Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts

Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts Employee Reviews

Found 746 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highschool Environment ,Lack Of support from Management , everyone is the boss
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  TexasJuly 19, 2016
Production meeting
typical day stock new freight according to workbench( up to million dollars in parts every 2-3 days ) hardly no space to stock items, 1400 items COMPANY STANDARD per shift per stock associate. Managers watch all RF scanners database. Bird Dogs Production overlook Team Leaders .
upper management on all different pages. senior workers deceptive .
starting pay 10.75 raises every 90 days based on management review top off pay 14.75 . New hires train themselves and to meet standard is a dog eat dog world everyone is for self when trying to meet organizational goals. your paycheck and $5 gift cards is all you get for hard work and making the company effective . going the extra mile is a understatement to a company making 60 million a month 8-10 Billion a year.

Dock Workers 10.75
Re-class( Returns Department) 10.75
Truck Drivers: CDL
Order Pullers 10.75
Shipping and Receiving Senior Employers only 10 years +
Pros
hour lunch off weekends
Cons
its all about numbers and getting revenue from parts.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Challenging Place to work
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJanuary 9, 2017
Fast paced work environment. Possibility for advancement is great, if you have the desire. Will obtain much knowledge of the auto & truck industry. .
Pros
Job security, Benefits, 401k
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to invest in a career
Systems Architect (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GADecember 15, 2016
Great place to work with equal, fair and diverse opportunities, mature management, advanced technologies and ways of working. Emphasis on leadership and teamwork, good people, enjoyable environment and corporate culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and challenging
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJanuary 8, 2017
I really enjoy associating with customers,and the team. Finding creative solutions and ideas to solve issues, and create a positive sales environment. I really like flexibility, and managing my own scope of work.
Pros
Good benefits, 401k, insurance, Job security
Cons
Many long hour days, leaving very little personal / family time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid but poor work/life balance
CSR Level III/IV, Analyst II (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 13, 2016
This company has been very successful. However, working overtime is not rewarded and is expected. If you don't work extra hours, then you are ridiculed for not pulling your weight.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Bad management, work/life balance is poor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vary busy place to work
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IAJanuary 13, 2017
Sales, Delivery,Invitoty management,P&L Management. Please feel free to look at my resume for a complete listing of responsibilities .
Pros
Fun great customers
Cons
VERY long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable working environment, little room for creativity
Customer Care Representative (Current Employee) –  Saint Louis Park, MNAugust 7, 2016
Very few advancement opportunities. Mentoring employees is not a priority. You are expected to show up, do your job, keep your head down. Benefits are very good. Processes are bogged down and systems don't communicate well without intense manual entry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
counterperson May 2016
Genuine Auto Parts (Current Employee) –  Middletown, CTJune 16, 2016
Excellent place to work.Fast paced,friendly people,great management personnel. Full time benefits plus added incentives make this a place with plenty of growth potential in your career.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No talking allowed. 1 hour lunch. Long work day.
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  New Kingston, PAAugust 1, 2016
As with many companies today their turnover is very high. In the 8 months I worked there I saw them hire at least 30 people, that's not good considering the warehouse only needs about 40 people to be fully staffed.
Most people quit within the first month, some sooner. A few got fired for low production, and a couple that worked on the loading dock were overwhelmed by the stress.
The company that is contracted to deliver the parts has a supervisor who has free reign of the loading dock and would regularly cuss at the loaders, and make derogatory statements towards them. Management was notified about this a couple times, and threatened to make this guy stay out of the building but that never happened.
There are 6 managers for about 40 people. Often when the loading dock was behind due to work flow, one manger in particular would cross his arms and stare at us while we worked.
Typically at 6pm everyday the temps (as some managers called them) would cut cardboard and fill the compacter. At 8pm everybody was allowed to leave. Except the loaders. Some days I stayed past 9pm to finish loading the trucks.
One day I decided to punch out with everybody else. The next day I was escorted to the HR managers office to explain myself. When I complained I could see it turned into a "me against them" situation, and I promptly resigned.
The truth has to be told so hopefully I can save someone else from damaging their resume.
This company needs to learn the benefits of having happy employees instead of continuing failed management practices that causes high turnover,
  more... low production, and long hours.  less
Pros
You get a paycheck every 2 weeks
Cons
1 hour mandatory lunch off the clock, 2 10 minute breaks, On ten hour day you work 4 hours straight before 10 minute break, Very few people are happy to be there including some managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Retailer
Former Employee (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZDecember 12, 2016
Be prepared to work lots of hours if salaried. Six days is expected and utilization of all vacation time is frowned upon, even though it is a use it or lose it scenario. Overall the company is solid and was a fun environment, but the expectation that work is first everything else is last is unfortunate. Saw many managers and other salaried employees work excessive hours and burn out quick.

Benefits are decent if full time.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers and immediate management are helpful and fun.
Retail Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Tulsa, OKJuly 7, 2016
The immediate management are very supportive and will help you when needed. Also they will let you know when the opportunity arises to move forward or to make myself known for advancement.
Pros
Great coworkers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional work environment and unmotivating
Delivery driver (Former Employee) –  Bellingham, WAJune 28, 2016
- It was very hard to come in for work and be motivated, especially the fact that there is absolutely no benefits and small pay.
- I learned that the other drivers were very unprofessional, like their attitude towards me and sometimes others.
- Manager is a good person and took action asap when I mentioned about an employee giving me a hard time and was't leaving me alone even when I ignored her.
- Hardest part was being motivated around very unmotivated and careless employees. It didn't help being crammed in a small store with a lot of negative attitude.
- I did enjoy meeting new people/customers when I would deliver parts to their shop, they would help me get through the day every time.
Pros
Free lunch on every Saturday.
Cons
No benefits and very small pay for working very hard.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant manager / outside sales
Assistant Manager / Outside Sales (Former Employee) –  CLEARWATER, PALM HARBORJune 23, 2016
Too much time inside and not enough time outside. Commercial customers would be more productive than retail but management could not make up its mind. Also company went back and forth from franchise to company owned stores.
Pros
SALARY + COMMISSION
Cons
TOO MUCH TIME SPENT INSIDE RETAIL
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate frustration
Outside sales (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAFebruary 29, 2016
I was headhunted by General Manager of local distribution center to leave the successful business I had grown in Shaver Lake. I was put into the GPC management training program which was suppose to last from 6 to 12 months before allocation of management position. GM retired after 4 months and new GM denied completion of training program citing budget cuts and placed me in a sales position with no opportunity for advancement.
Pros
Benifits
Cons
Work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and inviting workplace
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Shorewood, WIJuly 27, 2016
Great place to work, very good environment. Worked with great people and was treated with free lunch and company dinners from time to time. Was also praised for doing good work.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work.
Dispatcher / Counterman (Current Employee) –  Alpharetta, GADecember 29, 2015
Very demanding but gives you what you put into it. "Upper management is more worried about change than embracing change". None really if you work hard and do what is asked of you, management will notice you. The job requires long hours at times. It gets difficult to balance work and life. The company sometimes has unrealistic goals when times get slow. Hard work means advancements. Advice to Management, keep up the work and listen to employees they are the ones on the front lines. There's favoritism and management looks the other way.Thanks for giving me the opportunity to work for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A relaxed yet intense workplace
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  South Haven, MIJuly 13, 2016
A typical day at work consists of running the day to day operations of the store. This includes receiving and delivering of parts to customers, filing daily reports, managing employees, answering phone calls and doing end of day reports. The hardest part and most challenging part of my job is, micromanaging. The one thing I enjoy most about my job is when given a difficult problem, being able to come up with a solution that makes the customer happy and benefits the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management does not care about you
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Coppell, TXAugust 11, 2016
They are incredibly unprofessional and there's this one particular supervisor that everyone quits or gets fired because of. He's always on your case and will not hesitate to see you at the door. Overall, I liked the people i worked with. But this supervisor made everyone want to find a new job within a week.
Pros
1hr lunch, co workers
Cons
Stocking supervisor
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun!
Parts Counterman/ Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYJanuary 11, 2017
Loved working here! Pay is increased with every computer training per 1-3 months. People are easy to get along with and are very helpful when needed. Helped start my career in the automotive industry!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Counter Sales/Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Rexburg, IDJune 15, 2016
Wonderful place to work. Great advancement opportunities. Extensive train. Easy raises based on taking test of you knowledge.
Pros
Grat pay
Cons
can be stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 797 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5