Find companies:
Georgia Southern University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
98 reviews

Georgia Southern University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable Place to Work - Hard to Advance
Payroll Assistant II (Former Employee), Statesboro, GANovember 1, 2013
Great place to work if you are not looking for much advancement opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More fun than work
Part-time Instructor (Current Employee), Statesboro, GAOctober 26, 2013
Pros: accommodation
Cons: academic standards
A beautiful campus but lots of great amenities for the students. Treatment of faculty, especially part-time faculty, is insensitive. The management is more concerned about money than learning. Football is the passion. Academics, not so much. A good place to repeat high school and stay a child a bit longer. The scantrons are always buzzing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good college
Teaching assistant in General Chemistry Laboratory (Former Employee), Statesboro, GAOctober 25, 2013
chemistry dept was very close-knit.
professors are top-notch.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GSU
Advisor of Zeta Tau Alpha (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLOctober 21, 2013
This is the school I went to.

I was the alum chapter president.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Custodian (Former Employee), Statesboro, GAOctober 20, 2013
Pros: 1 hr lunch break, days off, free lunch
I enjoy the environment at GSU everyday that I worked there. They are very friendly and helpful at all times. Everyday out there was a new experience for me and I enjoyed every bit of it. I would love to work out here again someday. The hardest part of the job was just getting use to the bending and walking all day since I wasn't use to it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
IT Technician/Student Worker (Former Employee), Statesboro, GAOctober 7, 2013
A very relaxed work place.
I learned how to install software, setup computers, image computers, troubleshoot/fix computer issues, and many other technical skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Visiting Instructor (Former Employee), Statesboro, GAOctober 6, 2013
I enjoyed GSU but my contract was only for a year. The pay was a little low but considering the low cost of living in the area it wasn't too bad
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard physcial labor
Floor Technician (Former Employee), Statesboro, GASeptember 27, 2013
My first job out of high school just no room for growth and I needed more
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Views!
GA (Temporary) (Former Employee), Statesboro, GASeptember 17, 2013
I liked working this job. I got to meet a lot of students that had to come into the office for assistance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Visiting Professor (Former Employee), Statesboro, GASeptember 11, 2013
- A typical day at work encompassed reviewing lesson plans, scheduling, making copies, working up documents and rubrics, teaching classes, grading, accessing student and lesson success, and meeting with superiors.
- I learned classroom management skills and became better and multi-tasking.
- Management was supportive and expectations were very clear.
- – more... Co-workers were friendly and gave wonderful advice.
- The hardest part of the job was addressing individual student needs simultaneously in a large classroom environment. The difficulty encountered made me far more efficient at multitasking and planning for group instruction.
- The most enjoyable part of the job included individual interactions with students and witnessing student growth. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to obtain work experience and college credit
Teaching Assistant in General Chemistry Laboratory (Current Employee), Statesboro, GASeptember 8, 2013
Answer questions about the various general chemistry experiments and demonstrated how to use the lab equipment effectively and efficiently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work to start your career.
Labor Supervisor (Current Employee), Statesboro, GASeptember 7, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: high costs of those benefits.
The best part of the job are the five guys that I supervise. They are fun to work with and they make the day go by fast.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning enviornment
SAP Certified Associate (Current Employee), Statesboro, GAAugust 30, 2013
I graduated from Georgia Southern and I am thankful that I took advantage of the SAP courses and TERP 10 certification course. Georgia Southern University helped me find my passion for IS, SAP and computer technology.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Grounds Keeper 1 (Former Employee), Statesboro, GAAugust 19, 2013
starts work at 6:30 am to 3:30 pm, hard work all day long. Mowing grass, pulling weeds, planting landscapes, and just general landscape around the campus
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Project Coordinator (Former Employee), Statesboro, GeorgiaAugust 9, 2013
Attended College here and worked here. Good opportunities. Great working environment. Enjoyed the company of my co workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greatest university
Chemistry Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Statesboro, GAAugust 8, 2013
This is a true university that allows students to excel in all areas from academics to athletics.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast paced
Summer Intern (Former Employee), Statesboro, GAAugust 6, 2013
Great people to work with. Everyone is after the same objective, which is providing a great experience for students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great university to work for
Fitness Specialist - PT (Former Employee), Statesboro, GAJuly 30, 2013
Pros: work culture, work life balance, college atmosphere
Cons: the pay could be better
Georgia Southern has wonderful employees who care deeply about the job they do and offers a good amount of benefits for salaried employees. Also, its a great institutionto attend to further your education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere
Clinical Practicum, Student Athletic Trainer (Former Employee), Statesboro, GAJuly 17, 2013
The athletic program is constantly growing, providing a great basis for years to come.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked for a wonderful Department at GSU
Admin Secretary (Former Employee), Statesboro, GAJuly 8, 2013
Pros: job was challenging and rewarding
Cons: location. was not a fan of living in statesboro
I was the office manager of the Department of Finance and Economics with a faculty load of 28. I loved my Department, it could be demanding at times. I would answer phones, create schedules for semesters and register them in Banner, file paperwork, register students for classes. I enjoyed every minute. I like to stay busy and I worked with a great staff.