Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts Employee Reviews in United States

Found 715 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate frustration
Outside sales (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAFebruary 29, 2016
I was headhunted by General Manager of local distribution center to leave the successful business I had grown in Shaver Lake. I was put into the GPC management training program which was suppose to last from 6 to 12 months before allocation of management position. GM retired after 4 months and new GM denied completion of training program citing budget cuts and placed me in a sales position with no opportunity for advancement.
Pros
Benifits
Cons
Work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management has been terrible
Deliver Driver (Current Employee) –  Latham, NYFebruary 27, 2016
I have worked here for about 3 years now and I have had 3 different managers. The new manager is an outside sales rep and doesn't know how to run a store. Typical day consists of helping others get the right parts for them to fix their cars. Most of my co-workers are great fun to work with and others think they run the place and are new. Some days it gets really busy really fast and not the right amount of people are scheduled to do the job fast and smoothly.
Cons
Health benefits, Management
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring company that looks at the needs of its employees
Parts Professional (Current Employee) –  Billings, MTDecember 28, 2015
NAPA is a company that truly respects and cares for their employees. I had to leave and work for a company that didn't seem to value their employees at all to appreciate just how much NAPA does. I do wish that there was more opportunity for advancement without having to relocate. Overall a fantastic company with great benefits.
Pros
Great benefits, decent pay, good management
Cons
Advancement opportunities are tough to come by
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great morale! Very friendly outgoing people. I learned something new everyday for ten years.
Outside Sales/ Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Homer, AKJanuary 26, 2016
I have to say that working at NAPA was an influential part of my life. I met and worked with many knowledgeable people. It's like a big family and you continually meet new relatives. I always got 40 hours and got paid on time. Wasn't bad having a full time, not super labor intensive, year round indoors job.
Pros
Always had good health benefits and my checks always cashed.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy the people i work with and the overall feel for the company
Driver (Current Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIFebruary 16, 2016
Overall its not a bad company to work, they give you a good amount of vacation time early on and from my experience most of the people I've worked with have been helpful and informative.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Pay caps and position advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people
Parts Sales Specialist (Former Employee) –  Grandville, MIMarch 21, 2016
good pay treated fairly great management
great discounts
great benefits
flexible
even when I got let go was very happy and still approve of the company
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Internal Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CANovember 24, 2015
I had almost about the same routine every day at work. I get in, do my work and all the tasks assigned to me and then time to go home. Management in my department was fair since we only have about 7 people total. I have some of the best coworkers in my department. I enjoy working there with everyone. I get to learn many things each day and getting to do something new when needed.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Lunches are too long
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Driver/parts delivery (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYMarch 8, 2016
good company benefits, mostly congenial co-workers, Manager was very competent. Overall enjoyable experience. Some customers were hard to please, but overall an enjoyable tenure.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work.
Dispatcher / Counterman (Current Employee) –  Alpharetta, GADecember 29, 2015
Very demanding but gives you what you put into it. "Upper management is more worried about change than embracing change". None really if you work hard and do what is asked of you, management will notice you. The job requires long hours at times. It gets difficult to balance work and life. The company sometimes has unrealistic goals when times get slow. Hard work means advancements. Advice to Management, keep up the work and listen to employees they are the ones on the front lines. There's favoritism and management looks the other way.Thanks for giving me the opportunity to work for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrific experience portraying the national spokesman.
National Spokesman (Former Employee) –  Hollywood, CANovember 21, 2015
I landed this opportunity through an audition portraying the National Spokesman in a variety of commercials for the company. Although my career is in the path of Human Resources, this built personality and expertise being in front of an audience.
Pros
Compensation
Cons
Short term project
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good review
Accounting Specialist (Former Employee) –  Duluth, GANovember 30, 2015
Okay company to work for but has a strict attendance policy. Applicant will need to live very close to job.
Pay is good for the 1st 3 months but will have to wait 1 year to receive another raise.
Pros
good pay
Cons
strict attendance policy, very political
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work load out of balance
I B S Parts Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas-Fort Worth, TXNovember 8, 2015
use this company as a stepping stone only... they will keep dumping more and more on you until you quit. don't expect raises or honesty from management. you will be told what you want to hear and that is all
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Punctual
Dispatch Manager (Current Employee) –  McAllen, TXNovember 17, 2015
Company lacks leadership, respect and responsibility. Although company has many benefits it lacks the understanding of the job description. Safety hazards are lacking and do not have proper instructions to insure preventative accidents.
Pros
none
Cons
breaks for women
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
disorganized yet able to work through stress
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Middletown, DENovember 8, 2015
the place itself and management are quite disorganized but they are able to work through major curve balls and have decent benifits
Pros
good benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes17No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 9, 2015
Good company with good benefits. Although the company has a lot of good things going on, parts of the management team is poor.
Pros
Very organized
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Parts driver (Former Employee) –  Hammond, INNovember 30, 2015
I liked working there good discounts good benefits better pay then any auto parts. The manager was somewhat racist. I left to work at a body shop but that didn't work out.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive well put enviorment
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  East Elmhurst, NYOctober 14, 2015
i had a great time with the company, moved up to management position in a little over a year and a half. although benefits aren't all that great the pay is decent for those who have little retail expierence.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Parts Specialist (Former Employee) –  San Marcos, CAMarch 9, 2016
My work day consisted of : opening the showroom at 7am, stocking batteries,oil, and filters,answering phones for both retail and wholesale clients,waiting on retail customers at the front counter, testing customers batteries and electrical system check,installing batteries,installing wiper blades,i learned by looking up parts on the computer and using google to find parts that were not listed on our computer system, management was plesant and helpful and so was co-workers, the most enjoyable part of the job is constantly learning new products and skills
Pros
promo items: hats, decals, knives, etc..
Cons
short lunches and no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm and laid back atmosphere
Driver / Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAOctober 6, 2015
Napa was a great work environment to be apart of. We were a busy company.There was always something to do.I also loved meeting the clients and interacting with them.I miss working for this company.
Pros
BENEFITS, GREAT PAY, AND MOST WEEKENDS OFF
Cons
WHEN I LEFT
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Enviroment
Shipping Associate (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSOctober 7, 2015
The staff and management were great. The warehouse was organized in a nice and understanding manner. The duties were simple and non-stressful.
Pros
Great Pay Benefits
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?Yes2No

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 764 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture