Find companies:
Georgia-Pacific
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
503 reviews

Georgia-Pacific Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job life and life balance
Machine and Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Rincon, GAJune 11, 2014
Pros: team work among employees and a great education for production work.
Cons: clicks in management
Working 7 to 7 days or nights depending on rotation becomes difficult not only on the body, but on the mind as well. I worked for Georgia Pacific for 17 years and decided it was time for a change in careers primarily because of the hours and the toll it was taking on my family. The benefits were great, I did not have to worry about what doctor my wife – more... and kids had to go to; it was covered. Management was somewhat different. It seemed no matter how education you had, you could not move into a supervisor position because of the clicks the plant had formed. The job culture was challenging, but at the end of the day a person could feel they had accomplished something productive. I left the company with the promise of a supervisor position at EFACEC Power Transformer which never happened. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NICE PACE TO WORK
MANUFACTERING (Current Employee), Fort Smith, ARJune 8, 2014
TIME RECORD A GOOD PLACE TO WORK BUT I FEEL THE NEED TO FIND OTHER THINGS I CAN DO OVERALL I RATE VERY NICE TMPANY ON THE SCALE FROM 1-10 I WOULD GIVE THEM A 8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a bad time to be under schooled.
Wide Winder Operator (Former Employee), Plattsburgh, NYJune 8, 2014
Pros: union
Cons: union
Great and interesting place to work. 2009 was a rough year, but I kept progressing after being laid off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
when we have a good nite with no plug ups
Utility Worker/ dryer feeder (Former Employee), Diboll, TXMay 28, 2014
most enjoyable part of the job is when the company give us dinners
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety Management
Safety Manager (Current Employee), Blue Rapids, KSMay 24, 2014
Pros: great management philosophy
Very detailed managemnt of all applicable safety programs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hot with a day that seems to go on forever
Raw Material Handler (Current Employee), Cuba, MOMay 21, 2014
Pros: good pay, good people to work with
Cons: long hours, dusty workplace
A typical day at work is hard and long.
I've learned many things at Georgia pacific, how to run a hydraulic press, how to run a dryer things like that. Management are good people who try very hard to help their employees. My co-workers are good people who look out for their fellow employees. The hardest part of my job is learning how to deal with our – more... breaking equipment.The most enjoyable part of my day is when someone tells me I'm doing my job well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun learning experience
Line Technician (Former Employee), Easton, PAMay 21, 2014
Pros: good people and great friends
Cons: hr, and the workers that are slackers
I worked 12 hour night shifts. It was a big learning experience everytime i walked through the dorr bc you never never what was going on with all the break downs on machine. this is how i learned so much to where i am today and I thank all the mechanics that took me under their wing when the best crew was there when i was employed with Georgia Pacific. – more... Manage was good and very helpful in a team eniviroment except the HR personell and I glad he got fired. The hardest part of the job was the summer heat. Unbarable in the plant. But they did let us get heat breaks which we all enjoyed in the work place. I was defiantley nice to learn as much as I did. Thank you to all mechanics that got me to be so mechanically inclinded to persue a great career with motivation. You all the best.!!!!!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
solid company taken to private status ib 2006
Account Manager (Former Employee), Eastern U.S.May 19, 2014
Pros: professional organization
Cons: koch buyout
I had a great 20 year career at GP that ended in 2006 wgen they were taken pricate by the Koch Industrues buyout in 2006
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A family oriented Company
Customer Service II (Former Employee), Modesto, CAMay 15, 2014
Pros: tons of opportunities
I could multi-task all day long in an environment where I developed very strong time management and critical thinking skills. I learned to be extremely detailed. I enjoyed working in a diverse work environment. The most challenging thing was letting go of certain accounts when they moved to another desk because I cared and genuinely had a an ongoing – more... interest in the customer's needs. At the end of the day I was alway satisfied because I did the best I could do that day to ensure my part in the company's success! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
EHS SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Fort Smith, ARMay 15, 2014
Decent company. They pay a good wage and will give you lots of training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment in which one can create value through the development of personnel and improve processes.
Logistics Department Performance Leader (Current Employee), Rincon, GAMay 14, 2014
Pros: technology has consistently added skill sets to personnel.
Cons: organization currently going through restructure due to added capital.
My role as Performance Leader (middle manager) in Logistics Department entails:
Responsibility for conveyor/palletizing system and 28 operators, an automated warehosue system with a fleet of 42 lazer guided vehicles and eight technicians. Provided leadership and guidance to four crew Supervisors and seven operators and technicians. The most challenging – more... part of the job is cascading the competitive demands of the organization to the floor level and instill a culture of ownership. The most enjoyable part of the job is the interaction and development of the personnel. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work for
Corrugator (Former Employee), Batavia, OHMay 6, 2014
Pros: catering for great job performance
Cons: no free lunches if someone had accidents
good safety committee, great supervisors, good communication, friendly atmosphere
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Double Backer Oporator (Former Employee), Circleville, OHMay 6, 2014
Pros: cable tv in the break room
Cons: management could know a little more about whats going on on the floor.
The employees are who make the day seem short, its a very hot environment in the summer. the most enjoyable part of the job is knowing all the companies you have served,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile and managed by fear
Manager Purchasing & Stores (Former Employee), Brookneal, VAMay 5, 2014
Cons: no leadership or values
Learned that even if a company wants to have a work place with values if the maagement team does not adhere to these values it creates a very hostle work place and stops retention of persons that want to do the right thing and add value to the site and company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be a good place,
Team Leader (Former Employee), Tacoma Wash.April 28, 2014
Was an excellent place to work, management has taken it in a new direction that does not include respect, or integrity. People worked as a team before, now everyone is ducking and covering. Trying not to get reprimanded or fired Everyone is on overtime, sometimes as much as a month in row with no days off and 12 hour shifts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment
Accounting Assistant (Former Employee), Thorsby, ALApril 24, 2014
Pros: assisting patients, close to home, pleasant coworkers
Cons: compensation wasn't very good
I enjoyed working at Anderson Eyecare because there was a very enjoyable work environment and I also enjoyed helping the patients with whatever needs they may have
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Line Operator/ Safety Lead (Current Employee), Madison, GAApril 23, 2014
Pros: free water
Cons: short breaks
The hardest part of my job is going to work dealing with disrespectful co worker
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The MBM philosophy at times becomes more of a nagging philosophy than a benefactor for development
Project Engineer (Former Employee), Pennington, ALApril 23, 2014
Pros: it's a job!
Cons: too many to mention
This was my first job coming out of college. A lot of training was promised as well as a professional development plan but none of it was delivered after I sign on. The management, at least where I worked was real unprofessional. Therefore I did my time and left as soon as I could. I wouldnt recommend this company to any of my friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worth the compensation.
Machine Operator/Technician (Former Employee), Sheboygan Falls, WIApril 22, 2014
The work you performed was not too boring nor was it exciting. Management was disrespectful and unwilling to understand problems that arise in a persons life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Environment, Fun, Demanding,
Mechanical Systems Operator (Former Employee), Kansas CityApril 16, 2014
Pros: benifits, meals
Cons: manditory overtime, few breaks (corrigator side)
Typical day entails running machinery and providing quality checks of your product. Also, preventative maintenance and,lock out tag out procedures.

Learned to work safely as this is the most important issue.

Management is goal oriented, but also honest and fair.

Hardest part of working here is being able to work 12 hours a day and sometimes weekends.

Most – more... enjoyable part about working here is meeting your goal, surpassing expectations, and setting new goals. – less

About Georgia-Pacific

What's on Georgia-Pacific's mind? A whole lotta¬†different products, that's what. Georgia-Pacific (GP) is one of the leading tissue – Read more

Georgia-Pacific Photos