Find companies:
Gentiva Health Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
344 reviews

Gentiva Health Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would rather not give my review of this organization at this time.
RN Case Manager (Former Employee), Meridian, MsFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: i enjoyed my co workers and because we all had the same concerns with daily job responsibilities.
Cons: this company had no idea or understanding of continuity of care.
I am unable to give a response on the rating of this company. Each day was more stressful and disorganized than any organization I have ever been employed with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Quiet
Environmental Service Technician (Current Employee), Southfield,MIFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: hour lunches, pto, company activity functions
Very calm quiet place I've ever worked at. Great employees everyone worked together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly managed environment of bullying and no appreciation
administrative (Former Employee), Daytona Beach, FLFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: connecting with patients and families
Cons: inexperienced management, bullying, overworked nurses, unappreciated staff
This job served as a means to a paycheck, and a way to help patients and their families. Dealing with the office was the major downside. As for the actual work environment, over half my coworkers are constantly seeking other employment. When people quit, management makes up complete lies about why they left, and announces these lies during meetings. – more... Nursing staff are overworked and unappreciated, and office staff are bullied by management and a group who acts like management. I hear stories daily about staff being mistreated, and after over a year of trying to hope for change, I resigned. If I hadn't been subjected to the mistreatment, I would find it hard to believe it could be so bad. Turnover has been atrocious for good reason. There are far better hospices out there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked as a LPN in Home care
LPN (Former Employee), Bradenton, FLFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: helping people
I worked as a LPN in Home Care, and took care of Patients, according to Doctor's Orders.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the one on one care with my Patients
LPN (Current Employee), Tampa, FLFebruary 3, 2014
Visited patients at their homes or ALF. Provided the care as required. Enjoyed and respected working with my Co workers, always lended a helping hand as needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable office to work in.
Records Coordinator (Former Employee), Pittsfield, MAFebruary 3, 2014
Can be fast paced and challenging. Never boring. Enjoy working with my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gentive
Customer Care Coordinator (Former Employee), Vancouver, WAFebruary 2, 2014
Office staff very stuck up. Field staff are great. Not what I expected. Was treated like I didn't belong there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helping hands
Admissions Coordinator (Former Employee), Roswell, NMJanuary 30, 2014
Small community environment, enjoyed the feel of the small office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company is good place to work if you need a job.
Collector (Former Employee), Atlanta GaJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: great pto
Cons: not consistance in policies and procedures.
Billing for Commercial insurance clean claims and accounts receivable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor management,
Clinical RN (Former Employee), Booneville, MSJanuary 29, 2014
They dont have a clue what they are doing, You most be friends with someone to work here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company, clinical excellence, speciality programs excellent
Home Health Specialist (Current Employee), CAJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: specialty programs are excellent, lots of freedom to do your job well.
Cons: the changes going on in healthcare make it a bit challenging.
I am a Home Health Specialist and am out in the field everyday trying to distinguish my agency from the others in my territory. Between our Home Health Compare clinical data compiled by the Center for Medicare and Medicaid, our low 30 day hospital readmission rate and the professional clinicians that work in my branch, my job is relatively easy. We – more... have a great fall prevention program called Safe Strides and are soon getting a Cardiopulumonary specialty program which is what our market needs. We deliver excellent and sophisticated clinical care where patients want to be treated - in their homes. Home health is a lot less expensive than care delivered in other settings and Gentiva does a great job in that delivery. We have our challenges with reimubursement levels declining but the company is adjusting well and looking into the future to be proactive. The hardest part of my job is the extreme focus on Medicare patients given the rise in Medicare Advantage patients. There has lately been some management turnover but Gentiva attracts good qualified people and I am certain the new managers will be as savvy and professional as the last. I would highly recommend applying at Gentiva as I believe you will find employment here a pleasant experience. You will learn a lot and have the priviledge of delivering care in a setting unlike any other. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospice
Patient Care Secretary/PCS (Former Employee), San Bernardino, CA.January 24, 2014
Pros: co workers
Cons: management
Hospice companies are based on every day census. When you are dealing with a dying population, some days can be quite dire. I enjoyed my coworkers. I felt the new management company that took over for Odyssey Healthcare (Gentiva) cared more about their finances and less about the employees. They laid off over 25 people a week before Christmas. If they – more... had effective management, that would have never happened. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy at all times, multitasking is a must.
Care Team Coordinator (Current Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: commute, flexibility
Managing a weekly schedule for all clinicians. Patients being referred by rehab facilities, hospitals, doctors office. Staffing patients with the correct clinicians to treat patients at home. Receptionist duties, assisting intake by verifying insurance, processing payroll, data entry, taking doctors orders. Ordering DME equipment, wound care supplies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with Recruitment in the Community and Retention of Volunteers
Volunteer Coordinator / Recruitment Specialist (Former Employee), Savannah.GaJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: lots over night and weekend work and over time although salaried position
I recruited, Trained, helped maintain retention of Administrative, special project and Patient Care volunteers for Hospice patients. I was responsible for reports and Team and Quarterly Reports and Audits. The Savannah Office had wonderful co-workers and I could rely on other Volunteer Managers from other sites to bounce ideas off of and was also selected – more... be on a Forum to create new and improved ideas for the Company. The hardest part of my position was balancing recruitment, retention , meetings in the office as well as follow up on incomplete applications from interested applicants.I enjoyed the community outreach, speaking engagements, and working with over 70 volunteers to create a diverse program to help over 13 counties and 15 facilities in our area – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for and a great place to work.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: great work hours and pay.
Cons: none that i can think of...
I enjoyed transcribing facsimiles, entering new claims, and verifying insurance coverage for the clients, contacting the insurance adjuster of scheduled appointments and obtaining authorization to order DME for the clients, the people I worked with were awesome, we were like a family and we always helped one another. Management was great as well, fun – more... place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
CareCentrix Care Coordinator (Former Employee), PhoenixJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: the back log challenges.
Cons: management turn over, we never got to really know them.
The management did change more then I'd liked it to but it was always communicated as a positive transition. The was a routine company you did the same thing everyday process referrals, some routine, some urgent, some retro. I work well under pressure but the biggest complaints for some would be if there was a back log and the managers wanted us to – more... work longer and faster. The co-workers were great but I can make a friend in anyone. The best part was happy bosses for a job well done. Great Feeling! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, great people
Patient Care Secretary / Medical Records (Former Employee), Salt lake city, UtahJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: needed more business
I loved going to work, to be around fun easygoing people. There was a lot of workshop learning available. The hardest part of the job was that the phones rang on your busiest days
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No training for new staff. Favoritism is ridiculous. Poor management.
Intake Specialist (Former Employee), Midwest, USAJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: decent compensation & benefits
Cons: everything else
Run far and fast from this company. If you don't fit in the clique you don't have a chance. They are so desperate for a warm body they sit you at a computer in a tiny cubicle, give you some pens and forms to fill out and just let you swing in the breeze. There is absolutely no training. When you make a mistake you're thrown under the bus and made to – more... look like an idiot. I should have trusted all the horrible reviews I have read about them but just had to see for myself I guess. When I witnessed everyday certain staff getting preferential treatment I should have known. Gentiva will suck your soul right out of you. – less

18fce8f0p5n8getk – January 28, 2014

I completely agree with this review. I would advise any nurse who is considering applying at Gentiva for an Intake Specialist position to give it some serious thought before giving up your current job. You will have no life and the mental stress is not worth it. I broke out in hives everyday because of the stress and my blood pressure was always high. Wal-Mart would be a better option.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
End of Life Care with Compassion and GREAT Volunteers!
Manager of Volunteer Services (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: networking opportunties, compassionate volunteers & clinical teams, helping people through grief
Cons: reprioritize schedule and tasks, lots of driving due to vast territory of customer base
As the Manager of Volunteer Services I was able to utilize a variety of my skills on a day to day basis and work with a group of staff and volunteers that were truly compassionate and driven to serve people at the end of life's journey.
It was hard working in hospice saying goodbye-to patients, families and volunteers as they moved on to other opportunities – more... on a daily basis, but the hardest part-Breaking the news to patient care volunteers regarding the loss of their hospice patients. Fortunately, this was often followed by the most enjoyable part of the job...hearing positive feedback and sharing memories with the grieving families and the difference our team made. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate needs to know the lack of leadership in sales management
Home Health Specialist (Former Employee), naJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: loved my close co-workers
Cons: very poor, unconcerned and lack of management skills
I could not have asked to work for a better company for the many years beginning of my employment here, however the last year the management team that was brought to my area was not only laughable but clueless and inexperienced of what my area was about concerning the amount of manage care when if came to referrals. The restrictions the company puts – more... on sales to accept referrals made it nearly impossible to achieve any kind of goal that was assigned. Relationship building with accounts means nothing to this management team. – less

About Gentiva Health Services

Gentiva Health Services is a gentle giant. As one of the┬ánation's largest home health care and hospice services firms, the company – Read more

Gentiva Health Services Photos