Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts

Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts Employee Reviews

Found 788 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work
Order Puller/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJuly 18, 2017
I enjoy position I held with employer I was an order puller. The job required a lot of walking and occasionally heavy lifting of parts.The warehouse was dusty. The employer provide break room with a/c and games and television to relax.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Warehouse Laborer (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IAJuly 11, 2017
My day would start out by unloading trucks using a pallet jack and if the back of the truck was super messy then I would go get my manager and show them . We always had to be on our toes working in a warehouse . The hardest was running sum of the tools having to use . The most enjoyable part of the job making friends .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a pretty nice place to work, with great people
Mainframe Developer (Former Employee) –  Norcross, GA 30071June 23, 2017
The people and management were friendly and caring. I was able to increase my knowledge of z/VSE JCL and VM/CMS. In addition, I learned what a versatile utility SYNCSORT was. The biggest challenge was the lack of adequate documentation of the mainframe applications.

I did enjoy some of the social events, like birthday parties each month, as well as some of the wellness programs and food trucks on Friday.
Pros
Friendly atmosphere, good work/life balance
Cons
Location - not conducive to lunchtime walks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too long ago
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaJune 21, 2017
To be honest, too long ago to rate. Lots of sales pressure, lots of change as the company purchased additional resources, plenty of inventory and good wages for that time frame
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Older, conservative business culture with promotion opportunities
Division Manager of Inventory Modeling (Current Employee) –  Denver, COJune 20, 2017
GPC is an old school company that is a good place to get your foot in the door as a trainee as there are many promotion opportunities. However, if you are looking for a modern, hip company this probably isn't the place for you. Also, the management is probably 90+% male.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a laid back work environment
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Norcross, GAJune 17, 2017
The company is a goof place to work for. The only thing is the ability to move up doesn't come like most companies due to no one quiting, getting fired, nor retiring.
Pros
laid back, easy work, great co workers
Cons
on call weekends, working through lunch on the 1st of the month
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Solid company with a great history.
District Sales Manager - Undercar (Former Employee) –  South Plainfield, NJJune 14, 2017
Good company very structured and professional. Benefits package is comparable to most large company's. The wok experience I had as a Manufacturers rep. was very rewarding but also very strenuous because of the territory side, other than that awesome company.
Pros
Solid foundation and core values
Cons
Scheduling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hmmm
AP Specialist (Former Employee) –  Duluth, GAJune 11, 2017
I started as a contractor and was quickly brought on permanently. All in all, I knew this environment was a trip. I resigned and moved on to another position outside NAPA.

The people you work with are cool, but as you can guess about any production environment or one with so many associates, there are many clicks. You're the newbie so you learn to adapt or move on when your assignment ends. There are people who have been with APAR for decades, yes decades. That's a good thing, but most of the veterans are very unhappy.

The location is convenient since the bulk of the employees live in or are right near Gwinnett county. They are very rigid in terms of attendance, your lunch, etc. Be mindful of that. It was much too rigid for what I'm accustomed to, but again, for the time you're there working, just learn to adapt.
Pros
Flex schedule was a huge plus, credit union
Cons
Very rigid. You must learn to adapt to their environment fast
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dept structure slightly unfocus and unattended
Inventory Payables Specialist (Former Employee) –  Duluth, GAJune 8, 2017
The Change of management and job functions can be slightly frustrating. This Happening once in a while an associate can maintain their course of study accuracy professionalism as well as daily functions. When your job description and management changes consistently, an associate can find that very hard to maintain. Now change is good in a dept growing and expanding that is actually a great benefit for any dept. However there is a burnout zone a dept can come upon if these things come about on a regular. By the time the dept has learn the current changes and making a smooth transitions into the new procedures and functions, adapting to new Management, here comes the meetings that has changed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  ‘Aiea, HIJune 1, 2017
To start the day you grab a log specific to the vehicle you drive, then go through a check list for the day to insure safety. During the day is when we take parts to customers and do the driving around. If the day is slow, thats when we help with pulling orders or putting away parts we just received.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
ASE Certified - Parts Professional (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCJune 1, 2017
Napa Auto Parts was a fast paced job that seldom got repetitious. There was always something to do or that needed to be done as with most retail environments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It use to be great but is still decent
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYMay 30, 2017
This company was fairly decent to work for. The pay was fair as well as the benefits. There was a time when most of the employees were there for almost if not 20yrs. Now its a bunch of outsiders who want to flex their muscle. The day is routine and the hours were great. Even though my experience there wasn't the greatest I have few bad things to say about them.
Pros
Discount on parts, paid vacation, benifets, 401k
Cons
Nothing u wouldnt experience at any other job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
strong established company, good brand
District Sales Manager - Dedicated representative (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 27, 2017
The aftermarket parts segment is in a current state of war with too many players chasing the large number of dollars to be gained. GPC is embedded in an established format the has needs for change given current sales climate.
Pros
great benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great career with equally great financial rewards
Distribution Center Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMay 25, 2017
Typical day includes an early morning kickoff to establish the plan and objectives. These NAPA folks are hard working and very focused on meeting all objectives. Their corporate financials and stock value reflect this strong work ethic. I learned there are great rewards after the intense work - as long as goals are met. Most difficult part of this role are the larger customers who tend to gain lots of attention up the chain. The culture is fun and very competitive, where individuals are rewarded when their teams are successful.
Pros
The best part of the job is the excellent benefits, free clothing, free tickets to many local sporting events, the excellent employee discounts and having the most confident and well-trained parts people!
Cons
Very objective-driven environment where "your numbers" are key to your success.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loading and Unloading
Packer/Checker (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 19, 2017
My typical day at Napa Auto Parts was I would prepare pallets at the checkline and build pallets to store locations. Reconcile stores and when I hit 100% I would load the pallet into the trailer. Management was fairly good and the work place culture was friendly and at times fun. The hardest part of the job was pulling heavy pallets and handling damaged batteries. I've learned that working as a team and getting products to there stores fast is good for business. My most enjoyable part of the job is getting my job done early, cleaning and stocking for the rest of the day.
Pros
1 hour lunch, benefits
Cons
Management, chemical hazard, injury prone
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware
Senior Network Engineer (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 18, 2017
IT Management is awful... Lots of hours, lots of stress, unrealistic expectations and nothing given back... Would not recommend to anyone which is a shame because the company is good, solid but doesn't know how to treat their employee's. It's been a revolving door for network engineers. While I was there the whole network engineering team quit.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and pleasure to work at.
Administrative Assistant II (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 12, 2017
I loved working for Genuine Parts IT department. The department was large enough that there was a variety of things to do. Whether the duties consisted of creating reports, working on projects, planning celebrated events, answering phone lines, or assisting the receptionist, there was always a variety of things to do. The people became a family to me offering support when needed. The most enjoyable events were the ice cream parties for those winning awards.
Pros
The ability to advance
Cons
The benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor work-life balance
Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  Norcross, GAMay 11, 2017
New employees are required to have a degree but managers do not; leaving early unexpected or taking a day off without two weeks notice is a demerit mark which an employee is allowed six in a rolling year.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment
Vendor Relations Specialist / API (Current Employee) –  Duluth, GAMay 3, 2017
The most enjoyable part of my position is speaking with customers internally and externally. Constantly busy and working with a diverse group of individuals and working along side others in other departments.
Pros
Benefits, Co-workers
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good entry level to low management, good luck past that
Manager (Current Employee) –  AlApril 27, 2017
Too mired in in house politics. Top heavy in mid to high level management. puts all the burden and liability on low level management. Has no clue how to run company owned stores.
Much to worried about lawsuits because of HR issues and company
audits. Good benefits and good entry level to low level management
opportunity for advancement. Excellent training but places too much
emphasis on that and company policy. Sees competitors doing well
and strives to be like them instead of realizing what got them to where the are today by being different. Not realizing that what they are doing is allowing their competition to thrive. Good company, good values, great potential, many good people, just blowing it.
Willing to let many very good people go because top level mindset
is very inflexible and has tunnel vision or is just plain clueless.
Pros
Great history and potential
Cons
Constantly wants to change what does work and not what does not work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 840 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5

Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts Reviews by Location