Find companies:
GEORGIA DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
48 reviews

GEORGIA DEPARTMENT OF LABOR Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Election Years
DOL Services Specialist (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 2, 2014
Pros: free parking
Cons: long hours during an election year
An ideal place to work but very demanding with very long hours during a general election year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Resource Assistant
Resource Assistant (Former Employee), Albany, GAJune 18, 2014
My position at Georgia Department of Labor was an intern position that was required as a curriculum with my major. I was a Resource Assistant who aided others who were looking for jobs with the computer. I also assisted them with the copier and fax machine.
I guided them to any books that were available that would assist them with their job search. – more... My coworkers were great to be around. The hardest part of my job was dealing with the different personalities of the people who came in and out of the building. However, it gave me the ability to learn how to react with others' behavior. I respected each individual. The most enjoyable part of my job was the joy on others' face when they found the job they were looking for with my help. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool Place to Work
Accountant Paraprofessional (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 24, 2014
Pros: funny manager and supervisor
Cons: healthcare benefits
A typical day is filled with a little bit of laughter from my coworkers, manager, and supervisor. I learned a number of things started out right out getting my degree in Finance. The hardest part of my job at first was getting use to the claimants probably cussing you out about their unemployment insurance payments. The most enjoyable part of my job – more... was your lunch break period length was determined by you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervisor
Reemployment Supervisor (Current Employee), Decatur, GAMarch 30, 2014
Pros: support system
Cons: pay
Make sure staff are in place and computers are operational before opening the building.Make sure staff have arrived timely, or if absent,to document their absence in the Daily Attendance Page. Work with my lead workers to assist me in morning the two units; Employment Services and the Reemployment Services. Together we monitor the customer service log – more... to ensure customers are not only placed on the correct log but to also be services in an appropriate amount of time. Work close the other supervisor to provide guidance to a staff of 40 plus the interns. The job is not is not difficult, it is busy work. A lot of paperwork is processes and it has to be monitored to ensure customers unemployment benefits are released timely if eligible or services are keyed by staff with minimum error. I have a great support system from the only other supervisor and Assistant Manager. We do monthly Customer Service and Employee of the month awards to boost morale. Rating of 3.5 – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and pleasant atmosphere
CONTINGENCY CLERK (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: extended downtime
Cons: quarterly employment and no healthcare insurance benefits
A typical day at work included processing state employers tax information. I learned to read tax forms and process tax information. Management and co-workers were pleasant. The hardest part of the job was organizing and keeping up with all documents scanned and processed. The most enjoyable part of the job was working in a pleasant atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented ang great benefits
DOL Services Specialist (Current Employee), Savannah, GAFebruary 17, 2014
Great place to work and great benefits. Great chance to meet people from all over. Management has a open door policy and very helpful. I enjoy this job because customer service is the main focus and that's something that I love to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
standard office
Associate Disability Adjudicator (Former Employee), savannah, gaFebruary 3, 2014
• Adjudicate claims for SSI/disability filed through the Social Security Administration
• Develop medical aspect of claim by reviewing medical records, ordering exams and tests
• Perform vocational analysis of claimants past work to determine ability to return to it or other work
• Consult with SSA Liaison, medical consultants and employers as needed
 – more... Top producer 2012-2013 federal fiscal year. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work.
Inter Receptionist (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJanuary 30, 2014
I was responsible for handling front office reception and administration duties, including greeting guests and answering phones, handling company inquiries, and sorting and distributing mail. Send email and faxes. Collect and distribute parcels and other mail. Take and relay messages.Perform basic bookkeeping, filing, and clerical duties.

my co-workers – more... were very professional and friendly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good start for your career but not for a lifelong career
Administrative Hearing Officer Prep Technician (Current Employee), Atlanta, GADecember 13, 2013
Coworkers are good people. I learned the difference between just managing people versus leading people. Good leadership from your superior is very vital to how the office runs. Ive seen and learned the difference between good and bad managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome co workers
Services Specialist (Former Employee), Tifton, GeorgiaNovember 19, 2013
Pros: great environment
Cons: no overtime
Great people family orientated
They teach you so much about the job seeking skills and what to do to help your individual clients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Volume Workplace
Mail Services Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Atlanta, GANovember 1, 2013
Pros: loved the hours, satisfaction of helping others
Cons: job ended
Georgia Dept.Of Labor gave me an opportunity to work with external customer to try and help them to handle life setbacks.Also it allowed me to build a relationship with new people long lasting friendship became a part of my job with my Manager as well as Supervisor. The most rewarding part of my job was assisting my customers then came the hardest part – more... of my job to say goodbye to my customers, coworkers,the whole team because of the layoff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place.
Mental Health/Substance Abuse Worker (Current Employee), Valdosta, GAOctober 16, 2013
Pros: healthcare
Cons: pay
The GA DOL gave me a lot of experience to become a counselor. The GA DOL provided a lot of training and education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serious and high demand
Program Assistant (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 9, 2013
I learned to patient and attentative to others needs. The position required us to work with other programs across the state of Georgia and determine the target areas the needed funding for the Ryan White program.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business Environment
Clerical (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 21, 2013
Typical day at work - very busy

What I learned - something new every day; departmental & policy changes

Management - no comment

Co-Workers - no comment

The hardest part of the job - being the the only staff member in the unit and having additional duties and responsibilities assigned with no supplemental pay.

The most enjoyable part of the job – more... - having a job – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is and excellent place to work
Tax Analyst (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 12, 2013
A excellent place to work job opportunity is avaliable to anyone that seeks it. The service was available for training. I learned how to communucate well with others. Co workers was cooperative if you needed their help in solving prolbems. I don;t think there was hard part this job I was able to basically do the same thing everyday which was fine with – more... me. The most enjoyable part of my job is when we had a deadline to meet or get a report out and we all pulled together to get the job done.

I am now seeking a partime job as being a companion for someone who needs to get to the store or tom the doctor, I will be able to prepare for that person or just do what needs tom be done in the house. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an experience.
BUSINESS COUNSELOR (Former Employee), Tucker, GAAugust 7, 2013
Pros: the annual leave accrual was good.
Cons: healthcare and training
The fun part of the job was that I made a difference in of the vendors that I managed, I gave them hope to believe in people and they trusted me enough to share some of their life dealings with me, they knowing that whatever they shared will not be passed on. I met and worked with many external customers who over time, we built trusting relationships – more... that helped me with the various projects we did. I learned a lot about human behavior from the internal and external customers while resolving customer issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The GA Department of Labor
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Atlanta GeorgiaJuly 31, 2013
Cons: healthcare
To assist those who are seeking jobs in their quest for satisfactory and productive placement and to aid employers in the search for qualified workers.
To refer workers in need of additional skills into the proper job training program.
To administer the state's unemployment insurance program.
To gather, maintain, and report labor market information.
To – more... administer laws relating to child labor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My day at work.
Accounting Clerk - Accounts Payable (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 22, 2013
Pros: independance and flexiabity
Cons: benefits
My typical day at work involves processing travel advances for employees. Reimbursing employees for miscellaneous expenses. Processing invoices and budgeting accounts. I learned time managment and organizational skills in more detail. My co-workers are extreemely supportive. My job is not hard at all. The most enjoyable part of my job is the independance – more... and flexiablity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Magnetic Media Specialist (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 12, 2013
To process media submitted to the gdol for employers around the state of Ga. The most enjoyable part is when the work load is very heavy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Tax Auditor Supervisor (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 26, 2013
Great place to work, fast pace. You learn alot, management is very helpful and understanding.

1 2 3