Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts

Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts Employee Reviews in United States

Found 705 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate frustration
Outside sales (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAFebruary 29, 2016
I was headhunted by General Manager of local distribution center to leave the successful business I had grown in Shaver Lake. I was put into the GPC management training program which was suppose to last from 6 to 12 months before allocation of management position. GM retired after 4 months and new GM denied completion of training program citing budget cuts and placed me in a sales position with no opportunity for advancement.
Pros
Benifits
Cons
Work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work.
Dispatcher / Counterman (Current Employee) –  Alpharetta, GADecember 29, 2015
Very demanding but gives you what you put into it. "Upper management is more worried about change than embracing change". None really if you work hard and do what is asked of you, management will notice you. The job requires long hours at times. It gets difficult to balance work and life. The company sometimes has unrealistic goals when times get slow. Hard work means advancements. Advice to Management, keep up the work and listen to employees they are the ones on the front lines. There's favoritism and management looks the other way.Thanks for giving me the opportunity to work for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring company that looks at the needs of its employees
Parts Professional (Current Employee) –  Billings, MTDecember 28, 2015
NAPA is a company that truly respects and cares for their employees. I had to leave and work for a company that didn't seem to value their employees at all to appreciate just how much NAPA does. I do wish that there was more opportunity for advancement without having to relocate. Overall a fantastic company with great benefits.
Pros
Great benefits, decent pay, good management
Cons
Advancement opportunities are tough to come by
Was this review helpful?YesNo5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management has been terrible
Deliver Driver (Current Employee) –  Latham, NYFebruary 27, 2016
I have worked here for about 3 years now and I have had 3 different managers. The new manager is an outside sales rep and doesn't know how to run a store. Typical day consists of helping others get the right parts for them to fix their cars. Most of my co-workers are great fun to work with and others think they run the place and are new. Some days it gets really busy really fast and not the right amount of people are scheduled to do the job fast and smoothly.
Cons
Health benefits, Management
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful but potentially rewarding
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORNovember 5, 2015
The day to day operations can provide a sense of accomplishment, however the management teams, local and regional consistently get in the way of running an optimal store. The district management 'boys club' makes upward advancement almost impossible. If you do manage to move up, expect far more responsibility than what you are being paid for as well as being the scapegoat anytime something goes wrong. My particular store burned through three assistant managers and two store managers in under 2 years. This is by no means rare.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy the people i work with and the overall feel for the company
Driver (Current Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIFebruary 16, 2016
Overall its not a bad company to work, they give you a good amount of vacation time early on and from my experience most of the people I've worked with have been helpful and informative.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Pay caps and position advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Parts Specialist (Former Employee) –  San Marcos, CAMarch 9, 2016
My work day consisted of : opening the showroom at 7am, stocking batteries,oil, and filters,answering phones for both retail and wholesale clients,waiting on retail customers at the front counter, testing customers batteries and electrical system check,installing batteries,installing wiper blades,i learned by looking up parts on the computer and using google to find parts that were not listed on our computer system, management was plesant and helpful and so was co-workers, the most enjoyable part of the job is constantly learning new products and skills
Pros
promo items: hats, decals, knives, etc..
Cons
short lunches and no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Internal Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CANovember 24, 2015
I had almost about the same routine every day at work. I get in, do my work and all the tasks assigned to me and then time to go home. Management in my department was fair since we only have about 7 people total. I have some of the best coworkers in my department. I enjoy working there with everyone. I get to learn many things each day and getting to do something new when needed.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Lunches are too long
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved Working Here
Auto Parts Sales (Former Employee) –  Penns Grove, NJMarch 9, 2016
Loved Working here when I was in College. I love the customer interaction and how the work always kept me busy. Not much room for advancement and management is never steady.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work load out of balance
I B S Parts Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas-Fort Worth, TXNovember 8, 2015
use this company as a stepping stone only... they will keep dumping more and more on you until you quit. don't expect raises or honesty from management. you will be told what you want to hear and that is all
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being Employed at NAPA Auto Parts
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Suwanee, GAJanuary 15, 2016
A typical day at work consists of First, inspecting my vehicle to make sure it operates properly,Next, I find out which routes are assigned for the day, and when in downtime I restocked the shelves to ensure the next orders were ready to be filled. I learned how to do invoicing and discovered new routes to the area that was assigned to me. While learning a few things, management was very proactive, informative, and encouraged me to use my skills at its maximum potential. My co-workers and I worked very well together, as they were veterans and taught me how to work effectively, We managed to balanced out the workload so that all parts were delivered in a reasonable time. Napa really didn't have anything that was extremely difficult for me to handle as I seemed to master many of the deliveries and routes. I truly enjoyed meeting new people and providing excellent customer service to many different customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes28No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people
Parts Sales Specialist (Former Employee) –  Grandville, MIMarch 21, 2016
good pay treated fairly great management
great discounts
great benefits
flexible
even when I got let go was very happy and still approve of the company
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees are driven to satisfy shareholders only.
Marketing and Distribution (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJanuary 6, 2016
You simply work and do the best you can. Management is indifferent to your efforts. I have seen the general store manager scolded by a regional mgr. for leaving the counter helping a customer to go to the aid of an employee that fainted and needed immediate medical attention due to a heart ailment. This company only cares for the continuance of revenue and nothing more. It has an implacable attitude that is commonplace of the business practices of the southern part of the USA. It's headquarters is in Atlanta, Ga. I had no other recourse but to find work in 2008 when the economy collapsed. I worked for Parts Plus--That company I worked for was acquired by Napa Auto Supply. Other companies that I applied for with my background in biotech were not hiring. They began to layoff workers and some left the country. I was basically stuck in the position I applied for.
Pros
Keep up the good work.
Cons
Not rewarded for your accomplishments. You just "work there".
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrific experience portraying the national spokesman.
National Spokesman (Former Employee) –  Hollywood, CANovember 21, 2015
I landed this opportunity through an audition portraying the National Spokesman in a variety of commercials for the company. Although my career is in the path of Human Resources, this built personality and expertise being in front of an audience.
Pros
Compensation
Cons
Short term project
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Minimum 48 hour work weeks
Stocking, Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Aurora coDecember 13, 2015
Unhealthy job culture.
The night managers are micro managers.
Store manager is nice.
Lack of advancement within company.
Unhealthy amount of overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Glass Ceilings
Territory Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  South Plainfield, NJNovember 17, 2015
GPC/NAPA is overall a decent company to work for. Many opportunities afforded to you since their are many avenues you can go down to make a well off career for yourself.

Unfortunately each individual Organization of Napa is made up of DC's abbreviated for distribution centers. Each one is run independently and the General Manager of that center decides on immediate decisions and circumstances of the overall team. Along with that you have clicks amongst piers in the workforce and if you do not fit in, that too can have an overall affect of your advancement within the company.
Pros
gas card, company car, phone allowance, company credit card for work related expenses
Cons
never clear cut directions, many reiterations on what the game plan is, horrible communication with field members, never listen to critiques or comments to help affect buisness strategy
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced automotive and truck parts and accessories sales
Parts Salesperson (Current Employee) –  Cresson, PADecember 12, 2015
Enjoy dealing with both the general public and local shops. Human resources department slow to react. Very knowledgeable and helpful management and co-workers. Every day is a learning experience. Can be difficult to find items that have no actual specified location, or one that is long outdated. Being able to quickly and correctly fulfill the customers needs and expectations.
Pros
Basically clean, well lit facility. Short commute. Dealing with a good cross section of the public on a daily basis
Cons
Not having access to requested items. Lack of space for some operations
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good review
Accounting Specialist (Former Employee) –  Duluth, GANovember 30, 2015
Okay company to work for but has a strict attendance policy. Applicant will need to live very close to job.
Pay is good for the 1st 3 months but will have to wait 1 year to receive another raise.
Pros
good pay
Cons
strict attendance policy, very political
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great morale! Very friendly outgoing people. I learned something new everyday for ten years.
Outside Sales/ Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Homer, AKJanuary 26, 2016
I have to say that working at NAPA was an influential part of my life. I met and worked with many knowledgeable people. It's like a big family and you continually meet new relatives. I always got 40 hours and got paid on time. Wasn't bad having a full time, not super labor intensive, year round indoors job.
Pros
Always had good health benefits and my checks always cashed.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company,nice atmosphere, overall work place
Delivery Representative (Former Employee) –  Pensacola, FLJanuary 3, 2016
clock in, check job tickets, get parts or materials to be delivered load them in vehicle and deliver to destination. I learned time management and was consistency were very important. Management was nice and fair to each employee and co-workers were all pleasant. the job was fairly easy i can't say i can name the hardest part. The most enjoyable part of the job was working around pleasant individuals in a good atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes17No4

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 753 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture