Gerdau Ameristeel Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company shut down our plant even though we were a profitable facility.
Industrial Maintenance Electrician (Current Employee) –  Calvert City, KYOctober 16, 2017
I am a loyal employee and would have worked at my plant until I retired but am being forced out because of corporate greed. Many families were kicked to the curb right before Thanksgiving so had to spend their holiday season without income.
Pros
Great bunch of hourly empoyees!
Cons
Corporate management not very good at their jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NIce place to work, but unreasonable
Rebar Fabricator (Former Employee) –  King George, VASeptember 28, 2017
Nice place to work. Probationary periods are important. However, when a relatively new employee who is trying to prove himself has the Flu and is out (with a doctor note) for more than three days, they are terminated. I supposed it would have been better to go to work with the Flu, infect the other employees, and operate heavy machinery -- and lose an arm or worse.
Pros
Nice place to work
Cons
Unreasonable
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
loaded/unloaded trucks (Former Employee) –  Cartersville, GASeptember 22, 2017
loaded/unloaded trucksits nothing to learn there management is no good at all workplace is dusty and dirty the hardest part is very hot summers and very very cold winters nothing is enjoyable
Pros
good pay if they hire you
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding business
VP/GENERAL MANAGER - WORKS MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNSeptember 14, 2017
Competitive work place with continuous need to improve results and reduce cost. Inventory balance due to cash flow was a daily topic. Union engagement is a challenge,
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Great amount of time to be dedicated
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great time
Ladle maintaince (Current Employee) –  Midlothian, TXSeptember 14, 2017
It's very hot there but if you can deal with it you'll be just fine there a lot to deal with but all and all a great place to work I loved it here but it was time for me to expand
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard labor job working in different climates.
Shear Operator (Former Employee) –  Muncie, INSeptember 11, 2017
The typical day at work changed each day due to the varying needs for rebar from construction companies. This job taught me to work hard in a group setting in order to meet important deadlines.
Pros
Paid weekly and benefits
Cons
Very hot in summer and very cold in winter.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job can be fun because of the coworkers
Ladle tender (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCSeptember 5, 2017
The job is hard,dirty and physically demanding but the coworkers made the job fun a lot of the time. The rotating shifts were the worst part. The management team was easily to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Crane Operator (Former Employee) –  Navasota, TXAugust 22, 2017
Good place to work under proper management and great benefits,until new facility management came in poor work ethic,young and no insight or experience. Was not objective,did not listen to employees.I worked for this facility for several years and had an excellent attendance record,I was very reliable and a hard worker.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
terrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Eldridge, IAAugust 15, 2017
This is a decent place to work if you don't like having a life outside of work pay is good benefits for good and bonuses are great. Shop safety is a big priority which I find to be a plus overall I would work here again if I had to
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gone downhill
SBQ Account Specialist (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLAugust 9, 2017
The struggle in the steel market has made for rash management decisions and a work environment based in fear. No feeling of job security. Anyone could go.
Pros
good benefits; good co-workers
Cons
terrible culture; lack of opportunity for upward mobility
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job stability
Marterial handler (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNAugust 3, 2017
I'm the individual treat others as you want to be treated. I've thrive off of team work. It's great far as the benefits for my family other than that everything else is down hill
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Pay Freeze, Don't care about the workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is ran by incompetent leaders
Metallurgical Technician (Former Employee) –  Cartersville, GAJuly 29, 2017
A joke of a place compared to what it use to be . The Brazilians have ran this place into the ground. They care nothing about employees youre only a number to them unless you are a Brazilian
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To much gray area within working envoirment
Operator Technician (Former Employee) –  Bmt TxJuly 12, 2017
No team work. No clear vision for future. Not much room for advancement. Not much growth in wages. Poor management To many chiefs not enough Indians.
Pros
All PPE provided by company safety boot voucher per year.
Cons
Poor working equipment, lack of tools, electrical mechanical nightmare
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Training
Rebar Detail Drafter - Commercial, ASA, SAP (Current Employee) –  Irving, TXJuly 11, 2017
Training went really well and diverse within learning the structure of work flow. I was able to learn the CRSI certification training and understanding of the ACI manuals. Training manger was very knowledgeable and helpful
Was this review helpful?YesNo 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, good teamwork, and good job
Rodbuster (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTJuly 11, 2017
I've worked with this company, and they are a legitimate company to work for. Very good communication with overall job tasks. Good directions, good supervisor, and good time schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced manufacturing facility
HR Manager (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJuly 2, 2017
Gerdau has a strong people oriented culture. I have found that employees from across the Company are always willing to assist a co worker in need. There is a great feeling of teamwork across the management level.
Pros
Organizational culture that supports openess and enpowerment.
Cons
Constantly changing to keep pace with the global steel market.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
going downhill
Crane Operator (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJune 22, 2017
when I started at Gerdau it seemed like a decent job.
benefits started the same day and there was an incentive program. the longer I stayed the more I realized how much things were changing for the worst. The steel industry profit margin is slim which meant sometimes losing work from not having enough orders to fill. you had to put in a lot of overtime in order to make a decent paycheck. the company could care less about the employees. the turnover rate is really high. the machinery and equipment are really old. they don't believe in making the necessary repairs if it will shut down production. we constantly had to fight to get things repaired. its always a patch job. stay away.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work and job life balance
Operator (Current Employee) –  Huntington, INJune 22, 2017
Good company to work for just have no balance in home life. But they do a good job of showing us they see our achievements. With gifts and dinners just wish they would work on the home life.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Overtime very high
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly environment
Crane/Pit Crane Operator/Big red forklift operator (Former Employee) –  Midlothian, TX 76065June 21, 2017
its a very dangerous job. employee friendly . very hot temperature . uniform is un comfortable. . but other than that this is a great job . pay is fair
Pros
monday down days
Cons
very dangerous not paid breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lie to your face
Routine Facilitator III- Caster Operation (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJune 21, 2017
Decent place for hourly workers as they will not let the older ones go for no reason even though they have taken away at least 40% of their income in the last several years; slowly but surly.
Pros
Free uniforms
Cons
Will only get promoted if you are Brizillian
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Gerdau Ameristeel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 556 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.8