, some routine, some urgent, some retro. I work well under pressure but the biggest complaints for some would be if there was a back log and the managers wanted us to – more... work longer and faster. The co-workers were great but I can make a friend in anyone. The best part was happy bosses for a job well done. Great Feeling! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, great people
Patient Care Secretary / Medical Records (Former Employee), Salt lake city, UtahJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: needed more business
I loved going to work, to be around fun easygoing people. There was a lot of workshop learning available. The hardest part of the job was that the phones rang on your busiest days
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No training for new staff. Favoritism is ridiculous. Poor management.
Intake Specialist (Former Employee), Midwest, USAJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: decent compensation & benefits
Cons: everything else
Run far and fast from this company. If you don't fit in the clique you don't have a chance. They are so desperate for a warm body they sit you at a computer in a tiny cubicle, give you some pens and forms to fill out and just let you swing in the breeze. There is absolutely no training. When you make a mistake you're thrown under the bus and made to – more... look like an idiot. I should have trusted all the horrible reviews I have read about them but just had to see for myself I guess. When I witnessed everyday certain staff getting preferential treatment I should have known. Gentiva will suck your soul right out of you. – less

18fce8f0p5n8getk – January 28, 2014

I completely agree with this review. I would advise any nurse who is considering applying at Gentiva for an Intake Specialist position to give it some serious thought before giving up your current job. You will have no life and the mental stress is not worth it. I broke out in hives everyday because of the stress and my blood pressure was always high. Wal-Mart would be a better option.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
End of Life Care with Compassion and GREAT Volunteers!
Manager of Volunteer Services (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: networking opportunties, compassionate volunteers & clinical teams, helping people through grief
Cons: reprioritize schedule and tasks, lots of driving due to vast territory of customer base
As the Manager of Volunteer Services I was able to utilize a variety of my skills on a day to day basis and work with a group of staff and volunteers that were truly compassionate and driven to serve people at the end of life's journey.
It was hard working in hospice saying goodbye-to patients, families and volunteers as they moved on to other opportunities – more... on a daily basis, but the hardest part-Breaking the news to patient care volunteers regarding the loss of their hospice patients. Fortunately, this was often followed by the most enjoyable part of the job...hearing positive feedback and sharing memories with the grieving families and the difference our team made. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate needs to know the lack of leadership in sales management
Home Health Specialist (Former Employee), naJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: loved my close co-workers
Cons: very poor, unconcerned and lack of management skills
I could not have asked to work for a better company for the many years beginning of my employment here, however the last year the management team that was brought to my area was not only laughable but clueless and inexperienced of what my area was about concerning the amount of manage care when if came to referrals. The restrictions the company puts – more... on sales to accept referrals made it nearly impossible to achieve any kind of goal that was assigned. Relationship building with accounts means nothing to this management team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Local management inexperienced and power driven. Not to be trusted.
Account Executive (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCJanuary 6, 2014
Did not enjoy my last year at this company. Management changed and lack of mature leadership was intolerable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
constant change and chaos
Account Executive/Sales (Current Employee), Tampa Bay, FLJanuary 3, 2014
corporate culture is dreadful

corporate recruiter lied I quit a perfectly fine job to come here based on lies
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Auburn NY Branch has great staff and great management
LPN (Current Employee), Auburn, NYJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: great staff and comitment to patients that include goal driven patient outcomes
Cons: employee schedules vary from low patient ratios to very high ratios
Staff provides outstanding care to patients and families. Management is concerned with each employee and each patient and patient family. Employee's work well together in team environment to provide best care for patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good ideas poor execution
Patient Care Manager (Former Employee), Victorville, CADecember 31, 2013
Pros: benefits were good
Cons: terrible management, lack of vision and leadership, fear based culture
Poor local management, promises made and not kept related to job training and security. Fear based management style. New ideas are squelched and favoritism runs rampant.

Upper management out of touch with local markets and issues.

Work is meaningful if you don't mind a figure it out for yourself environment with no support. Co workers feel the fear – more... and its every man for him/herself. Policies are implemented with no procedure or thought with how to implement the process....cart before the horse. Company grew too big too soon without making sound thoughtful investments in training.

Micromanaged by Executive Director and second guessed on every decision. Found out I was laid off due to low patient census by being locked out of my computer the day of my termination.....so much for the company's desire to be an employer of choice.....i vote NO all the way around....at least at this delivery site. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Branch Staff
Account Executive (Current Employee), Melbourne, FLDecember 29, 2013
Pros: i have enjoyed working within the sales leadership academy
Cons: on call weekends and holidays
I call on many different types of physicians from Orthopedic Surgeons to Internal Medicine physicians. I have learned to ask for the business during each call. I enjoy working with my co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small office with 6 employees and chaotic
HCS-D Certified Medical Coder/Billing Specialist (Current Employee), Austin, TXDecember 20, 2013
Pros: free lunches occassionally
Cons: not being hired on full-time, no pto, no sick days, no insurance
I have been here for almost a year as a contract employee. I have been working extremely hard to be hired on as a full-time employee which I promised at the beginning of my contract work. Now, we have mergered with another company and things are all up in the air.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
didnt have a stable workplace
Hospice Aide (Former Employee), Cartersville, GADecember 19, 2013
Pros: vacation time excelled other companies, hourly wages excelled others aswell.
Cons: many times no lunch breaks, would like a job with more stability
over the last 7 years I had been with Gentiva the first 5 years were amazing. the last 2 years have been a struggle with management problems and couldn't keep the same management team. a lot of change from manager to manager, didn't have enough support for the Marketing team.

at one time we absolutely had the best team all around and no one could have – more... compared to us.

The hardest part of my job was getting close to patient families and a new manager change our schedules and throw our dementia patients off balance with changing the routine they became familiar with.

the thing I loved most I enjoied about about my job was the care and compassion I was able to give my patients throughout the years. there was many times when we was some of the only "family" some of our patients had and I wouldn't take anything for the bond we had. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfair
hospice aide (Former Employee), south dallas, texasDecember 18, 2013
Pros: nice coworkers
Cons: payroll was bad
Work for this company. They never got our pay checks right or mileage. They will fire you for reporting anything to.corporate. Also alot of the offices are closing down. Focus is on money not quality. No good
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Montgomery, ALDecember 13, 2013
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: a lot of paperwork
The only part about Hospice that's tough is paperwork
I enjoy working with Hospice and the ladies I work with, we are close net grow
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Mgnt focus on $$$ but not their product. ...Bonuses are #1
RN Case Manager (Former Employee), Cartersville, GADecember 11, 2013
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: no loyalty from management -
Resigned from a good job to help "rebuild" this office ..... 7 weeks later Corporate decision closed the office and gave staff ONE DAY notice that we were terminated. There is a history of this lack of compassion/support for company. ...... Pretty ironic for a company that sells "compassion" to it's clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people to work with..ie aides, rn's and pastors
Office Manager (Former Employee), Oxford, ALDecember 11, 2013
Pros: good people
Cons: not enough training on any jobs required to run office
got along with all personel fine, left when managemant changed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company! Don't even consider working for them!
Hospice RN case manager (Former Employee), Anywhere. USADecember 9, 2013
Pros: some good coworkers
Cons: everything
This company is corrupt from the top down. Staff bullied into working uncompensated and they will get rid of you if you report the behavior or say no. They lie on write ups and corporate doesn't care, even when they are given proof. RUN from this company.

About Gentiva Health Services

Gentiva Health Services is a gentle giant. As one of the┬ánation's largest home health care and hospice services firms, the company – Read more

Gentiva Health Services Photos