Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts

Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts Employee Reviews in United States

Found 735 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management does not care about you
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Coppell, TXAugust 11, 2016
They are incredibly unprofessional and there's this one particular supervisor that everyone quits or gets fired because of. He's always on your case and will not hesitate to see you at the door. Overall, I liked the people i worked with. But this supervisor made everyone want to find a new job within a week.
Pros
1hr lunch, co workers
Cons
Stocking supervisor
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Heavy Duty Business Development Manager (Current Employee) –  Texas and OklahomaApril 22, 2016
The work was Hard but fun. This took my abilities to new level, I was able to create a HD quick reference book for Automotive people. This book covers 85% of questions that are asked ether over the counter or in the field. I was able to grown my skills as a salesman and a manager.

The hardest part of the job was getting my knowledge to over 115 location and being effective with out being on site.

I really enjoyed all of my coworkers both at work and off site.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with.
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Escalon, CAApril 9, 2016
I enjoyed working for the company. The management style was hard to work with. One person as store manager and regional manager. My co-workers were great! very friendly and helpful. I had a flat tire one night after work. They helped me change the tire in the parking lot and used one of the floor model jacks to lift my truck. I made some good friends and I will cherish them all.
Pros
free automotive advise with out being worried about being conned.
Cons
Not enough work hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful but potentially rewarding
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORNovember 5, 2015
The day to day operations can provide a sense of accomplishment, however the management teams, local and regional consistently get in the way of running an optimal store. The district management 'boys club' makes upward advancement almost impossible. If you do manage to move up, expect far more responsibility than what you are being paid for as well as being the scapegoat anytime something goes wrong. My particular store burned through three assistant managers and two store managers in under 2 years. This is by no means rare.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable working environment, little room for creativity
Customer Care Representative (Current Employee) –  Saint Louis Park, MNAugust 7, 2016
Very few advancement opportunities. Mentoring employees is not a priority. You are expected to show up, do your job, keep your head down. Benefits are very good. Processes are bogged down and systems don't communicate well without intense manual entry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant manager / outside sales
Assistant Manager / Outside Sales (Former Employee) –  CLEARWATER, PALM HARBORJune 23, 2016
Too much time inside and not enough time outside. Commercial customers would be more productive than retail but management could not make up its mind. Also company went back and forth from franchise to company owned stores.
Pros
SALARY + COMMISSION
Cons
TOO MUCH TIME SPENT INSIDE RETAIL
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Napa is a great company to work for
Warehouse Associate/Safety Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Romulus, MIJuly 11, 2016
Napa is a great company to work for. Napa has great management in place to help workers succeed at their job. The work at time can be challenging but Napa provides necessary training to help employees do their jobs well.
Pros
Great management
Cons
Low pay for new hires
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable place to work!
counter sales,dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAMarch 11, 2016
Napa is a great company to work for, it's a enjoyable atmosphere! the people there are wonderful to be around all the time.
Pros
bonuses, oppertunity for advancement
Cons
having to send the other dispatcher out on a delivery, it takes two people to run the dispatch at this Napa location.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive enviroment
Counter Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Middletown, CT 06457March 26, 2016
It was a friendly environment with great leadership allowing for many opportunities. I enjoyed the environment and went from being part time to full time in less than two months. The management really took notice of employees who worked hard.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Glass Ceilings
Territory Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  South Plainfield, NJNovember 17, 2015
GPC/NAPA is overall a decent company to work for. Many opportunities afforded to you since their are many avenues you can go down to make a well off career for yourself.

Unfortunately each individual Organization of Napa is made up of DC's abbreviated for distribution centers. Each one is run independently and the General Manager of that center decides on immediate decisions and circumstances of the overall team. Along with that you have clicks amongst piers in the workforce and if you do not fit in, that too can have an overall affect of your advancement within the company.
Pros
gas card, company car, phone allowance, company credit card for work related expenses
Cons
never clear cut directions, many reiterations on what the game plan is, horrible communication with field members, never listen to critiques or comments to help affect buisness strategy
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are looking for stability in a company this is a place to be.
Stockroom Manager (Former Employee) –  Coppell, TXJune 5, 2016
Typical work day was really busy. I learned a lot about the logistics field and management. I enjoyed my co-workers, but some of upper management did poor job of recognizing and appreciating the stockroom management team. They rarely had anything positive to say.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow and promotions are given to favorites.
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Tucker, GAMay 9, 2016
I learned more about car parts and also how to work the counter. Most days are at a steady pace although my store is usually slow compared to others. The hardest part of the job is loading drums of DEF fluid. I did enjoy meeting new people at shops and driving around learning new routes.
Pros
free food, laid back
Cons
slow promotions
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Parts Counter Specialist (Former Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INMarch 23, 2016
Busy. Always had something to do.
I learned a lot about car parts.
Management was great.
Co-workers were helpful.
Hardest part was learning all the product lines.
Most enjoyable was dealing with the local techs.
Pros
Short days
Cons
Place was falling apart
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced automotive and truck parts and accessories sales
Parts Salesperson (Current Employee) –  Cresson, PADecember 12, 2015
Enjoy dealing with both the general public and local shops. Human resources department slow to react. Very knowledgeable and helpful management and co-workers. Every day is a learning experience. Can be difficult to find items that have no actual specified location, or one that is long outdated. Being able to quickly and correctly fulfill the customers needs and expectations.
Pros
Basically clean, well lit facility. Short commute. Dealing with a good cross section of the public on a daily basis
Cons
Not having access to requested items. Lack of space for some operations
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gbusy work days make time fly
Manager (Current Employee) –  Brandon, FLMarch 28, 2016
work days are always busy
learning new computer skills
management is decent
hardest part is traveling to location's 40+ miles one way
satisfying customers need is enjoyable
Pros
lunch free on saturday
Cons
bouncing from diffrent locations
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent
Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 20, 2015
It's a pretty easy job, if you like driving around all day, you'll love this job.Good benefits, fair vacation time, pay decent
This is a great company with lots of room for growth. I loved my time as an employee and would recommend them to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Driver (Former Employee) –  Greenwood,InJuly 14, 2015
My typical day was going in and scanning merchandise in to put into inventory then get merchandise pulled to be delivered . Hardest part of the job was getting everything finished before you set out to make deliveries for the day, enjoyed meeting the customers and find things were to their satisfaction.
Pros
benefits
Cons
healthcare, bonuses
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers and immediate management are helpful and fun.
Retail Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Tulsa, OKJuly 7, 2016
The immediate management are very supportive and will help you when needed. Also they will let you know when the opportunity arises to move forward or to make myself known for advancement.
Pros
Great coworkers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company,nice atmosphere, overall work place
Delivery Representative (Former Employee) –  Pensacola, FLJanuary 3, 2016
clock in, check job tickets, get parts or materials to be delivered load them in vehicle and deliver to destination. I learned time management and was consistency were very important. Management was nice and fair to each employee and co-workers were all pleasant. the job was fairly easy i can't say i can name the hardest part. The most enjoyable part of the job was working around pleasant individuals in a good atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes22No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Challenge
HUMAN RESOURCES MANAGER GENUINE PARTS COMPANY (Current Employee) –  Billings, MTApril 19, 2016
I have loved working at Genuine Parts Company for the last 15 years. I am challenged every day in some positive way. I am surrounded by hard working people whom I admire greatly. I am proof that there are great opportunities for women with Genuine Parts Company.
Pros
Professionally challenged
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 786 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5

Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts Reviews by Location