Georgia-Pacific Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i was a machine operator
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Muskogee, OKJanuary 20, 2018
I learned to work safe and put out a quality product. I honed my mechanically skills. I ran several machines that were tied to my line very efficiently. I also learned some computer skills there. The hardest part of the job was working twelve hours at night, I don't care who you are, you will be tired at three am, its just the way it is. The most enjoyable part of the job was we got seven days off in a row, which you could get a lot done in those days off. The rules seem to change a lot and you weren't always aware of the changes.
Pros
we go lunch served every once in a while
Cons
no christmas bonus
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Sergeant( Assistant Account Manager) (Former Employee) –  GeorgiaJanuary 20, 2018
I hate the plant closed. Plywood Division closed down. It was a great environment to work in. Everyone was friendly. Great part about it. You can get as must overtime as possible.
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Plant closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding work environment
Operations (Former Employee) –  Tacoma, WAJanuary 20, 2018
A typical day entails meeting daily goals in an ever changing work environment with challenges to continually step up the game. Opportunities to get involved and compensated are numerous. Leadership support is easy to find. Entrepreneurial mindset and flexibility is a must. Clash of cultures exist.
Pros
Good pay, benefits, performance pay, growth opportunity
Cons
Job security and stability are always in a flux
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
put in the time it allows you to have a great quality of life financially
Pulp Dryer Operator (Former Employee) –  Pennington, ALJanuary 20, 2018
This job is great place to work. If you are able to stay there, it gives you a great quality of life financially.The only draw is you spend more time at the job, and not that much time with family. You are compensated financially for your time away.
Pros
great job, great benefits
Cons
limited time with family
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay is ok but upper management is clueless
Foreman/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Quanah, TXJanuary 20, 2018
All upper management are hired on straight from college, mostly middle Eastern. This job is just a stepping stone for anyone with inelegance. You are micromanaged, new boss at least every year and each have different ways of running the plant so there's no consistency. Hourly employees and supervisors are constantly threatened and fear losing their jobs. Not family oriented, your expected to spend at least 12 hours a day and work your days off or be called in to cover shifts because the call in rate and turnover rate is extremely high because of the working conditions. Divorce rate is about 80%, if your married when you start at GP, you will be single within a year.
Pros
Decent pay and free boots every year.
Cons
Limited if any breaks, no family time, harsh working conditions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of hard work
Performance Leader (Current Employee) –  Clatskanie, ORJanuary 19, 2018
This has been, and still is, a good place to work. I have enjoyed my time here and have learned a lot. Not everyone feels the same way I do, but I still think there are a lot of great things about working at Georgia Pacific.
Pros
Opportunity for advancement, constant learning and growing, MBM philosophy aligns well with my own
Cons
Negative workforce, union environment creates a "us vs. them" mentality
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Process Control Engineer (Current Employee) –  Dudley, NCJanuary 19, 2018
Good place to with good benefit. Heavy equipment. Big focus on safety. Will recommend the company. Lot of different opportunities to move up within but for salary people these opportunities require travel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned a lot but the cons offset the entire experience
EHS Manager (Former Employee) –  Taylorsville, MSJanuary 18, 2018
I was surprised that the MBM principles could not be accepted and nurtured at the facility level because they were a good idea and a good goal to shoot for. Facility upper Management was non-cooperative and turf protective and even some times dishonest. It was a shame because many of the actual facility workforce were very cooperative and would answer questions openly and truthfully. At Taylorsville, MS it was difficult to attract the best talent and therefore Management thought they were exempt from being cooperative.
Pros
lots to do and always busy
Cons
Upper Management was too secretive and turf protective
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned alot
Millwright (Former Employee) –  Brookneal, VAJanuary 18, 2018
lot of heavy work both inside and outside work.Offers opurtunity to watch the process of bringing in logs at one end of plant and the evolution it takes to becoming OSB and shipped at the other .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment
Senior Systems Analyst (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 17, 2018
The management and company culture declined severely after the Koch buyout. Many positions eliminated and workload passed on to remaining employees. Reduced training opportunities and reduced employee benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard place to work
N/A (Current Employee) –  Albany, GAJanuary 17, 2018
A lot of twelve hour shifts. No bonus or incentives any more. Constant propaganda. Always work some or all of your weekends. Holiday weekends often shortened.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rural
Buyer (Former Employee) –  Madison, GAJanuary 16, 2018
GP is located in a very rural area of GA and you can tell it. However they were some of the best people I have ever worked with and I wouldn't trade the experience for nothing in the world.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a great place to work.
Worker (Former Employee) –  Quanah, TXJanuary 16, 2018
New management came in to change the culture without giving a clear picture of what individuals needed to do to stay. The work itself and the employees on the floor were great to work with. Turnover rate due to expectations and not enough time off resulted in more time at work and less time off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best job ever
Saw mill (Former Employee) –  McCormick, SCJanuary 16, 2018
Utility, I love to have this job back. I had to walk around 7 clean up. That is simple, couldn't be any easier. The only thing about it, They do not do rehires. Every attitude was nice till i went to the saw mill
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Things went from bad to worse
H/R Administrator (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 16, 2018
Things went from bad to worse under new management. It's always difficult when a new company buys you out and comes in wanting to change everything you do and ho you do it.
Pros
The old culture was fantastic and conducive to the employees
Cons
Management is poor and wont take suggestions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working company
Utility Operator (Former Employee) –  Emporia, VAJanuary 16, 2018
Start out with hall meeting its a fast work pace. Only thing i didn't like about it was getting on top of machinery remove hang ups.The best part of the day was we had classes and meeting on.Learning and advancing your skills help us to perform our job better. The more you know on safety the more you can help co-workers. And keep everyone safe.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Guiding Principles, but Perversely Practiced
Sr. Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 15, 2018
All Koch Industries companies operate under a set of guiding principles, the MBM Guiding Principles, which at first glance appear to be how most people would claim to live their daily lives. The first two principles, Integrity and Compliance, are the most important. Violation of these will cost one his/her job. Being honest and upright, while obeying all laws and policies, and one is certain to succeed. Principle 3 is to Create Value, which any business will claim is what they strive to do - value for their customers, their shareholders, their employees, etc. However, the only value that counts for anything in the Koch Industries world is that which can be physically quantified in the form of dollars. They pride themselves on the idea of "Creative Destruction", which translates into the idea of making a profit at all costs. Close the facility, eliminate jobs, walk away from anything or sell to another if there is money to be made by doing so. The business is 100% focused on chasing profits at all costs. Human capital is highly expendable. Knowledge and Experience capital have no value. Employment preference is to hire young, eager college graduates at a minimal wage, work them until they burn-out and leave, then replace them with more eager college graduates to repeat the process. They'd rather not have to "retrain" a seasoned employee into their interpretation of their MBM way of thinking. The truth is that while the principles are noble on paper, the actual practice of them in real life is quite perverse. The "re-investing 90% of profits back into the company" translates  more... into improving the business, or expanding through acquisitions, to make more money. While most companies would invest some of that money into employee training, expanded benefits and perks, making their company really stand out and desirable for would-be employees...this doesn't happen in the Koch world. An employee's "benefit" from profits is having a job, and one is expected to be thankful for that. Pay raises can be attained, but normally through the most difficult circumstances. The company claims to reward employees for hard work and creating value, while at the same time reminding everyone that these are expected with your employment. Many people are often coached in reviews that, while they might be expecting a raise for recognition of a job well done, what they have accomplished is actually "meeting expectations" of the company. Bonuses are virtually non-existent for the average employee. In many ways, one may come to believe that management may get bonuses for keeping their payrolls low and steady. The experiences I write about are from the Corporate Capabilities perspective, and may differ for employees working in business roles, generating profits through the sales of the company's products. Employment experience is very similar to a caste system...those who generate profits and those who don't, only providing support. Again...it's all about tangible profits.

This company was a very desirable place to work when it was a public company, and the business culture valued all employees and their efforts. After becoming a private company, it is not a place where I'd want to start a new job.
  less
Pros
Very little chance the company will go bankrupt
Cons
Very likely that burn-out will be experienced
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Dryend tender (Former Employee) –  Toledo, ORJanuary 14, 2018
Very long hours and work weeks, good ol boy system . Does not adhere to compliance standards only when it is convenient to the parties involved. Not reward in atcall
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced job with good management and benefits
Stacker/QC (Former Employee) –  Milford, NJJanuary 14, 2018
The job at Georgia Pacific was a good job that had good management and good benefits for your entire family. At Georgia Pacific you have to learn and excel at working as a team in a fast paced environment and have good communication skills. Overtime is mandatory when another worker from another shift calls off or is on vacation as well as other times throughout the year. One of the downsides to the hours is never fully knowing what hours you are going to work and sporadic Saturdays that are mandatory on unexpected weekends.
Pros
Overtime/Free lunches if production goal is met
Cons
Sporadic hours including unexpected Saturdays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rotating shifts
Utility Operator (Current Employee) –  Camas, WAJanuary 13, 2018
Shift are not fun 7 days in a row. Grave, swing and days all in the same month. You don’t have a good home life. At work a lot. Good pay and a good job
Pros
Good job, good pay
Cons
Bad shifts, not much of home life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Georgia-Pacific. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,606 reviews
5417
4521
3369
2155
1144

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture