Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts

Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts Employee Reviews in United States

Found 735 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate frustration
Outside sales (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAFebruary 29, 2016
I was headhunted by General Manager of local distribution center to leave the successful business I had grown in Shaver Lake. I was put into the GPC management training program which was suppose to last from 6 to 12 months before allocation of management position. GM retired after 4 months and new GM denied completion of training program citing budget cuts and placed me in a sales position with no opportunity for advancement.
Pros
Benifits
Cons
Work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work.
Dispatcher / Counterman (Current Employee) –  Alpharetta, GADecember 29, 2015
Very demanding but gives you what you put into it. "Upper management is more worried about change than embracing change". None really if you work hard and do what is asked of you, management will notice you. The job requires long hours at times. It gets difficult to balance work and life. The company sometimes has unrealistic goals when times get slow. Hard work means advancements. Advice to Management, keep up the work and listen to employees they are the ones on the front lines. There's favoritism and management looks the other way.Thanks for giving me the opportunity to work for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring company that looks at the needs of its employees
Parts Professional (Current Employee) –  Billings, MTDecember 28, 2015
NAPA is a company that truly respects and cares for their employees. I had to leave and work for a company that didn't seem to value their employees at all to appreciate just how much NAPA does. I do wish that there was more opportunity for advancement without having to relocate. Overall a fantastic company with great benefits.
Pros
Great benefits, decent pay, good management
Cons
Advancement opportunities are tough to come by
Was this review helpful?Yes1No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management has been terrible
Deliver Driver (Current Employee) –  Latham, NYFebruary 27, 2016
I have worked here for about 3 years now and I have had 3 different managers. The new manager is an outside sales rep and doesn't know how to run a store. Typical day consists of helping others get the right parts for them to fix their cars. Most of my co-workers are great fun to work with and others think they run the place and are new. Some days it gets really busy really fast and not the right amount of people are scheduled to do the job fast and smoothly.
Cons
Health benefits, Management
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Parts Specialist (Former Employee) –  San Marcos, CAMarch 9, 2016
My work day consisted of : opening the showroom at 7am, stocking batteries,oil, and filters,answering phones for both retail and wholesale clients,waiting on retail customers at the front counter, testing customers batteries and electrical system check,installing batteries,installing wiper blades,i learned by looking up parts on the computer and using google to find parts that were not listed on our computer system, management was plesant and helpful and so was co-workers, the most enjoyable part of the job is constantly learning new products and skills
Pros
promo items: hats, decals, knives, etc..
Cons
short lunches and no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved Working Here
Auto Parts Sales (Former Employee) –  Penns Grove, NJMarch 9, 2016
Loved Working here when I was in College. I love the customer interaction and how the work always kept me busy. Not much room for advancement and management is never steady.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy the people i work with and the overall feel for the company
Driver (Current Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIFebruary 16, 2016
Overall its not a bad company to work, they give you a good amount of vacation time early on and from my experience most of the people I've worked with have been helpful and informative.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Pay caps and position advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people
Parts Sales Specialist (Former Employee) –  Grandville, MIMarch 21, 2016
good pay treated fairly great management
great discounts
great benefits
flexible
even when I got let go was very happy and still approve of the company
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful but potentially rewarding
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORNovember 5, 2015
The day to day operations can provide a sense of accomplishment, however the management teams, local and regional consistently get in the way of running an optimal store. The district management 'boys club' makes upward advancement almost impossible. If you do manage to move up, expect far more responsibility than what you are being paid for as well as being the scapegoat anytime something goes wrong. My particular store burned through three assistant managers and two store managers in under 2 years. This is by no means rare.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional work environment and unmotivating
Delivery driver (Former Employee) –  Bellingham, WAJune 28, 2016
- It was very hard to come in for work and be motivated, especially the fact that there is absolutely no benefits and small pay.
- I learned that the other drivers were very unprofessional, like their attitude towards me and sometimes others.
- Manager is a good person and took action asap when I mentioned about an employee giving me a hard time and was't leaving me alone even when I ignored her.
- Hardest part was being motivated around very unmotivated and careless employees. It didn't help being crammed in a small store with a lot of negative attitude.
- I did enjoy meeting new people/customers when I would deliver parts to their shop, they would help me get through the day every time.
Pros
Free lunch on every Saturday.
Cons
No benefits and very small pay for working very hard.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being Employed at NAPA Auto Parts
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Suwanee, GAJanuary 15, 2016
A typical day at work consists of First, inspecting my vehicle to make sure it operates properly,Next, I find out which routes are assigned for the day, and when in downtime I restocked the shelves to ensure the next orders were ready to be filled. I learned how to do invoicing and discovered new routes to the area that was assigned to me. While learning a few things, management was very proactive, informative, and encouraged me to use my skills at its maximum potential. My co-workers and I worked very well together, as they were veterans and taught me how to work effectively, We managed to balanced out the workload so that all parts were delivered in a reasonable time. Napa really didn't have anything that was extremely difficult for me to handle as I seemed to master many of the deliveries and routes. I truly enjoyed meeting new people and providing excellent customer service to many different customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes34No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Internal Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CANovember 24, 2015
I had almost about the same routine every day at work. I get in, do my work and all the tasks assigned to me and then time to go home. Management in my department was fair since we only have about 7 people total. I have some of the best coworkers in my department. I enjoy working there with everyone. I get to learn many things each day and getting to do something new when needed.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Lunches are too long
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this job!!
Delivery Parts Driver (Former Employee) –  Fort Collins, COAugust 6, 2016
Working with NAPA, has been one of the best experiences I have been able to work for! My manager is an is still wonderful! one of the best i would say that I have ever had! I loved going to work everyday, rain or shine..snow haha. everyone that i worked with was mostly older then I as old as an elder. Stories from co-workers from past history an how living was an as it is now. Learning from everyone there as I did , learned a lot about cars an customer service, parts . I would go back to this job anytime if they even needed a helping hand. working there for so long as I did everyone became like family , as i called them my Napa family.
Pros
all around everything
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable work environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Perris, CAJuly 8, 2016
Napa provides a healthy work environment in which all employees clock in and out with a smile. Focusing on a one team mindset throughout the store creates an enjoyable environment to work in. There are many opportunities to learn and expand ones knowledge in multiple fields. The hardest part of the job is simply matching an unknown part with a phone order customer since you do not physically see the described item. The most enjoyable part of the job is making customers lives easier by solving their problems and accommodating their needs in an organized and efficient manner.
Pros
Bonuses every month quota is met.
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work load out of balance
I B S Parts Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas-Fort Worth, TXNovember 8, 2015
use this company as a stepping stone only... they will keep dumping more and more on you until you quit. don't expect raises or honesty from management. you will be told what you want to hear and that is all
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees are driven to satisfy shareholders only.
Marketing and Distribution (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJanuary 6, 2016
You simply work and do the best you can. Management is indifferent to your efforts. I have seen the general store manager scolded by a regional mgr. for leaving the counter helping a customer to go to the aid of an employee that fainted and needed immediate medical attention due to a heart ailment. This company only cares for the continuance of revenue and nothing more. It has an implacable attitude that is commonplace of the business practices of the southern part of the USA. It's headquarters is in Atlanta, Ga. I had no other recourse but to find work in 2008 when the economy collapsed. I worked for Parts Plus--That company I worked for was acquired by Napa Auto Supply. Other companies that I applied for with my background in biotech were not hiring. They began to layoff workers and some left the country. I was basically stuck in the position I applied for.
Pros
Keep up the good work.
Cons
Not rewarded for your accomplishments. You just "work there".
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highschool Environment ,Lack Of support from Management , everyone is the boss
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  TexasJuly 19, 2016
Production meeting
typical day stock new freight according to workbench( up to million dollars in parts every 2-3 days ) hardly no space to stock items, 1400 items COMPANY STANDARD per shift per stock associate. Managers watch all RF scanners database. Bird Dogs Production overlook Team Leaders .
upper management on all different pages. senior workers deceptive .
starting pay 10.75 raises every 90 days based on management review top off pay 14.75 . New hires train themselves and to meet standard is a dog eat dog world everyone is for self when trying to meet organizational goals. your paycheck and $5 gift cards is all you get for hard work and making the company effective . going the extra mile is a understatement to a company making 60 million a month 8-10 Billion a year.

Dock Workers 10.75
Re-class( Returns Department) 10.75
Truck Drivers: CDL
Order Pullers 10.75
Shipping and Receiving Senior Employers only 10 years +
Pros
hour lunch off weekends
Cons
its all about numbers and getting revenue from parts.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent learning experience in an active work place.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Douglas, AZAugust 15, 2016
Your typical day at work was fulfilled with assisting customers in preparing parts for their damaged vehicles, and learning new things about improving automobiles. With this, working as a team is essential, because each customer has specific requirements that need to be attended to, apposed to a regular retail setting. Personally, the hardest part of the job was running into some language barriers; but it more than made up for in pleasant returning customers that were "a hoot" to assist.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Job
Driver (Former Employee) –  Redding, CAJune 30, 2016
Things were great until I got pregnant. The supervisor didn't know what to do with me and got my hours cut in half. I had to call when the store opened and ask if they NEEDED me to come in. Majority of the time (about 90% of it) they would tell me that I wasn't needed and to try again the next day. This went on for months until I was put on maternity leave by my doctor. I really enjoyed my job and I liked my co-workers and I really liked my truck. But when all this happened, it just was not a great place to work. I ended up leaving when my maternity leave was over.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional
Counter Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Auburn, CAMay 14, 2016
A typical day of work consisted of counting my cash drawer, logging in with my personal account number, asking the supervisor if there were any specific tasks to be done for the day, assisting customers locate parts and products for their vehicle/ project, organizing the retail products/ shelves, verifying supply, organizing the warehouse, answering the phone, giving quotes over the phone, assisting wholesale clients order parts and products for their company, cleaning/ maintaining customer areas including the parking lot.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Rude Customers
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 786 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5

Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts Reviews by Location