Georgia Southern University Employee Reviews in United States

Found 156 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment with productive staff.
Senior Community Leader (Former Employee) –  Statesboro, GAAugust 4, 2015
Fun and diverse environment. Focused on teamwork and staff bonding activities. Communication and leadership skills were key to success. If you did not have those skills before the job, they were developed as you moved through the year.
Pros
Great environment, Opportunities from guest speakers, Improve communicative and leadership skills
Cons
Barely any salary, Difficult time management
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good research experience
Researcher (Former Employee) –  Statesboro, GAJuly 20, 2015
Was not a paid position - this was undergraduate research. This was a good opportunity to gain fieldwork and lab work/microscopy experience as well as work with students with various areas of focus in Biology.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Budget Analyst II (Current Employee) –  Statesboro, GAJuly 16, 2015
Georgia Southern University is a great place to work. I have worked at Georgia Southern for 23 years. It is easy to balance personal life with work expectations. A day at Georgia Southern is busy and sometimes hectic but at the end of the day, the ultimate goal is to lead one more student to the path of success. I love the people I work with. Going to work is not a task, it's a joy. We are family.
Pros
work environment
Cons
low salaries
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work with the student body
Information Clerk (Former Employee) –  Statesboro, GAJuly 12, 2015
Deal with student issues, answer questions about university, and also set up tours around the university. The hardest part about this job was going home, I loved to work there so overtime was always a good thing!
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Warehouse Employee (Current Employee) –  Statesboro, GAJuly 7, 2015
Hard working coworkers and management is flexible with your schedule. Don't have to work on weekends. Request off days easily
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A normal day as a transportation associate
TRANSPORTATION ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Statesboro, GAJuly 6, 2015
This part-time job had a relaxed environment. After clocking in and gathering all my equipment for my shift, I leave for my assigned area to ticket vehicles.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for a student in college who doesn't have too many financial responsibilities and doesn't mind some hard work
Housing Facilities, Maintenance Worker (Current Employee) –  Statesboro, GAJuly 5, 2015
Overall a good place to gain experience different areas of expertise. They pay is good for a college student especially with the relatively low cost of living in Statesboro, GA. Management can be very overbearing and controlling. Management do not really listen to the student workers opinions. Student workers are forced to go to meetings that don't really apply to them. Student workers also aren't given any recognition for their good work. Student workers were allowed to take advantage of the appreciation lunches provided for the staff from time to time.
Pros
Free Lunches from time to time
Cons
Management can be a bit overbearing sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Statesboro, GAJune 18, 2015
Exceptional at taking care of student teachers. Pays tuition and also provides a stipend. Typical day included answering questions about class taught and holding open lab hours for other students to study.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for students.
Office of the Registrar Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Statesboro, GAJune 17, 2015
This was a great place to work. The hours were flexible with your school schedule and my supervisor was very nice. It gives you a great deal of experience with customer service because the Registrar's Office is one of, if not the, busiest offices on campus.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience while in college
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Statesboro, GAJune 16, 2015
The most enjoyable part of the job is to be able to teach my peers about health and how to properly exercise. Also the benefits were good! Who wouldn't want their tuition paid for?!
Was this review helpful?YesNo1

Want to know more about Georgia Southern University?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the employees and consumers.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Statesboro, GAJune 10, 2015
Great job. Loved everyone there. Enjoyed the experience I had to learn at the center. I was able to use my secretarial/clerical/bookkeeping/accounting skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a nice environment to work in
Cook (Former Employee) –  Statesboro, GAMay 30, 2015
Georgia Southern was a good place to work because I loved for people to ear and enjoy my food. I met new people everyday and it was amazing how attached people listened to me and looked up to me.
Pros
Free lunch card
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Enjoyable Experience
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Statesboro, GAMay 22, 2015
I would have to say that this, by far, was the most rewarding experience I've had to date in my career. I typically would be scheduled at manageable shifts and learned effective time management. A lot of valuable human interaction was gained in the form of working with students and helping as much as possible. I also received a lot of communication with faculty and staff members to help make the learning environment an enjoyable one.

On the job, I was able to observe and learn how to work with different types of people based on their personality. With that gained knowledge and observance, I effectively learned how to make the work environment better for myself and hopefully everyone else.

Overall it was a very fun and enjoyable experience that I would love another opportunity to do if I further my education.
Pros
Hands on lab experience, effective communication, very comfortable environment, management worked very well, flexible hours, amazing students
Cons
Low stipend salary, co-workers at times, little to no insurance, work experience limited
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Statesboro, GAMay 11, 2015
Enjoyed the work that was done and felt I got valuable experience. Both my job specific duties along with supplemental ones have made me feel even more prepared for my next employment opportunity.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Small Business Consultant (Former Employee) –  Statesboro, GAMay 2, 2015
1. Typical Day
Phone calls and paperwork to find resources.
2. What was Learned
Development of business plans and financial skills
3. Coworkers
Hard working, good people.
4. Hardest part
Time consuming
5. Enjoyable part
Developing solutions for small businesses
Pros
Quick Turnaround
Cons
No Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace and fantastic faculty
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Statesboro, GAApril 28, 2015
Georgia Southern has a great small scale feel. Through my years of tutoring and time as a GA, I can honestly say that I would do it over again if I had to. The money isn't great, but it's very good to live in Statesboro.

I learned a lot about how to communicate with adults, and instruct them through physics and mathematics concepts. The management was very great, and always helpful if time was needed off.

The worst part about tutoring is sometimes being the only tutor capable of answering certain questions.
Pros
management, hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for to get your skills up
Software Developer (Current Employee) –  Statesboro, GAApril 15, 2015
I've enjoyed building my skillset at while at Georgia Southern. I have had the opportunity to expand what I already knew and grow in what I didn't know
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to study
Teaching Assistant and Tutor (Former Employee) –  Statesboro, GAApril 14, 2015
Georgia southern university is a great place to work because the staff is nice and they provide a great learning environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing work environment
Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  Statesboro, GaApril 12, 2015
Georgia Southern Athletics is a decent place to work. Overall, the athletes are great and most of the the other support staff is wonderful; however there are politics and cliques that you will need to be aware of and avoid.
Pros
You get the full experience of working in athletics
Cons
Professional Cliques
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work. Campus was employee as well as student friendly always trying to enhance the employees experiences.
University Housing HR Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Statesboro,GAApril 7, 2015
• Handle and maintain Workers Compensation
• Hiring and Termination Processes
• Maintenance of employee files
• Staff recognition and events coordinator
• Assist with additional departmental training and development
• Serve on Student Affairs committee for University employee events
Pros
Great work environment.
Cons
State pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo1

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 157 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture