Find companies:
Georgia Southern University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
87 reviews

Georgia Southern University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Tele-counselor (Former Employee), Statesboro, GaJanuary 13, 2014
Phone calls in the evening by college students trying to contact high schoo prospective students. Fun environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity for me; enjoyable work and environment.
Programmer I (Former Employee), Statesboro, GAJanuary 6, 2014
I worked under Ron Stalnaker for Enterprise Application Services. GSU is pretty serious about keeping up with technology, something that is rare for most colleges. I had interesting projects that actually affected students' lives - plenty of job satisfaction there! My coworkers were great. The environment was a little slow-paced but not overly so.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Wellness Lab Attendant (Former Employee), Statesboro, GADecember 18, 2013
Student clinical job. Great school and great employment. Enjoyed my time there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cater to the customers
Treasurer of Justice Studies Club (Former Employee), Statesboro, GaDecember 2, 2013
Pros: you stay busy
Cons: short lunch breaks, sent home if the business was slow
It was some good days and bad days. We had to help each other balance things out and just make sure we was able to work together as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere, but no chance of advancement
Administrative Support (Current Employee), Statesboro, GADecember 2, 2013
I really enjoy working at Georgia Southern University, but it is hard to get an advancement from a casual laborer to a full time employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
POOR
DELIVERY DRIVER/SUPERVISOR, VENDING (Former Employee), Statesboro, GANovember 20, 2013
LOW PAY ,NO RESPECT FOR EMPLOYEES,NO JOB SECURITY,BLAH BLAH BLAH
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent place
Temporary custodian (Former Employee), Statesboro,GANovember 20, 2013
Managers and supervisors are helpful. Advancement is possibly at the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Technical Support, Business & Finance and ResNet (Current Employee), Statesboro, GANovember 13, 2013
Typically, we go on tickets to help students and staff members. I learned many things about networking, and social responsibilities. My manager was sub-par and I learned much from this. My co-workers were fun to hang out with. The hardest part of my job is the time constraints.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Statesboro, GANovember 7, 2013
I love this job and my boss. Great pay and hours for the work required.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable Place to Work - Hard to Advance
Payroll Assistant II (Former Employee), Statesboro, GANovember 1, 2013
Great place to work if you are not looking for much advancement opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More fun than work
Part-time Instructor (Current Employee), Statesboro, GAOctober 26, 2013
Pros: accommodation
Cons: academic standards
A beautiful campus but lots of great amenities for the students. Treatment of faculty, especially part-time faculty, is insensitive. The management is more concerned about money than learning. Football is the passion. Academics, not so much. A good place to repeat high school and stay a child a bit longer. The scantrons are always buzzing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good college
Teaching assistant in General Chemistry Laboratory (Former Employee), Statesboro, GAOctober 25, 2013
chemistry dept was very close-knit.
professors are top-notch.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GSU
Advisor of Zeta Tau Alpha (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLOctober 21, 2013
This is the school I went to.

I was the alum chapter president.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Custodian (Former Employee), Statesboro, GAOctober 20, 2013
Pros: 1 hr lunch break, days off, free lunch
I enjoy the environment at GSU everyday that I worked there. They are very friendly and helpful at all times. Everyday out there was a new experience for me and I enjoyed every bit of it. I would love to work out here again someday. The hardest part of the job was just getting use to the bending and walking all day since I wasn't use to it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
IT Technician/Student Worker (Former Employee), Statesboro, GAOctober 7, 2013
A very relaxed work place.
I learned how to install software, setup computers, image computers, troubleshoot/fix computer issues, and many other technical skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Visiting Instructor (Former Employee), Statesboro, GAOctober 6, 2013
I enjoyed GSU but my contract was only for a year. The pay was a little low but considering the low cost of living in the area it wasn't too bad
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard physcial labor
Floor Technician (Former Employee), Statesboro, GASeptember 27, 2013
My first job out of high school just no room for growth and I needed more
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Views!
GA (Temporary) (Former Employee), Statesboro, GASeptember 17, 2013
I liked working this job. I got to meet a lot of students that had to come into the office for assistance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Visiting Professor (Former Employee), Statesboro, GASeptember 11, 2013
- A typical day at work encompassed reviewing lesson plans, scheduling, making copies, working up documents and rubrics, teaching classes, grading, accessing student and lesson success, and meeting with superiors.
- I learned classroom management skills and became better and multi-tasking.
- Management was supportive and expectations were very clear.
- – more... Co-workers were friendly and gave wonderful advice.
- The hardest part of the job was addressing individual student needs simultaneously in a large classroom environment. The difficulty encountered made me far more efficient at multitasking and planning for group instruction.
- The most enjoyable part of the job included individual interactions with students and witnessing student growth. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to obtain work experience and college credit
Teaching Assistant in General Chemistry Laboratory (Current Employee), Statesboro, GASeptember 8, 2013
Answer questions about the various general chemistry experiments and demonstrated how to use the lab equipment effectively and efficiently.