Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts

Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts Employee Reviews

Found 793 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company/Long Hours
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 14, 2017
GPC really is a great company but you will need to put your personal life on hold to be promoted. I have been promoted/relocated 3 times so the upward mobility is there for the company but you need to mke sacrifices. Currently I work 65 hours a week with customer events and putting together sales meetings and my family pays the price. Pay Is a little below average for he industry but benefits are very good. I enjoyed my years with the company but am close to where I am ready to move on.
Pros
Expense Accounts. Company Car, great customers, challenging
Cons
Extremely Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company overall
Accounts Payable Intern (Former Employee) –  Duluth, GAAugust 9, 2017
Great company culture as well as work/life balance. Management team is very friendly as well as the other employees. Great company that gives back to the community.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Data Entry (Current Employee) –  High Point, NCAugust 2, 2017
There are many different jobs at this location, from warehouse jobs to office jobs. I happen to work in one of the office divisions, where we do a lot of the Data Entry for all 52 of the DC's.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great jobbers to work with but upper management has no clue as to what's going on in the work force
Under hood rep for gpc (Former Employee) –  Knoxville TNJuly 30, 2017
As an under hood rep for GPC we had very little upper management direction, and we're expected to have unreasonable results. If you achieved your results, which I did three out of four years they would nit pick the way you did it. Average compensation, unrealistic work hours and no help to achieve your goals.
Pros
Flexible schedule at times
Cons
Lack of training, unrealistic sales expectations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Customer Service Payroll Specialist (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 26, 2017
Good company family oriented work environment. Benefits could be a lot better, more vacation days, medical is very high for a family. Management needs work, some can be unprofessional, but there are those I love as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work
Order Puller/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJuly 18, 2017
I enjoy position I held with employer I was an order puller. The job required a lot of walking and occasionally heavy lifting of parts.The warehouse was dusty. The employer provide break room with a/c and games and television to relax.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Warehouse Laborer (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IAJuly 11, 2017
My day would start out by unloading trucks using a pallet jack and if the back of the truck was super messy then I would go get my manager and show them . We always had to be on our toes working in a warehouse . The hardest was running sum of the tools having to use . The most enjoyable part of the job making friends .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a pretty nice place to work, with great people
Mainframe Developer (Former Employee) –  Norcross, GA 30071June 23, 2017
The people and management were friendly and caring. I was able to increase my knowledge of z/VSE JCL and VM/CMS. In addition, I learned what a versatile utility SYNCSORT was. The biggest challenge was the lack of adequate documentation of the mainframe applications.

I did enjoy some of the social events, like birthday parties each month, as well as some of the wellness programs and food trucks on Friday.
Pros
Friendly atmosphere, good work/life balance
Cons
Location - not conducive to lunchtime walks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too long ago
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaJune 21, 2017
To be honest, too long ago to rate. Lots of sales pressure, lots of change as the company purchased additional resources, plenty of inventory and good wages for that time frame
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Older, conservative business culture with promotion opportunities
Division Manager of Inventory Modeling (Current Employee) –  Denver, COJune 20, 2017
GPC is an old school company that is a good place to get your foot in the door as a trainee as there are many promotion opportunities. However, if you are looking for a modern, hip company this probably isn't the place for you. Also, the management is probably 90+% male.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a laid back work environment
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Norcross, GAJune 17, 2017
The company is a goof place to work for. The only thing is the ability to move up doesn't come like most companies due to no one quiting, getting fired, nor retiring.
Pros
laid back, easy work, great co workers
Cons
on call weekends, working through lunch on the 1st of the month
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Solid company with a great history.
District Sales Manager - Undercar (Former Employee) –  South Plainfield, NJJune 14, 2017
Good company very structured and professional. Benefits package is comparable to most large company's. The wok experience I had as a Manufacturers rep. was very rewarding but also very strenuous because of the territory side, other than that awesome company.
Pros
Solid foundation and core values
Cons
Scheduling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hmmm
AP Specialist (Former Employee) –  Duluth, GAJune 11, 2017
I started as a contractor and was quickly brought on permanently. All in all, I knew this environment was a trip. I resigned and moved on to another position outside NAPA.

The people you work with are cool, but as you can guess about any production environment or one with so many associates, there are many clicks. You're the newbie so you learn to adapt or move on when your assignment ends. There are people who have been with APAR for decades, yes decades. That's a good thing, but most of the veterans are very unhappy.

The location is convenient since the bulk of the employees live in or are right near Gwinnett county. They are very rigid in terms of attendance, your lunch, etc. Be mindful of that. It was much too rigid for what I'm accustomed to, but again, for the time you're there working, just learn to adapt.
Pros
Flex schedule was a huge plus, credit union
Cons
Very rigid. You must learn to adapt to their environment fast
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dept structure slightly unfocus and unattended
Inventory Payables Specialist (Former Employee) –  Duluth, GAJune 8, 2017
The Change of management and job functions can be slightly frustrating. This Happening once in a while an associate can maintain their course of study accuracy professionalism as well as daily functions. When your job description and management changes consistently, an associate can find that very hard to maintain. Now change is good in a dept growing and expanding that is actually a great benefit for any dept. However there is a burnout zone a dept can come upon if these things come about on a regular. By the time the dept has learn the current changes and making a smooth transitions into the new procedures and functions, adapting to new Management, here comes the meetings that has changed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  ‘Aiea, HIJune 1, 2017
To start the day you grab a log specific to the vehicle you drive, then go through a check list for the day to insure safety. During the day is when we take parts to customers and do the driving around. If the day is slow, thats when we help with pulling orders or putting away parts we just received.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
ASE Certified - Parts Professional (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCJune 1, 2017
Napa Auto Parts was a fast paced job that seldom got repetitious. There was always something to do or that needed to be done as with most retail environments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It use to be great but is still decent
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYMay 30, 2017
This company was fairly decent to work for. The pay was fair as well as the benefits. There was a time when most of the employees were there for almost if not 20yrs. Now its a bunch of outsiders who want to flex their muscle. The day is routine and the hours were great. Even though my experience there wasn't the greatest I have few bad things to say about them.
Pros
Discount on parts, paid vacation, benifets, 401k
Cons
Nothing u wouldnt experience at any other job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
strong established company, good brand
District Sales Manager - Dedicated representative (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 27, 2017
The aftermarket parts segment is in a current state of war with too many players chasing the large number of dollars to be gained. GPC is embedded in an established format the has needs for change given current sales climate.
Pros
great benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great career with equally great financial rewards
Distribution Center Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMay 25, 2017
Typical day includes an early morning kickoff to establish the plan and objectives. These NAPA folks are hard working and very focused on meeting all objectives. Their corporate financials and stock value reflect this strong work ethic. I learned there are great rewards after the intense work - as long as goals are met. Most difficult part of this role are the larger customers who tend to gain lots of attention up the chain. The culture is fun and very competitive, where individuals are rewarded when their teams are successful.
Pros
The best part of the job is the excellent benefits, free clothing, free tickets to many local sporting events, the excellent employee discounts and having the most confident and well-trained parts people!
Cons
Very objective-driven environment where "your numbers" are key to your success.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loading and Unloading
Packer/Checker (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 19, 2017
My typical day at Napa Auto Parts was I would prepare pallets at the checkline and build pallets to store locations. Reconcile stores and when I hit 100% I would load the pallet into the trailer. Management was fairly good and the work place culture was friendly and at times fun. The hardest part of the job was pulling heavy pallets and handling damaged batteries. I've learned that working as a team and getting products to there stores fast is good for business. My most enjoyable part of the job is getting my job done early, cleaning and stocking for the rest of the day.
Pros
1 hour lunch, benefits
Cons
Management, chemical hazard, injury prone
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 845 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5

CEO Approval

72%
112 ratings
Add your rating

Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts Reviews by Location