George Mason University Employee Reviews

Found 269 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  VAAugust 16, 2017
It was a great place to work but my job required to do technical things as well as manage the office. Therefore, it was very hectic and stressful. It was far from my house and the traffic was terrible. I found a better job and left.
Pros
Nice environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is productive work environment
SharePoint Developer and Admin support (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAAugust 1, 2017
It is George Mason Universit where you are respected and treated as important all the time. I believe it was an awesome opportunity for most working at GMU as it is for me.
Cons
Salary can be better
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Desk Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJuly 27, 2017
Great place to work. Lots of opportunities for students if you look for them. Just reach out and someone will help you even if it is just work study. I loved it
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time
Dance Instructor (Former Employee) –  Manassas, VAJuly 25, 2017
I liked my job as a dance instructor. I had only a student part time job so I didn't receive any benefits and I was not payed enough to cover all expenses.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun club to be part of
Crew Vice Captain (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJuly 24, 2017
The Love Your Melon Campus Crew at George Mason University gave me the opportunity to help improve my project management skills while also helping out children with cancer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gmu
Scholarship Officer (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJuly 18, 2017
As a scholarship officer I enjoyed volunteering for GMU. Again, my position was volunteer so I was not paid. I enjoyed helping students navigate course selection.
Pros
Everything
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wha?
Research Assistant (AR) (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VA 22030July 15, 2017
what's this for; if you were going to make it a requirement, you should give better instructions.

more words, and even more, words.... words, words, characters, and letters.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work at
Lab instructor (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJuly 6, 2017
Students are good, and professor let you teach with minimal interference. I was a TA and was resposible for teaching labs, grading assignments and exams.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching a Class
Mentor (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJuly 4, 2017
I instructed a class on the basics of computer game making. For example, I showed them how to create a character and simple movement mechanics of the created character.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Writing tutor - Engineering (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJune 28, 2017
The other students there are very nice and helpful. The schedule is very flexible and they allow you to take days off as needed. It gives a sense of accomplishment and fulfillment when helping other students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people, disorganized administration
Postdoctoral Research Fellow (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJune 27, 2017
Nice people. The administration is really disorganized. When they hire you or plan out what to do with personnel, it takes them about 10 tries to get anything right. Compared with other universities, I think they could improve their organization.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
odd work culture
Teaching Assistant and Tutor (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJune 12, 2017
Administration seems to be most concerned with quantity of programs instead of asking about effectiveness or efficiency of programs. If you can play ball and swallow pride on producing something that works, you can succeed.
Pros
flexible, nice people
Cons
personal and group politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Convenient for a student
Desk Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJune 6, 2017
It was a great job for a student to make some extra spending money. It is really easy to pick up on all the tasks and the management is AMAZING! They are also really big on confidentiality because you were dealing with student information.
Pros
Worked with schedules, management, free food
Cons
late/early shifts (ex: 12am-8am)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reasonable
Adjunc Faculty (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAJune 5, 2017
This is a nice school and good to work.However, the problem is for adjunct professors, students really don't like the adjuncts, and students population is very different, and their expectations are different.
Pros
Students population is complex
Cons
Limited jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super fun
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJune 4, 2017
I was a TA at GMU. This is super fun and I'd suggest it to anyone. If you want to become a teacher or professor in the future then you should become a TA.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Worker
Library Assistant (Current Employee) –  Manassas, VAJune 4, 2017
I was a student worker in a library and as far student positions go I maintained a steady amount of hours and received better pay than previous jobs I have held.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Culture
Social Media/Marketing Consultant (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAMay 31, 2017
Good culture to work in
Typical day was casual paced
Management in my department was not very organized and didnt communicate well so it made my job harder
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional Experience
Assistant Professor (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAMay 28, 2017
Working at George Mason University has been an exceptional experience. My contract, however is 9 month, and am looking for summer teaching positions to supplement my income.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed Desk Work
Mason Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAMay 23, 2017
I had many opportunities to complete school work while working every desk job that I had at George Mason. The atmosphere was always quiet and relaxed. I would recommend working here to others
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging department with opportunities for study abroad
French Coordinator and Term Assistant Professor (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAMay 21, 2017
Engaging language department with opportunities to teach a variety of courses in language and culture and lead study abroad programs. Some opportunities to supervise graduate research
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at George Mason University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 270 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.9
Culture
4.1

George Mason University Reviews by Location