Find companies:
Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
558 reviews

Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts United States Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Atmosphere
Driver/Stocker (Former Employee), Minot, NDApril 16, 2015
Pros: Flexibility around family
Napa was an enjoyment place to work. Staff is friendly and inviting to help each other. Fast paced work environment that makes the time go by fast.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee), Cherry Hill, NJApril 14, 2015
Fast pace
Good loyal coworkers willing to help with diffrent projects.
Management is fair and willing to listen to employee ideas
the hardest part is working on the dock due to weather
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Parts
Counterman (Former Employee), Windsor, COApril 8, 2015
• Assisted wholesale and retail customers either in the store or by telephone
• Checking in and stocking freight orders
• Responsible for managing a parts inventory valued at $500k
• Building custom hydraulic/fuel/air hoses
• Operating fork lift to stack pallets and unload freight trucks
• Opening and closing of the store and general up keep
• Up-selling and selling related products to customers
• Troubleshooting customers car problems and ordering correct parts
• Usage of TAMS II program for parts lookup, invoicing and inventory management
• Balancing cash drawer at the end of each day
• Extensive knowledge in parts information and parts look up
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job great customers
Counter Sales (Former Employee), Savannah, GAApril 8, 2015
Pros: fun work enviornment
Cons: no benefits
check voicemail, process internet orders, arrange delivery schedules, put up stock, greet walkin customers, count drawer at the end of the day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and a fun place to work
Inside Sales Associate (Current Employee), Saco, MEApril 7, 2015
Working in the store is pretty laid back, my co workers and I spend a lot of time filling dealership request because of where our store is located. I have only been there for ten months but feel like I have been there forever, my manager is very laid back and tries hard to push everyone to their full potential. The hardest thing about handling parts for dealerships is that sometimes we get things wrong and have to make up our mistakes quickly and it can get very frustrating when it happens more than once, but the flip side to that is we as a group make jokes about it and try to keep the atmosphere as loose and stress free as possible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security
Commercial Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Easton,PAApril 5, 2015
Pros: Job security
I loved to drive and meet different business owners. Co-Workers where easy to get along with. Hardest part working there was leaving
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to learn and work
Auto Parts Specialists (Former Employee), Yarmouth, MAApril 5, 2015
Pros: work environment, humor
Cons: breaks, stress
I really enjoyed working at this company because of the environment and the people I worked with. I learned a lot about auto parts and about equipment in general. My co-workers for the most part were very professional, they had backgrounds in parts. The hardest part of my job would be the endurance of the lifting, moving, and transport of parts. The most enjoyable part was seeing my own progression and being able to help others solve their problems at the most efficient price and most reasonable time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Nitro, WVMarch 31, 2015
Pros: Opportunties, Pay, Challenge, Growth, Exposure
Cons: Moving where ever required to, High pressure
The company is great and takes of their employees. GPC is consistently successful, so it offers good job security. My only criticism is the company decides where you have to relocate to much like the military.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Belleview, FLMarch 25, 2015
as a driver it was a very fun job. when you had long deliveries that would take an hour or so then your day went by really fast. not really too much downtime except fridays when the shops all closed early
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Driver (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHMarch 21, 2015
Pros: you just drive patrs around
Cons: low pay
I had this job for one year while I looked for a job with benefits and opportunity for advancement. The hardest part of this job was trying to get parts to the customer. The most enjoyable part was interaction with the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Enviroment
Bookkeeping Assistant (Current Employee), Casper, WyMarch 19, 2015
Pros: get an 1 lunch
Cons: health insurance premiums
This company is family oriented and is willing to work with all types of schedules. I have wonderful co workers and enjoy the laughter we have around here. There are some stressful situations and it has affected my heath. I try my hardest to do my job and accomplish the task but there are a few that like to control the situation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learning experience dealing with customers
delivery driver (Former Employee), LynnwoodMarch 18, 2015
Pros: good customer services
Cons: short breaks
Show up to the shop and pick up the designated parts and deliver them to our customers. I loved interracting with customers and building long term relationships. the hardest part would be always busy and no breaks
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very down to earth people
delivery driver (Former Employee), Monroe, LAMarch 11, 2015
Napa definitely makes it a goal to please all customers however they can. They have great prices for even walk in customers. Very nice careing people to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'm sure this was a great company to work for in the past.
Applications Specialist (Accounting) (Former Employee), GeorgiaMarch 10, 2015
Long hours. Management does not seek input from employees on how to improve work processes.

Learned how to post customer payments in J,D. Edwards and Peoplesoft.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honest Company
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Rocky Mount, VAMarch 2, 2015
Pros: independent owners
Terrific company that is honest with it's customers. Appreciative of customers. Independent and franchise owners are terrific and treats employee's well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what it would seem .
freight driver (Former Employee), mpls minnesotaFebruary 28, 2015
Pros: steady work & discounted parts
Cons: flat rate pay scale
Be very careful while interviewing as a new delivery driver, They are not completeiy honest with you.

You are offered a salary based on 8 hrs but the drive time alone on the frieght routes are 7 to 8 hours. This does not include unloading & picking up the cores (starters, alternators, other returns ect)

You will be working 10 to 12 hrs each day or more with bad weather or traffic. All of the delivery routes are set up this way which drops your hourly wage around 4 to 6 dollars per hour. As they keep adding to your work duties each day you work longer & longer for less & less . ( this is what they do... no question )

Management & recuiting does not tell you this correctly while interveiwing. They will say your route takes 7hrs, but that's just drive time. They tell you .... you will annually get X amount for the cores coming back. But after all the time in & the inaccurate count by them
Your lucky to half of what your told.. It's very difficult to keep track becouse of the numbers you are handling (& they will take advantage of that.)

The discount on parts is there for you & you hear about that alot.. Just a small % above cost . (This is true but it's not unlimited ).

Keep in mind freight routes are nights but when it's all said & done it's the equivalent alot of day routes elsewhere.

Napa is a average employer with below average pay for their drivers
benefits are average as well. Most of the guys I worked with were unhappy but they were car guys who wanted to be in that industry & were ok with getting some discount parts & had a working spouse so they stuck around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Delivery driver (Former Employee), spokane waFebruary 26, 2015
Management is all about themselves. Benefits were good. Always working on short staff and don't even think of asking for a personal day off. If something isn't right it will be your fault, not management.
Loved working with the other employees and customers. Driving is as fast as you can get away with ( and that isn't always fast enough). No breaks. When you top out, there's no where to go. Good first job if you obey well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knowledgeable about cars
Delivery Driver/Counter Sales (Current Employee), Phelan, CAFebruary 26, 2015
Monday through Wednesday I deliver parts to shops. Keep shelves stocked and put away new stock that has come in. Help with inventory and help customers when needed. Friday and Saturday I work on the sales counter. Answer incoming phone calls from shops and customers for car parts. When slow help put away stock. Also check in any shipments of new stock.

I have learned a lot about car parts and their functions.

Management does not dictate authority well. They are very laid back and pretty much let you do what ever.

Co workers are friendly and very knowledgeable about cars. Unfortunately most of them are lazy when it is slow. They will stand around and talk, text on their phones, watch U tube videos. This is because management does not enforce work guide lines or work ethic.

The job is really not that hard. Hardest part for me is working with lazy co workers.

Most enjoyable part for me is helping customers and learning about cars.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started out good, then not so much
Outside Store Sales Manager (Former Employee), ILFebruary 26, 2015
Pros: hey, it's outside sales.
Cons: hours at more than 55 a week on average, too many chiefs, promises not delivered on.
Talk with store manager about sales area then get selling.

Not much.

After a shift in management, which happens quite often, there was a lot of friction.

Co-workers were supportive and helpful.

Hardest part of the job was dealing with management changes.

The customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee), Kent, WAFebruary 24, 2015
it fun to work there good co worker not so heard works able to do difference thing the hardest part of the job is walking around but use to it the most enjoyable part of the job is every body get along wells with each other.

1 2 3 4 5

Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts Photos

Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts Salaries

Delivery Driver
$9.00 per hour
Store Manager
$40,000 per year
Driver
$8.75 per hour
Assistant Manager
$35,000 per year
Delivery Driver
$18,000 per year