Find companies:
Gerdau Ameristeel
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
326 reviews

Gerdau Ameristeel United States Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Cost Analyst (Current Employee), Monroe, MIApril 27, 2015
Fun and challenging place to work. I've learned a lot about the steel industry as well as cost accounting. My co-workers are very enjoyable to work with as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co workers
Supervisor - Corey Lounds (Former Employee), Lansing, MIApril 14, 2015
Pros: Co workers, profit sharing, pay, benefits
Cons: The management is a joke and they act like theyre better than everyone else in the shop.
An average day was challenging and made you use critical thinking to solve problems that may occur on the spot to keep equipment moving and the job rolling. i learned a great many things such as quality control fork lift and crane operation arc flash training and so on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience
Rebar Specialist (Former Employee), Perth Amboy, NJApril 6, 2015
Pros: many hours in season
Cons: slow winters
learn to work in teams of threes to accomplish daily requirement, great work environment and co-workers. Task are easy to master
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work enviroment
Operator (Current Employee), Canton, OHApril 6, 2015
Pros: paid lunch unless you leave property, good healthcare
Cons: always mandatory overtime, average week is 50+ hours
Get assigned to what you will be doing on your shift, typically i drive a forklift for the coating line. I will swap tubs empty tubs out of the loader with filled ones and place the empty ones underneath the unload station. When i would operate the coating line I would be up on the platform taking doors off of a steel barrel and pushing buttons to take the barrel to the fill station. Fill the barrel then put the doors back on and then enter the cycle and dryer codes into the computer so the system knew what to do with those specific parts. Its a repetitive job you do the same thing over and over just with different parts going into the barrels
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company with strong corporate culture
Process Engineer (Former Employee), Calvert City, KYApril 1, 2015
Pros: Great compensation and monthly bonuses, sense of accomplishment performing work, advancement opportunities, comprehensive training, safety, union plant (if you are hourly)
Cons: Harsh environment, union plant (if you are managment), manufacuring cycles can be volitile leading to lay offs
Brazilian owned company that actually imbeds its goals and culture into its business systems and incentives. Values and goals trickle down from top management. Employees are rewarded both by recognition and financially for achieving good performance. Training is available and very comprehensive. Continuous improvement is pervasive and on-going. Advancement opportunities are available and are given based on merit, much unlike other companies in the region. This company made me a more marketable and valuable candidate due to the training and experience I gained. The environment is cold in the winter and very hot in the summer. The mill is a dirty and dangerous place to work, so it is not for everyone. However, safety is paramount and I never felt unsafe. Safety training is given often and safety as a top core value is very evident.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good money and Benifits everything else sucks.
Maintenance (Current Employee), Petersburg, VAMarch 24, 2015
Pros: Good money Benifits
Cons: No time off and management sucks.
Management expects you to work six days a week, no balance for family or life. 8 hour rotating shifts suck. We use to work 12 hour rotating shifts and had days off in between. But the company found out they could save a dollar and make everybody miserable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place for a Steel Mill
Rolling Mill Operator (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXFebruary 14, 2015
This is a great place to work, Its noisy, dirty and a lil dangerous but worth it. The Management and employees are great. I highly recommend.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and good pay and benefits
North America IT Problem Manager (Former Employee), TampaFebruary 9, 2015
Pros: great people to work with
Cons: not enough vacation time off
A very diverse workplace with really great people from all over the world. No two days were ever the same. In the 8 years that I was at Gerdau, I had 5 managers, 18 different desks and 4 different titles. Gerdau has some of the best people working for them and I have learned a lot from them and I always gave 110% because the company was so good to me. The light hearted kidding around, while still working hard and getting the job done was what made me go to work everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place
HUMAN RESOURCES GENERALIST (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNFebruary 5, 2015
Good place to work. Many of the benefits are good. The people are the best part of the whole place.

Unique place to work at different than most places you will work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gerdau
Welder (Former Employee), Arlington, TNFebruary 3, 2015
Pros: same hours every week
Cons: poor management, low pay
Gerdau is ok. Pay is not very good but relaxed environment. Management is always harassing you and watching you. No benefits because you are hired through a temp service (TBI). It is a good place to start out if you are looking for experience. Just not a somewhere to have a career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Support
Sr. Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Muskogee, OKJanuary 24, 2015
Cons: lack of support
The maintenance tech get little or no support on performing their job functions, average work week was 60 hours plus. Constant battle to get things done. Only one tech to cover the facility consisting of 5 buildings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with great people.
Electrical Engineer (Current Employee), Knoxville, TNJanuary 17, 2015
Pros: good company with great people.
Cons: pay raises are small
- Implemented project to become the first of TVA’s 400+ eligible customers to implement electronic curtailment shutdown. Article appeared in Knoxville News Sentinel. System shuts down the steel mill in less than 5 minutes. Contract savings: $175k/mo.
- Implemented Peak Power limiter. Electrical savings up to $51k/mo.
- Designed and implemented quick connect system on 69MVA transformer allowing 300+ control wires to be connected/disconnected in < 10 minutes. Benchmark allows for quickest transformer changeout corporate wide.
- Designed and implemented water-cooled boxes housing wireless thermocouples mounted on furnace walls.
- Letters of Commendation (4)
- Employee of the Month: December 2009
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steel Mill
Roll Shop (Current Employee), Petersburg, VAJanuary 15, 2015
This is a good company to work for. A typical day there is do your job, be on time, and do the right things at all times. What I have learned there will be apart of my everyday life. My coworkers are very interesting people to be around at work. The most enjoyable part of my day is knowing that I have done what is expected of me, and sent out a quality product to be used in the rolling mill.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people management suspect
crane operator/ finishing B operator (Former Employee), rose city, txJanuary 13, 2015
Pros: good people
Cons: management sucks
the work was hard in the beginning. hot as well but u get used to getting burned from molten steel. co workers cool, some can be hard to get along with but that's everywhere. hardest part of the job was working on deck in the middle of summer while you running rebar that comes off the cooling deck red. its still hot as fire and you have to trim the end sections off depending on inspection. very bad day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work.
Human Resources Manager (Current Employee), Midlothian, TXJanuary 4, 2015
Strong culture and safe work environment. The corporate structure is a bit convoluted. Major improvements could be made if this structure was minimized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
office work
Master Data (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJanuary 3, 2015
Pros: 40 hours a week, holidays off, vacation
Cons: job security
everything you can expect from a standard office job. 8-5 job. you spend most of your day emailing and working in data entry systems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No support
electrician (Former Employee), Beaumont TxJanuary 1, 2015
Pros: good pay and benefits.
Cons: closed minded leadership.horrible union representation.
There is no support from company or union.
If the company wants you out, the union steps aside and is of no benefit.
No matter how hard you work, if a foreman gets a personal dislike for you, you are done.
Leadership is permitted to allow personal feeling towards you dictate your status, no matter how exemplary your performance is.
Union reps step aside so they can have your position.
Safety is secondary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good compensation, great people
Manager (Former Employee), Petersburg, VADecember 16, 2014
Pros: great profit sharing
Cons: too many corporate initiatives that detract from work
Too and way too much time in meetings and doing things not directly related to your job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gerdau is a good company to work for
Senior Operator, Offline (Former Employee), Petersburg, VADecember 10, 2014
Pros: plenty of time off good benifits good employees
Cons: working out side. cold, hot .dusty.
Work 12hr rotating shifts. I learned quite a few skills crane saw mill operations load railcars load over the road trucks to many to list Gerdau is very safety oriented. employees are work well together throwing 70lb dunnage most of the shift was the hardest part of the job working with a team oriented employees was the most enjoyable part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK
SAP IDM and Security Administrator (Current Employee), Tampa, FLDecember 9, 2014
Good experience to work in health care.. old application.. legacy systems.

1 2 3 4 5

About Gerdau Ameristeel

Gerdau Ameristeel puts its stamp on the steel business in the US. The company is one of the largest minimill steelmakers in North – Read more

Gerdau Ameristeel Salaries

Crane Operator
$20.24 per hour
Operator
$40,000 per year
$18.15 per hour
Crane Operator
$55,000 per year
Machine Operator
$36,000 per year