Find companies:
Georgia Department of Human Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17 reviews

Georgia Department of Human Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for the Human Services in Georgia
Case Manager (Current Employee), Decatur, GAOctober 14, 2014
Pros: flexible lunches
Cons: strenuous issues within upper management
A typical day at work it very hectic. It requires multi-tasking and prioritizing multiple things in one day. I learned more about the foster care system and the responsibilities of a Human Service worker.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ficm I
Family Independence Case Manager I (Former Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 22, 2014
Pros: helping eligible families locate supporting programs to better themselves
Cons: temporary employment
Assess clients’ needs and establish eligibility for benefits and services such as food stamps and Medicaid.
Manage high volume caseload of clients on a daily basis.
Provide emotional support to clients and report progress to supervisors and administrative managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
regional receptionist/administration (Current Employee), Rome, GAAugust 20, 2014
i liked my job, the staff, managers, and clients.
The hardest thing was that my job is a new position that was created in April of this year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace
Enforcement Specialist (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 3, 2014
I can use one word to describe how a typical work day at work would be:Busy; I have learned a lot of information to move forward in my career. I can use two words to describe management “take actions”. I can use one word to describe co-workers "resourceful". The hardest part of the job is dealing with the ADA. The most enjoyable part of the job is the – more... training. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Economic Support Specialist (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 18, 2014
Pros: flexibility
Cons: low staff
This company was a true blessing and it gave me the true skills needed to pursue a career in my field of choice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to learn about child welfare
Program Consultant (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 27, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, fitness center
Cons: n/a
Managing every facet of the Wednesday's Child program, i.e. Producing segments, manage/report program data/outcomes, manage program budget, plan and execute special events, plan and execute annual recruitment strategy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Fiscal Contract Specialist (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 17, 2014
n/a

Tell us about:

a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stressful
Bilingual Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 9, 2014
Cons: horrible
Typical Day at Work was working from home, Management are corrupt people and they don't care about their employees. Horrible how they treat people that apply for benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Loved the work schedule flexibility
Economic Supprt Specialist (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 14, 2014
Great place to work. Loved the work schedule flexibility. It was short tenured due to downsizing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Social Services environment
Social Services Case Manager (Current Employee), Decatur, GADecember 23, 2013
Pros: full time position with benefits
Cons: overworked, underpaid
So disorganized and chaotic. There are hardworking people who are over worked, underpaid. Management tries to empathize and does their best. The turnover is too high.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and always something to do.
Supervisor (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 18, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: long days
Overall rating of the company is that its a nice place to work and learn and able to grown within the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Busy and High Productivity
Financial Operations Generalist (Former Employee), 2 Peachtree Street, Atlanta, GA 30303June 6, 2013
Pros: planning social events, pleasing my customers and knowing i did my very best.
Cons: lack of growth and being given more responsibility.
A typical day at work was very busy. Heavy customer service, budget management, business coding and problem solving to accurately meet payment requirements were normal daily tasks. I learned to be a great listener, to think outside the box to solve problems and to take good care of my internal/external customers. My supervisor was great to work with – more... and for. He allowed me to be an independent thinker, supported good discussions and provided direction when needed. My co-workers and I worked well together as a team. We also participated in office social events (salad day, clarity fund raisers, etc.). The hardest part of my job was to get proper coding to make payments. I enjoyed working with my supervisor, co-workers and satisfying my custmers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great work place.
Records Administrator (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 23, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short breaks
Was completing all that was require of you.
Learn how to manage an office.
Management was great to work for.
My co-workers was a great team to work with.
Keeping my files in order.
Walking and talking with coworker.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learns task quick
Office of State Administrative Hearing Legal Agent (Current Employee), Lawrenceville, GAMay 5, 2013
Works well from lists.
Learns task quickly.
Gets along great with co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable employment
CSR III Department of Family and Children Services (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAFebruary 7, 2013
Heavy workload due to the amount of clients on public assistance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cooking, taking care of my Kids
Family Independent Case Manager (Former Employee), Atlanta, GeorgiaJune 15, 2012
Pros: very family oriented
Cons: pay
My enjoyment working with DHR is helping people. being a team player