Find companies:
Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
488 reviews

Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced
Inventory Specialist/ Driver/Counter Person (Current Employee), Charleston, SCJune 11, 2014
Pros: company sponsored lunches every saturday
Cons: work through lunches during the week
Everyone gets along great and always keeps busy. All employees help in dispensing of the daily truck of inventory. Hardest part is working outside to check in daily deliveries that are or more pallets
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some good people work there
Napa Delivery Driver/Customer Care Associate (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJune 11, 2014
Pros: 1 hour luncbreaks
Cons: lazy co-workers
Typically make deliveries to customer accounts unless they needed help in-store with customer service. Working the counter was fun and very interesting. Learning new things and customer interaction is always great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eat, Breath, & Sleep NAPA (whether you like it or not)
Counter Sales/Dispatcher (Current Employee), Kansas City areaJune 11, 2014
Pros: discount parts, (for your vehicle only)
Cons: constant stress, high blood pressure
A typical day at NAPA is to show up about a half hour early, then get hassled by a manager to clock in early, only to later get written up for collecting overtime. You will learn a lot, although one thing they always taught us was to never diagnose customer problems. (think of yourself as the pharmacist, not the doctor) The most enjoyable part for me – more... was occasionally getting into a delivery vehicle and being able to separate yourself from the chaos of the store for perhaps a half hour at a time. The hardest part is knowing that you are completely expendable regardless of your position at any moments notice. This applies to drivers, dispatchers, counterman, assistant managers, and, managers all as a whole. This is not dependent on work ethic, monthly sales, good or bad reviews, customer compliments or complaints. Not a great place for starting a career. Assistant Managers that have been with the company for 20 years, will only make roughly $1-$1.50 more per hour than entry level beginners. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Services a wide range of customers.
Counter Sales Associate (Former Employee), Zionsville, INJune 11, 2014
Pros: vast line of products available for all vehicles and equipment.
Cons: hours almost 24/7
Always something going on. Promotions and sales to help drive the business. Great place to interact with shops and retail customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
picker/ stocker
Warehouse associate (Former Employee), Middletown, DEJune 10, 2014
Pros: great hours, and close to home
Cons: high lay off rate
picked and packed orders for customers. Counted inventory when neccesary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
needs improvement
Outside Sales (Former Employee), Mason City, IAJune 9, 2014
Pros: fun place to work
Cons: sub par wages
the management in this corp was horrible..very low paying job..no chance to move up the ladder..owner would not allow you to pursue new jobs he would give you bad reference
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast pace environment.
Part Time Delivery Job (Current Employee), Cordova, TNJune 6, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule and nice work environment.
Cons: not enough hours.
Delivered parts to customers who placed orders. Included picking up used parts and writing tickets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoy working at napa
Stocker/puller (Former Employee), Oakland, CAJune 2, 2014
working at napa auto parts was a good place to work I learned a lot at napa auto parts. I like working in a warehouse I enjoy it and learned a lot from my co workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Contractor (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 31, 2014
Pros: work environment, it management team, lots of opportunities to learn new technologies
Cons: few opportunities for professional advancement
Great place to work. Few opportunities for advancement, but great management team in place for leading the company with new Business Intelligence capabilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Counter Sales (Former Employee), Manhattan, KSMay 27, 2014
Pros: working hours were great.
Cons: management could have been more organized.
Typical day at work was to help customers find the right parts for their vehicles or for their work equipment. I learned a lot about agricultural parts, machine parts, and building high pressure hoses. The people I worked with were nice and very helpful when I need it. The hardest part of the job was dealing with unhappy customers, but at the same time – more... solving the customers issues was most rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team atmosphere with different challenges each day. Upward mobility very obtainable.
Sales Manager (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALMay 27, 2014
Typically a day at work consisted of travelling to appointments previously made with either existing customers or new business development opportunities. The hardest part of the job was overcoming financial hardships of the small business customer base. The most enjoyable part of the job was working in a team environment and helping small business owners – more... be successful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company but I would like to get back to AZ.
District Sales Manager (Current Employee), Des Moines, IAMay 26, 2014
Pros: comp. car, set my own schedule
Cons: set my own schedule, not allowed to transfer to az.
Typical day at work depended on the need. Somedays I would be training while others I would be doing cold calls and sales.

I learned a lot on a truck shop needs on a day to day basis.

I have great co-workers. We help each other out when we need it.

The hardest part of the job is the hours needed to stay on top of everything.

The best part of the – more... job is the teaching and the closing of the sale. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you like dealing with public.
Driver, Asst. Manager, Store Manager (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARMay 25, 2014
Pros: flexiblity
Cons: having to protect the company yet pacify customers
I enjoyed working at NAPA. I was able to advance in my job due to the on-line and classroom training and my willingness to learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
DELIVER DRIVER (Current Employee), Cañon City, COMay 24, 2014
Pros: out of office, chance to learn
Cons: little benifits
Great People and hours. I just wish those hours could work around school. Oppertunity to advance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst professional mistake ever
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Current Employee), atlanta gaMay 18, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: everything else
No chance for advancement unless you're willing to be married to the company. I was actually told that my family would "have to learn to live with my new committment"
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Actual Job
Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAMay 14, 2014
Pros: i could dicounts on car parts
Cons: had to be managment to get benifits
delivery driver.
learded about car parts
managment was cool but cursed a lot
coworkers easy to work with.
hard part was moving tracktor batteries 120bls each
enjoyable part pay day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job with bad management
Sales (Former Employee), Leadington, MOMay 13, 2014
Pros: good hours, travel and customers
Cons: no insurance, not a full time job, bad management
Get to work of a morning and start organizing stock waiting for parts deliveries and gone most the day delivering.

That managers are not always fair to employees that work hard.

Management did little of their job rather had his wife doing the job of 3 people including a lot of hit responsibilities while on craigslist looking for vehicles. Then hired – more... a friend who was fired from another job and did not have same expectations for him as myself so, I was left doing a lot of the work while he set up front with boss.

Only a few of us and other than the manager they were good.

Hardest part of job was watching the manager be unfair.

Delivering parts and meeting customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoy working and helping people
Counter Sales Associate (Current Employee), coventon paMay 11, 2014
getting in to work and facing the store so it looks ready for the day. start answering the phone and helping people find and get what they want. working with my coworkers is a pleasure because we all get along and help each other out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and busy place to be up on your feet all day
Merchandiser (Former Employee), GUMay 11, 2014
I would work after school, on the weekend, or any breaks. when I go into work I stock the shelves, make the store look full and neat. I'll clean around the store. Help customers, pull parts, and help co-workers. I've learned about many different parts, parts cleaners and tools. I never had any problems with the management or employees. The hardest part – more... of the job was not getting paid, it was an internship. The best part was the experience I had in that type of work place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Memphis, TNMay 9, 2014
Answer over 40 calls a day from AARP customers

Medical Billing and coding, claims, claims and records coding, and file transcription

Enroll customers in affordable Medicare plans

Explain in great detail how the part D plan (paying an pharmacy locations)

Calculating customers total drug cost and helping them save

Solved all customer related issues – more... professionally and ensured customer satisfaction – less

Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts Photos