Find companies:
Georgia Gwinnett College
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

Georgia Gwinnett College Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great professors in the Biology Department
Lab Assistant (Current Employee), GAJuly 23, 2014
Mostly I enjoyed my stay here at GGC, it was conveniently located and I appreciated the upper level biology instructors quite a bit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a wonderful place to work
STUDENT ASSISTANT (Current Employee), GAMarch 23, 2014
I really enjoy working here. Great caring people to with and for also very professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Mail Assistant Services (Current Employee), GAMarch 16, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: favorites, sometimes no lunch, too much work or the amount we get paid and hours.
I worked as a student assistant my role was to deliver mail very easy task to do. However, I had a few lazy coworkers and sometimes I or my other coworker had to clean up the mess and apologize to the people that always were complaining. Also, most of the departments wanted us to babysit them most of time even they didn't had mail and complain most – more... of the time and didn't understand that sometimes we as students had classes. The higher management the Director had favorites which I wasn't looking for her to like me because I didn't like her either. She was good to them because one my coworkers had a gf that her mom was the VP of Business and Finance and the other one because idk... MOST OF ALL IT'S GREAT TO WORK BECAUSE YOU FOCUS ON SCHOOL AND LIFE. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very clean, safe, and fast paced
Utility 1 (Current Employee), Lawrenceville, GAJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: free food and great coworkers
Cons: compensation for the amount of work
A typical day at work usually consists of alot of cleaning. Not only for us utility workers, but also for the employees cooking and serving the food. You also have to maintain a safe workplace along with being clean. Everyone does their part at work and even when circumstances do not permit us to do so, one of the team members easily picks up the slack. – more... Everyone at work usually gets along just fine, making the work seem easier than it actually is. The only negative would be the variety of things demanded on a daily basis, but that could also be a positive because it challenges us to think of a creative way in which to get the job done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent management and great team work.
Laboratory Technician and Chemistry Lab Assistance (Current Employee), Lawrenceville, GAJanuary 5, 2014
My work is based on preparing chemicals and solutions for all chemistry labs and perform NMR or other instruments in the laboratory. Also I can volunteer to assist professors and demonstrate usage of instruments in their research or other experiments. The co-workers are all students and we treat each other as family. All staff at Georgia Gwinnett College – more... are friendly, helpful, and supportive of each other. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Higher Education
Administrative Assistant II, Accounting (Current Employee), Lawrenceville, GAOctober 28, 2013
Pros: nice location
Cons: low salary
A positive atmosphere for people looking to obtain their Bachelor of Arts Degree. Nice people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good School
student volunteer (Former Employee), Lawrenceville, GAAugust 7, 2013
Fun and inventing people, willing to make your experience a great one.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New College still trying to find itself.
Resident Assistant, Housing and Residence Life (Current Employee), Lawrenceville, GAMay 8, 2013
Pros: calm campus, vibrant day community
Cons: short dining hall hours, lack of student activities, not too open to suggestions
It is not the average college, but it is still a great place to be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work, surrounded by great people
Admissions Counselor/Recruiter (Current Employee), GAMay 6, 2013
My office doesn't have a 'typical' day. They are all different, but equally as hectic. The management is great, and always open to new ideas. Further, co-workers are more like family. The hardest part of the job is customer service, but that's with any position in public administration. The most enjoyable part is the atmosphere. Working with college-age – more... students keeps you young! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marketing Intern
Marketing Intern (Former Employee), Lawrenceville, GAApril 27, 2013
I was a marketing intern for the college one summer and it was very nice to work for them. I learned a lot and wish I could have a full time there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Director of Operations (Former Employee), Lawrenceville, GAApril 14, 2013
Great people. Nice place to work and a great learning environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FT tutor/teaching assistant
CUSTOMER SERVICE/PROBLEM SOLVER (Former Employee), Lawrenceville, GAApril 2, 2013
Pros: building rapport with students, co-workers, other faculty and staff
Cons: short staffed for the demand of the growing student population
A typical day dependent upon the actual schedule, but if I was needed in the classroom, I would assist the teacher in either grammar lessons, grading spelling tests, discussion of a writing topic or looking over papers for comments. After the classroom, I would go to the writing lab, where I would tutor students who need assistance in writing, brainstorming, – more... or grammar help. I would educate students on how to prepare for exams as well as present workshops on various topics. I oversaw the writing lab by making employees schedule, assisting in hiring new employees, receiving calls for late employees, assuring that the center is ran properly. Because we were in between managers, I took the initiative to oversee the center. The previous manager was excellent and put me in position to assist in some of the daily operations of the center. My co-workers were an excellent group of people. The hardest part of the job was when a policy is set by upper management, it affected the students, I could not do anything about except follow it. The most enjoyable part of the job was the students who entered into the center that I assisted with papers or came to workshops. I developed rapport with the students who continued to come back for my assistance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Lab Assistant for the STEM (Former Employee), Lawrenceville, GAMarch 23, 2013
typical day is great unless it is orientation where you have to keep the work pace. and have great customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, teamwork highly encouraged.
Accountant (Current Employee), Lawrenceville, GAMarch 11, 2013
Working at Georgia Gwinnett College has been a rewarding experience. There's a difference between private vs governmental accounting and I enjoyed working in an atmosphere where accountants are liable for adhering to not only GAAP, but also to GASB. I work with a diverse group of people who are all unique and each bring something different to the team. – more... The hardest part of the job is the fact that everyone seems to be so dedicated that sometimes we get caught up and somewhat neglect other personal responsibilities - so learning to control that area has been hard. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place
Chef (Current Employee), GAMarch 9, 2013
Pros: pay is good
Cons: to much time off
8 hour days some times 10,cook for about 500 people a day.people are great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active and Engaging Campus Community
Student Affairs/Student Involvement Intern (Current Employee), Lawrenceville, GAJanuary 8, 2013
Pros: always able to move from theory to practice.
Cons: n/a
Recently, I completed an internship in the student affairs/student involvement department improving student programming through a compendium of assessments and advanced technology training which allows student to be involved stakeholders in the operation of their student center, promoting a student run campus. I believe that both experiences are in – more... aligned with Georgia Gwinnett College strategic plan to change the environment. My experiences in a student-centered service capacity, has allowed me to collectively apply active learning opportunities for student development. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work
Library Information Technology Assistant (Former Employee), GADecember 23, 2012
Best place to work, Awesome bosses. Very loving and family oriented. Boss appreciates and respects diversity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at GGC as a Student Assitant
Student Assistant at Academic enhancement center (Former Employee), Lawrenceville, GAJuly 9, 2012
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: short breaks
Working as a Student assistant at the academic enhancement center at GGC. Gave me the opportunity to work with many people and also meet individuals who are interested in making great grades. There was no hard part of the job, and I enjoyed most of my time there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working person who get the work done
Food Service Worker (Former Employee), Lawrenceville, GAJuly 8, 2012
prepare coffee breaks, carts, and stations with appropriate food and beverages as stated in Banquet Event Order.
Prepare tables, action stations, buffets, service carts, dessert table/carts and cordial carts.
Ensure courses are cleared and tables are properly crumbed. Respond to and try to fulfill any special banquet event arrangements.
Replenish buffet – more... items to ensure consistency and freshness in presentation. Monitor tableware to ensure it is presentable to guests.
Monitor and maintain cleanliness, sanitation and organization of assigned station and service areas.
Bus tables by removing and separating tableware, plateware, glassware, and flatware. Follow all company and safety and security policies and procedures; report accidents, injuries, and unsafe work conditions to manager; complete safety training and certifications.
Ensure uniform and personal appearances are clean and professional.
Welcome and acknowledge all guests and thank guests with genuine appreciation.
Perform other reasonable job duties as requested by Supervisors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Library Student Assistant
Library Student Assistant (Former Employee), Lawrenceville, GAJune 17, 2012
Worked as a Library Student Assistant at Georgia Gwinnett College in Lawrenceville, Georgia.