Georgia Department of Human Resources Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 17 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, low pay
Temp. Program Associate (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 20, 2014
Great job with great people. Pay is kind of low for the type of job. No advancement opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work.
Medicaid Eligibility Specialist - RSM (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 19, 2014
Excellent benefits. Excellent place to work. Professional.
Pros
professional.
Cons
none.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able to advance
Telecommunications Technician (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 16, 2014
Provide mobile phone to users
Reviewed contract of outside vendors
Troubleshoot phone problems
Review state phone bills for accuracy
Assist with the set up of phones
Pros
travel
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very diverse
FICM1/PO1 (Former Employee) –  Fitzgerald, GANovember 19, 2013
Always helpful upper management.
I learned so many people skills that are transferrable to life outside of work!
The hardest part of the job was seeing so many people out of work after decades because the economy was terrible.
The best part of the job was knowing I was working with a great team
Pros
government benefits
Cons
it was only part time
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for the State
RSM Outreach Project Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GASeptember 4, 2013
In my past six years of working with the state it has been a challenge. Since the first day I walked through the door at my DFCS office you're challenged with exemplyfying excellent customer service, maintain a high count caseload as you assist needy families and you're held to a high standard for accuracy. The hardest part of my job has been declining assistance to people who truly need it. The most enjoyable part is assisting families with children with both federal and state benefit programs.
Pros
state holidays
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, good place to grow
Family Independence Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Canton, GaJuly 27, 2013
This is a great place from which to learn and grow professionally. At this time, there are some major changes that are happening to help increase worker productivity and alleviate the burden of the growing case work the workers normally see.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Economic Support Specialist
Economic Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 19, 2013
Very dedicated and supportive co-workers
Stressful environment
Management supportive
Enjoyed being able to help people in need
Pros
helping people in need
Cons
pay is very low
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay is low but the job is fulfilling
Medicaid Eligibility Specialist (Current Employee) –  Dallas, GAApril 5, 2013
Co-workers and management are amazing. There have been no pay raises in years and the cost of benefits has doubled. There is great satisfaction in helping the clients with their needs.
Pros
personal satisfaction in helping others
Cons
low pay and high cost benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough hours in the day to do all needed.
General Clerk II (Current Employee) –  Albany, GASeptember 5, 2012
Clients are usually waiting on us when we arrive for work. Our two busiest times of the year are in July/August for the back to school time and then again in Sept/Oct/ Nov for the Flu season. We are always working in the field doing daycare and school audits and off site flu/ hepatitus/tetnus clinics.
Pros
retirement benefits, paid leave and holidays.
Cons
no raise in last 5 years.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eccellent employee with leadership skills
Senior Payroll Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 28, 2012
Challenging, Implentation Team leader for PeopleSoft Payroll/HR
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressfull yet rewarding
Case Manager-Contractor (Former Employee) –  Marietta, GAAugust 17, 2012
Working at DFCS was very stressful yet rewarding because you are able to help children and families in need.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable work environment
Program Assistant (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 6, 2012
This was my first job when I moved to Atlanta. I learned a great deal of ethics and skills in order for me to move on to more State Agencies. Management was very helpful in assuring that I learned all I could for me to possibly move on. I assisted Babies Can't Wait and Children's Medical Services in provided the necessary information and resources for the Special Needs children of Georgia.
Pros
helping the children with special needs, providing the help and reources
Cons
when a child or family is no longer eligible for services.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace Workforce
Administrative Clerk II (Former Employee) –  Marietta, GAAugust 5, 2012
Day to Day workload. Ordering and assisting staff with thier needs.
Pros
great excerise
Cons
miniumun employee incentives
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great experience
Foster Care Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 2, 2012
Working for them was a great experience,it taught me management and the importance of documentation. I learned to coordinate with my team and how to prioritize my work.
Pros
flexible schedules
Cons
long hours in courts waiting
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Social Services
Social Services Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Augusta, GAJuly 19, 2012
Tough environment but because of the nature of the job; however management adhered to policies and procedures accurately.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My day atwork
Internship - Office Worker (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 3, 2012
Early morning, I gained a lot of clerical work experience. The co-workers I worked with were very friendly and welcoming. The hardest part was learning how to fix broken websites on the intranet. The most enjoyable part was learning something new week.
Pros
hour long luch
Cons
long day
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.9
Culture
3.9

Georgia Department of Human Resources Reviews by Location