Georgia Department of Education Employee Reviews

Showing all 8 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Life Balance Great
Accountant Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 18, 2015
Work life balance is excellent. Team work is a plus. Job security is also a plus. However, there isn't a large work load and not much room for advancement unless someone leaves.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training Specialist
Training Specialist (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 24, 2015
Learned a lot and management was very Cooperative and it was a very competitive environment
Was this review helpful?Yes9No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assessment Specialist (Project Manager) (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 21, 2014
In the role of Assessment Specialist for the Georgia Department of Education in the Office of Assessment and Accountability, my responsibilities were to manage the RFP creation process, budget $2.2 million dollars, and served as lead contact for the creation of 1700 items and task to support common core grades 3-12. I’ve composed, revised, and edited state and federal correspondence needed to support transparency and accountability for the project. I also collaborated with various departments within the DOE to assure accurate alignment and deployment of items and task.
Was this review helpful?Yes19No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I feel my job is a very fulfilling job.
Parent Advisor for Georgia PINES (Current Employee) –  Clarkston, GAFebruary 21, 2014
I am able to work at my full time job and do this job on the side. It is a great job and I love working with the families.
Pros
it is a wonderful feeling to help others.
Cons
there aren't any.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyed working with the staff
Secretary 2 (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 6, 2012
For this company, assisted in coordinating the monthly meetings and work of the five (5) Regional Support Teams (RSTs) across the state to plan, implement, and monitor the work of the Statewide System of Support in providing direct services to schools based on identified areas of academic need. I learned alot as far as what the schools needed for improvement.
Pros
learning alot about the school system
Cons
supporting everyone in the regional support teams
Was this review helpful?Yes18No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Politics at it's best! Loved greeting many guests!
Personal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Atlanta GAJuly 31, 2012
Filing- phones - people gretting - hosting luncheons - scheduling events, booking rooms for meetings. organizing functions, schedule travel.

Favorite - the people!
Least Favorite - being very quiet! LOL -
Pros
being a part of our state education system
Cons
inconvenience of parking in a garage downtown atlanta
Was this review helpful?Yes10No5

Comment – October 9, 2012

I like quiet. To much noise is not always good and professional.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment
Financial Worker (Former Employee) –  Atlanta GADecember 29, 2011
Opportunity to work with a vast variety of people, and to learn about all the different programs operated by GADOE
Pros
good benefits-family comes first
Cons
budget constraints
Was this review helpful?Yes23No4

Want to know more about Georgia Department of Education?

Ask a question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 8 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture