Georgia State University Employee Reviews

Found 386 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gsu
Adminstrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 9, 2017
Type of work you are doing must be personally rewarding. Pay is not high at a University. It can be difficult to land a permanent position. Networking is very important for upward movement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work but did not compensate for the work we did
Senior Account Specialist (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 31, 2017
Great place to work. My direct manager is a hard working individual and sometimes she or her department got the credit she deserved. Management over her undervalues her expertise and knowledge.
Pros
Great coworkers and benefits
Cons
Management Team (Enrollment Services) not about their people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GSU Review
Director of Development (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 21, 2017
GSU is a great organization! The most enjoyable part about working at GSU was being a part of an organization that was growing and many of the leaders had great vision of where the organization was moving.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship really
Teaching Assistant Neuroscience Lab (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 17, 2017
Must be a neuroscience student at Georgia State. I loved working in the lab and learning so many great techniques. This will open so many doors for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Administrative Coordinator Senior (Former Employee) –  Alanta GaJuly 15, 2017
The experience was good to work with international students and faculty. Learned about other countries and management was work willing to train. Not enough hours in the day for the work load. Meeting so many other people from different countries and their culture ways.
Pros
Really good students and faculty
Cons
Not enough time for the demand of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dope
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 8, 2017
I liked it, had fun, learned a lot. Good experience. It was an internship that helped me learn a lot about this and that. you know how it is but yeah pretty cool
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Federal Work Study
Student Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 7, 2017
I absolutely loved this job because it was a work study position so the management team understood and appreciated that school was my first priority. I enjoyed the office setting and all the common practices of working in an office.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informative
Student EHR Interface (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 7, 2017
This was a Capstone Project during my senior year at Georgia State University. It gave my team the opportunity to work together with creating an EHR interface for other Health Related Masters students the opportunity to use.
Pros
Being able to work on a team
Cons
Different schedules amongst team members
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, excellent opportunities to learn
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 6, 2017
Diverse Culture
Very supportive and encouraging superiors.
Working as research assistant, you get less benefits and the least amount of pay within the university. Even so, they do appreciate you and show it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GSU Researcher
Undergraduate Researcher (Former Employee) –  GeorgiaJuly 3, 2017
It was an excellent work environment. Very supportive and encouraging superiors. My responsibility included lab work and work with the mouse animal model. I learned many skills including IHC and Stereotaxic injections. This also made me well prepared to be proficient in a laboratory environment.
Pros
Free lunches, fun work, lots to learn, wonderful people
Cons
No healthcare, long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low morral ! High Turnover
Executive Chef (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 30, 2017
If you wake up each day to go to work, you shouldn't worry about getting fired if you're doing your best ! You should be excited to go to work with your teammates.
Pros
working for the State, Great Benefits
Cons
Poor work environment, Low morral, High turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable but boring
Assistant Director (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 29, 2017
Pay is on the high side for education in comparison to all other Atlanta/GA institutions. The work is pretty simple and definitely not challenging. Work can be very flexible and the vacation/sick leave is amazing.
Pros
Vacation Time, Flexibility
Cons
Not challenging
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Jobs for students
Housing Department Mail Room Assistant (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 28, 2017
As a student assistant in the housing department for GSU you know that you inhabit the lowest rung on the ladder in the chain of command. This means you get less benefits and the least amount of pay within the university. This is pretty much understood by everyone though. Even so, they do appreciate you and show it. The majority of the people working in the Housing Department are really nice and are concerned about their student workers, which is really nice.
Pros
Good job for students looking for entry level positions.
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and family
Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 28, 2017
Very family oriented staff. Very fun place to be with great atmosphere to work in. Happy to come to work everyday because interactions with guests and residents are worth it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am a student here
Student (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 24, 2017
I go to Georgia State for my undergraduate education. I have not worked in any position for the school. I simply attend it to learn. My major is in biology.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative and innovative
Graduate Student (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 19, 2017
When I was working for RB I learnt a lot; like the multi cultures, how to interact with people, to express and share my ideas and how to stay optimistic and be optimistic. Our team main focus was to study the stability of the product, we worked so hard to produce the required data for that product to get approval from the specific bodies for different countries. The product was introduced in many countries successfully.

When it comes to Georgia state, it is again like different culture to me being a native Indian. I enjoyed most learning things and teaching to undergraduate students.
Pros
talks from Industry CEOs and directors
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for career advancement and skill development
Academic Advisor II (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 18, 2017
Learned a lot and grateful for the opportunity to work here!
Gained valuable insight on the field of higher education and student engagement. Loved working with students
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Professor of English, part time (Former Employee) –  GeorgiaJune 17, 2017
Overall, I found the students to be interactive and simply wonderful to teach.
The English department is simply grand--easy peers with which to work.
Administration is a bit confused at this time.
Pros
energetic students
Cons
administration needs work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its alright.
Success Academy Mentor (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 15, 2017
As a resident assistant work life is pretty stressful. There isn't really any room for error and the supervisors i had really didn't care even though they acted like they did.
The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the housing residents.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very slow pace
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 13, 2017
It has a nice scenery and is also located in the heart of Downtown. I liked the job because it was something that i could do while i was waiting for my classes to start.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Georgia State University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 387 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.9
Culture
4.1

Georgia State University Reviews by Location