Find companies:
GEORGIA PERIMETER COLLEGE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
59 reviews

GEORGIA PERIMETER COLLEGE Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work study but fun
Office Manager (Former Employee), Clarkston, GAMay 15, 2014
This job was also Federal Work Study. Some people think that Fedral work study aren't real "jobs" but when they see or experience how much we do on any given day they are shocked. Actually some work study students move in to full in to full time postions in there departments. When i worked at this school i worked at the student Newspaper and was a assitant – more... to the person over the program and then I became the office manager which gave me more responsiablies as far as maintaining the office and having a key to open up i enjoyed seeing the hard work that it took to have a full paper to come out .When i left and came back to visit my boss was replaced its just not the same there..Hardest part of the job was delivering the paper and also taking them off the docks when they arrived – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Modern instruction with harmony
Adjunct Human Anatomy and Physiology Instructor (Former Employee), Dunwoody, GeorgiaMay 12, 2014
Pros: all
A typical day as a Human Anatomy and Physiology instructor involved the energy at a beautiful modern campus in Atlanta, preparing content to be presented in lecture or lab, and presenting this material in an interactive way with students, all of which combine to form an awesome educational experience.

It comes to life with the administration, faculty, – more... and staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Services
Front desk Associate / Work Study (Former Employee), Decatur, GAApril 23, 2014
Assisting students with log in and tutoring information was done daily. I learned that anything can be done with time! Management was excellent, very knowledgable and patient. My co- workers were also my classmates, so we hleped eachother out and learned from one another tremendously. the wost part of the job was the work space. I emjoyed working with – more... my peers and daily learning experiences most. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Community College
Student (Former Employee), GAApril 19, 2014
Great college to start, excellent instructor, nice environment, and affordable tuition
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Clarkston, GAApril 6, 2014
Pros: great supervisors, great co-workers!
Cons: the pay leaves something something to be desired.
I love GPC not only as a student but also as an employee. If you work in the right department you will love your job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As I live and breath
Office Manager (Former Employee), Clarkston, GAFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: very creative and exciting enviroment to work in
Cons: no benefits
Eventhough working here was only for workstudy I got the opprotunity to have the responiablity of being an office manager for the schools newpaper I had so much fun
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great college
Student (Former Employee), GAFebruary 1, 2014
I had a great experience in perimeter college. Great instructors, and nice atmosphere .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive yet subtle
Laboratoy Technician I (Current Employee), Decatur, GAJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: enjoy free physical activities provided by the institution.
Cons: no healthcare and barely recieve maximum hours.
To work on a college campus while being a student at the same institution was everything I wanted! I was able to take classes, and shortly after walk into the office and start helping students. On a day-to-day basis I help students troubleshoot their technology concerns, rather if they forgot their username and password to downloading and installing – more... a software for him/her. I adore my co-workers and enjoy their company when I'm on shift, it makes sitting at the desk a little less straining. I enjoy talking to the students and helping them in any way that I can, and this taught me the meaning of excellent customer service; to provide the customer (student) what they're looking for plus more and to gain a positive satisfaction from the service! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Student Services & Student Life (Former Employee), Alpharetta, GAJanuary 5, 2014
I loved working at Georgia Perimeter College. It was very beneficial to me to be able to work where I also attended college. all the faculty and staff were awesome people who really cared about the students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A rewarding work place
ONLINE STUDENT SUCCESS COORDINATOR (Current Employee), Clarkston, GADecember 3, 2013
Pros: great benefits and opportunity to continue your education for free.
Cons: not able to work from home .
I work with college students with a diverse background from all over the world. I am an Online Advisor that interact with students face-to-face, by phone, and through email. We have a small team that is very supportive of one another. The hardest part about the job is seeing students fail academically. As an Advisor we are innovative , skill builders, – more... motivators, and much more. Therefore when a student does do well academically its disappointing. However, our job is to provide the tools and encourage them to be utilized but its a choice. Our hope is that our advisement will empower our students to learn.

The most enjoyable part about this job is seeing students report back their academic progress and share their gratitude for the quality of service provided to them. Its a great feeling to know that the advisement given played a critical part to being empowered to succeed academically. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Health and Wellness Recreation Attendant (Current Employee), Clarkston, GANovember 27, 2013
Pretty good place to start out working as a college student.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great place to work surrounded by great people
Exception Financial Aide Counselor (Current Employee), clarkston, georgiaNovember 21, 2013
Pros: great people
Cons: under state rule therefore no raises in 5 years
Review student for federal and state financial aid. I have working knowledge of title iv funds. Most managers are personable and easy to get along with. My co-workers were the best people to work with and to know. the hardiest part is the deny students aid. talking to student who have gone on to earn their 4 year degree/
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid Human Reources at all Cost!
NA (Former Employee), Dunwoody, GANovember 8, 2013
Pros: laid back. most of the staff are wonderful people
Cons: the cliques have a lot of power. you're either in or out.
At some institutions Human Resources at least attempts to give the appearance of fair and unbiased....not at GPC! Human Resources sides blindly with management which has lead to a very destructive, hostile work environment in some areas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive most times and the students are wonderful.
Upward Bound Counselor (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 22, 2013
Pros: work with good people, free meals sometimes.
Cons: random hours and salary
I have had mixed reviews about Georgia Perimeter College. They have some good initiatives that exist at the college and they do the best that they can with what they have. I work with some amazing co-workers and I have come across individuals that are truly passionate about helping young people get an education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am a student here
Full-Time Student (Current Employee), Covington, GAOctober 9, 2013
Pros: my earnig capability will increase
Cons: i am paying a lot of money to go to school
It's a decent school.

I'm learning general studies right now.

It is managed well aside from the racket they've set up with priority one.

I go to school with kids. They're kids.

The hardest part about school is not being there for two decades, returning and taking a full load. The difference between prior employment and being a student would be that:

When – more... I'd get home in the past work would be over. Now I get home and have to work for another four to six hours, studying and doing homework.

I'm paying to do work at school where before I was getting paid to work.

I enjoy learning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School that did not value Education
Customer Solutions Associate Contact Center (Current Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 29, 2013
Pros: modern environment, workout facilities
Cons: highly stressful, low moral of employees
As a whole, the college is a progressive,relaxed,friendly place to work, as long as you avoid working in the Contact Center in customer service. They hire highly educated professionals,but work you so hard its equivalent to a sweat shop. 90 percent of every day you will input caller notations while answering back to back calls. They never staffed the – more... department properly so students wait between 25-60 min to reach key student issue departments. No promotions for anyone. Since inception of Contact Center 3yrs ago, not even 1 associate promoted to any other position within the college. My summation of immediate management is loud and unprofessional. If you work here its a waste of your education because you will be more worn out than if you worked at McDonalds. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOOOOOOOVED THIS JOB
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Decatur, GASeptember 26, 2013
I LOVED WORKING THERE , THE PEOPLE AND THE HOURS.GREAT JOB FOR A STUDENT
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Receptionist/Assistant
Work Study Student (Former Employee), Newton, GASeptember 24, 2013
Pros: easy job
Cons: slow days
Spent most of my days entering data into a database created my myself. Assisted and directed customers. My boss and co-workers were amazing and sweet and easy to work with. The hardest part of my job was keeping myself business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best part time job I could ever have
Digital Media Assistant (Current Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 21, 2013
A typical day is coming into work and either finding the best way to help the students, my coworkers, or myself. I am constantly learning or being encouraged to learn in this environment. Management is always approachable and hands on, while my co-workers are a joy to work with. All of them are different, but we're all united by our quirkiness. The – more... hardest part of the job is probably feeling like I'm not doing enough. This job's workload is entirely dependent on how many students come by and if they need help, so if we aren't needed we have to find other things to do to be productive. The most fun thing about the job is finding tasks for ourselves as well as getting to know the people around you. Not every workplace can boast about that. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Library Assistant I/Part-Time (Current Employee), Decatur, GAAugust 6, 2013
Pros: great for networking
Cons: lacking in advancement opportunities
This is a okay place to work but because of management discrepancies the job security or advancement is not good; therefore, it makes it very difficult to move up the ladder

1 2 3