Find companies:
Gerdau Ameristeel
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
275 reviews

Gerdau Ameristeel Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gerdau is a good company to work for
Senior Operator, Offline (Former Employee), Petersburg, VADecember 10, 2014
Pros: plenty of time off good benifits good employees
Cons: working out side. cold, hot .dusty.
Work 12hr rotating shifts. I learned quite a few skills crane saw mill operations load railcars load over the road trucks to many to list Gerdau is very safety oriented. employees are work well together throwing 70lb dunnage most of the shift was the hardest part of the job working with a team oriented employees was the most enjoyable part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK
SAP IDM and Security Administrator (Current Employee), Tampa, FLDecember 9, 2014
Good experience to work in health care.. old application.. legacy systems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my daily job at work
Laborer/Equipment Operator (Current Employee), Roanoke, VADecember 8, 2014
typical day go work talk to co workers see what jobs need to be done for day then would have strech time, everyday learned something new from saftey to metals to a new way load truck, management was good at first but then seem like they pick the people they like the most then ride others hard, was sad thet where like that but that how the yard manger – more... was faras coworkers got along fine with them enjoyed working with them,hardest part about job when you would work the best you could and they always want more from you the most i enjoyed the most was working with most coworkers the benefits they offer and the job i do knowing i did best i new how – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team environment
Utility Operator (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNDecember 1, 2014
Pros: good helpful team members, great friends
Cons: heat & long days
Everybody who is there is helpful for the most part. They'll show you how do anything or help you. From the newest member to the most experienced they'll jump right in when help is needed. If you don't like heat tho I suggest you stay in the warehouse cause it stays well above 100 in the summer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique place to work
Strand Operator (Former Employee), Sand Springs, OKNovember 30, 2014
Pros: working on airplanes.
Cons: unpredictable future.
Odd culture that causes paranoia among different races. Working on planes is the best thing about it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my 10-year tenure very much
Buyer/Expeditor (Former Employee), Petersburg, VANovember 19, 2014
Pros: excellent pay and benefits
Cons: none come to mind
Gained a lot of experience, enjoyed my co-workers and was impressed with the amount of community enjoyment that was afforded
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsafe and unethical business practices
Ironworker (Former Employee), Aberdeen WANovember 13, 2014
Pros: non
Cons: everything about the place. go back to california and stay there.
Worst job I have ever had. Manager never came out of his office. All the foreman where a bunch of young kids that where smart mouthed and never really told you what they expected of you. VERY unprofessional work environment. They also took advantage of break times and didn't give you state mandated breaks. One ten minute break in the morning and a lunch – more... in a 8 hour day? I don't think so. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Shear Operator (Former Employee), Joliet, ILNovember 3, 2014
Gerdau was a great company to be a part of and was very happy during my time there. I was given the opportunity to cross-train and learn every aspect of my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you're tough, you'll survive
Melt Shop Operations Hand (Former Employee), Sand Springs, OKOctober 9, 2014
Pros: great benefits, high wages, frewquent overtime
Cons: high noise, high heat, dirty work and hazardous materials
Gerdau Ameristeel is not for the faint of heart. This is a steel melting operation, and the product is at over 20,000Ā°F when during each pour (called a "tap"). Steel smelting is among the top five most hazardous job fields in the United States, and Gerdau does a credible job of ensuring the safety of employees. If you are willing to put in the sweat, – more... lift the loads, and continue showing up, they will reward you with steady work, frequent overtime, and excellent wages and benefits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pros and Cons of the Job
Innovation and Management II (Current Employee), 28269October 5, 2014
Pros:
Good work/life balance
Great benefits
Bonus program
Co-workers
Location

Cons:
Seniority doesn't transfer
Little paid vacation
Dependent on parent company
Unclear career path options
Unknown lateral moves to other departments
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good company
Rebar Designer (Former Employee), york, paOctober 4, 2014
Pros: fun and well built company
Cons: there were no cons.
I would work with microstation and apply hat I learned at yti to complete jobs for customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, bad management
Rebar Detailer/ Coordinator (Former Employee), Irving, TexasOctober 4, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: bad managment and poor treatment
i was very excited at the beginning with all the things that they told me i will be part of, but they started to hire people with little to no experience and they will want you to tell everything that you know while the other supervisor and manager were just having no trouble working. bad managment and poor business desicions is making good employees – more... to leave the company as i did and the operation manager have no loyalty to his employees. Still a very good opportunity for people starting new on this career, but no chance to grow professionally after you reach the coordinator position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of employees who were very good at their jobs.
Back-up Site Manager (Former Employee), martinsville, VASeptember 7, 2014
Pros: filled in for site managers that were on vacation or out for town for awhile.
Cons: the enviroment: very hot, cold, dusty, dealing with the weather in general
Checking inventory, daily equipment maint. reports, morning meetings w/ employees discussing job requirements for the day, work closely w/ Site Manager reviewing new projects and how to meet operational goals.

Safety training was a high priority for the company, the training was very helpful in keeping our employees safe.

Immediate management was – more... very good and insightful

I managed 5 equipment operators and field workers and all were very good at what they were required to do.

Keeping up with all the new requirements sent to us from the Corporate Offices in Brazil.

All the employees. We all got along very well, had our disagreements from time to time, worked them out, then moved on and worked as a team to complete the required tasks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Petersburg site is a joke
Production Worker (Former Employee), Petersburg, VAAugust 31, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: little to no breaks and everyday wondering if you will have a job
Petersburg management is a joke and HR dept is for management. You are just a number to them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no advancements
Senior Operator (Former Employee), Petersburg, VAAugust 27, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: everything
bad management......lots of favoritism in departments. lots of time off during the month. only work 15 days swing shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sell your self to brazil
stand guide builder (Former Employee), Cartersville, GAAugust 23, 2014
Pros: money
Cons: dangerous job
great job for the money, but everyday could be your last if someone makes a mistake. hard hot sweaty long 12 hour days but the money is great. Advancement isn't great takes years to move up and everyone is cutting each other down to move up. It could be called a shark tank environment. cell phones are allow and make it very deadly enviroment. I loved – more... this job and have many friends that work here but it is only for the money. everyday could be your last day isn't an scare tactic you except it and learn to live with your choice or you don't work here. Over 300 near miss a month and thats a guarantee fact. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice business to work for if you can handle hard, manual labor for 8-12 hours a day.
Rebar Fabricator (Current Employee), Decatur, ILAugust 18, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: long hours
Gerdau is a nice business to work for if you can handle hard, manual labor for 8-12 hours a day. They offer great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goal Oriented
Foreman (Current Employee), Midlothian, TXAugust 13, 2014
Goal oriented productive environment focused on results driven by safety.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
large steel mill in st paul minnesota
set up shop (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNAugust 6, 2014
I started in the bundling pit which is the starting point for most rookie employee's. I then worked my way into the bundling pit and the crane. a position came open in the set up shop so I put a bid on it. my trainer was the best in the set up shop. we proved how good we were by very seldom making mistakes and it became our job to also double check – more... the other shifts mill stand that they set up in order to ensure they were up to specs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work place
Quality Control First Inspector (Former Employee), Perth Amboy, NJJuly 30, 2014
Productive and challenging work place. inspection, dangerous, very hot but learned alot

1 2 3 4 5

About Gerdau Ameristeel

Gerdau AmeristeelĀ puts its stamp on the steel business in the US. The company is one of the largest minimill steelmakers in North – Read more