Find companies:
Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
450 reviews

Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely understaffed, Upper management moves too slow to hire replacements for people who left or got discharged
Assistant Store Manager/ Counter Sales (Former Employee), Tucson, AZAugust 7, 2014
Pros: compensation, company products, safety program
Cons: upper management, working conditions, under staffed
Every other week upon opening on the weekends I was the only one answering calls and helping customers. Only one driver was scheduled at times. We still had left over freight to put away by end of day Sunday and still had to recieve over night freight from Friday. Too much for one guy at times. On the other hand, this company has wonderful programs – more... and incentives for both the customers and the employees. They have a great safety program in which every month a prize was given out to one of the employees at our site. Bonuses were nice and so were the of hours of overtime I was alotted as an assistant manager. I learned alot about managing time to do everything that needs to get done and still help out customers with a smile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy and fast paced
Auto Parts Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Myrtle Beach, SCAugust 5, 2014
I learned a lot about the area of Myrtle beach and north myrtle beach
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with a great environment
Counter Sales (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCAugust 4, 2014
Pros: work with school schedules, benefits, consist on breaks
A typical day at work would consist of checking in freight, stocking shelves, answering phones from commercial clients and balancing walk in customers automotive needs. I've been able to learn the ins and outs of management as a whole and how to balance tough situations with difficult clients. Management is always there to promote within given there – more... are opportunities available. Most co-workers I have dealt with always seem to heave a great attitude and enjoy what they do and a day to day basis. The hardest part about the job is not so much balancing your time, but being able to balance your time as well as the clients time so that they can build a relationship with their customers as well. The most enjoyable part about the job as a whole is that you are around automotive parts all day long. To a gear head its always fun to work in a parts house. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a good an exciting job
warehouse work (Former Employee), Jackson, MSAugust 2, 2014
they were good to me regardless how i may feel some people run things different maybe its just me but thank them for the opportunity they gave me but now i must move on good company thank u
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management/ Unorganized/No training
Internal Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCJuly 29, 2014
Cons: poor management/no training program/unorganized
If you are considering working here you need to have some prior knowledge of distribution and automotive parts and products. Do not anticipate any training or assistance in this position. You will be placed randomly in some sector/department that you wont know about till the day you start. The worst part about this branch is the management. There are – more... extreme expectations and management is never available to help. The management here "plays favorites" giving employees unfair treatment based on their personal preferences. There are a few good employees and friendly people in the office and warehouse but beware the management here is the worst I have ever seen in any call center. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Counter/Driver (Current Employee), Seabrook, NHJuly 29, 2014
Pros: great boss
Cons: no benifits
flexible work hours
learned about car parts
learned new things
met new people
enjoy the customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Challenge
Driver (Current Employee), Columbia, SCJuly 27, 2014
Cons: its a job. not a career.
The best part of my job is my relationships with my coworkers as well as my customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Napa is becoming like all the rest
Parts Specialist (Former Employee), Pacific NorthwestJuly 22, 2014
Pros: some good customers that were great people, co workers
Cons: wages, health care, constantly changing schedule, you can be fired at any moment without any warning
To start, I worked for several "privately" owned Napa stores. The GPC stores are NOT what I will be talking about. I have no experience in a GPC (corporate) store.
I was "let go" because of a supposed customer complaint. A complaint that was never substantiated, nor even described. I was one of the higher paid employees for an owner that had 7 stores. – more... In 4 months time, around 10 people were "let go" for the same exact reason, with no explanation given to a single one of them.
They were also some of the highest paid.
Our replacements were all entry level, minimum wage employees.
In general, after working for 3 different owners in 3 years I found that there were maybe 1 in 20 employees that were happy.
My advice: Do not work for napa. They used to be better than their competitors, but are now quickly falling in line with their competitors.

Read other peoples reviews before you consider a career in aftermarket Auto Parts sales. And if you still want to work this type of job, find yourself a decent car dealership to work at. You will have a much happier life.

The above was my experience, and I have met hundreds of former employees that have similar stories. Do some research and save yourself a few wasted years of your life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transported parts ti customers.
Driver (Former Employee), Melbourne, FLJuly 22, 2014
I delivered auto parts all day every day. Great way to stay in shape and learned a lot about vehicles. Co workers were great and helpful. Loved the physical part of the job and kept me in shape. There were no bad parts of this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Selling Auto parts
Counter Salesman (Former Employee), Austin, TXJuly 16, 2014
You learn something new every day. Just love talking cars. Interacting with people is nice and good for you. I did lots of that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Environment
Delivery Driver (Former Employee), London, KYJuly 14, 2014
The people were easy to work with and the co-workers were fantastic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
cashier/ delivery driver (Former Employee), Clayton, GAJuly 11, 2014
The people were nice, staff was great, and it was an enjoyable experience. Learned a lot about mechanical parts. Great place to work overall
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
something new every day
Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Denver, COJuly 10, 2014
Pros: staying busy and meeting new ppl
Cons: sometimes hard to get full time hours
no stop work for the hole shift, manger was nice got to meet new ppl every day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALJuly 9, 2014
Pros: great pay, good morale, supportive management
Cons: long hours, stress from high expectations
If your dedicated, work well with management, and don't mind overtime then you will quickly move up to be a store manager. The pressure comes from both customers and upper management. So stress is very easily something you need to learn how to manage. If sales quotas are met life is good. If not life is bad. Upper management will support you if you – more... take initiative to do a good job. They notice and appreciate hard work. However, if you can't dedicate 60 hours a week to this job then you will burn out quickly and hate it. Napa is the best auto parts company to work for IF you know how to manage office politics and bickering employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff and i loved working there (at first).
Driver/Associate (Former Employee), Fort Myers, FLJuly 8, 2014
Pros: great coworkers, got to drive nearly all day, built relationships with auto shops, parts discounts
Cons: awful management, dwindling hours, outside promoting, short lunch breaks, told to break the law.
This was a franchise store and should not be an overall reflection on Napa as a company.

This was probably my favorite job ive ever had but due to poor vehicle maintenance and new management i had to leave. With the old manager employee morale was high and we all enjoyed doing our jobs and doing it well, a new manager came in with a real bad superiority – more... complex and employee morale plummeted. Even our customers expressed displeasure with the new management and showed that by taking their business elsewhere. Due to the decrease in business our hours started dwindling and i personally was accused of theft (from before the new management showed up) and after he was proven wrong (with a simple phone call to the old manager) he refused to apologize. The manner in which i was accused was very rude and not at all how a manager should treat their employees. I was also told many times to break the law in terms of speeding. The vehicles were poorly maintained despite every driver telling them the issues, i almost got into an accident multiple times due to malfunctioning safety features. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to prove your multitasking abilities.
Parts counter sales (Former Employee), Gilbert, AZJune 30, 2014
Pros: occasional free lunch, great people to work with.
Cons: very hard to get pay raise unless promoted, even then it wasn't much, but more hours.
Love the fast paced business, phones and face to face customer relations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced like any warehouse
Picker/Packer (Current Employee), Spokane, WAJune 28, 2014
Pros: ping pong, parts cheap, we can listen to music
Cons: fast paced
I'm a parts picker and it can be very demanding. there are times when i break out in sweat from the pace I have to move and the steps i have to climb. Overall it's a great endurance workout. But management seems great funny guys and some relatively new in their positions. The warehouse manager is very understanding with schedules. Great place for the – more... college student, pay is decent i suppose but rewarding the longer you stay. Co-workers seem to be very nice and get along but they do seem to talk behind each others back from time to time. overall i would recommend this company to a friend. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helpfull learned many skills
Auto-Mechanic Asst (Former Employee), Yuma, AZJune 27, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Learned many mechanic skills and how to keep and engine clean and running.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
go getter
Stock Clerk/Merchandiser (Former Employee), redding caJune 25, 2014
worked in warehouse was responsible for putting away and retrieving product correctly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Hanford, CAJune 23, 2014
Pros: long lunches, friendly coworkers
Cons: no room for advancement
Napa was fun to work at. Coworkers were fun and friendly and the job went by fast. Everyone was willing to help out too which was great

Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts Photos