Gerdau Ameristeel Employee Reviews

Found 239 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It started out as a great place to work
Sales CSR (Former Employee) –  Cartersville, GAMarch 27, 2017
There were a lot of management changes during my time there and at the end I chose to leave to find something more stable.
The location I worked is no longer a Gerdau plant.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging job.
Senoir Operator (Current Employee) –  Midlothian, TXMarch 27, 2017
A typical day at work generally starts with me arriving an hour early for a production meeting.After the meeting I preform overhead crane inspections.
Pros
Lunches catered by vendors.
Cons
Break are encourage due to the dangerous enviroment in which I work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steel manufacturing with poor personnel retention
Management Associate (Former Employee) –  Monroe, MIMarch 21, 2017
Involved in a program specifically for recently graduated engineers to receive management training. Company-wide atmosphere was positive and encouraging, specific site did not value employees and was constantly cutting personnel. Threatening environment, little stability, and treated employees poorly.
Pros
Good pay, Gerdau overall had promising ideas and expectations
Cons
Didn't value employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very long hours in summer
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Muncie, INMarch 21, 2017
Very good place to work because of pay. Management and hrs suck. They dint care about you having a life from work and if you work seconds you might as well sleep there all week
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
FURNACE ATTENDANT (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 16, 2017
Workday was always challenging.Learned so much
producing steel.Co-workers always worked well together with
everyone.Management was helpful day in and day out.
Pros
Wages, Insurance Excellent.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employees
Marketing Analyst II (Former Employee) –  Midlothian, TXMarch 7, 2017
In spite of industry changes and challenges, Gerdau employees are a family and the Midlothian Sales Teams set the bar for cooperation and customer empathy.
Pros
worked with nice people
Cons
corporate management does not foster growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fantasic work place culture, coworkers and mangment.
Detailer / DOT Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Lawrenceville, GAMarch 4, 2017
The job is challenging but the management and coworkers are more then helpful to ensure success. All the additional job place activities are fun as well.
Pros
Helpful culture
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Staff
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Dania Beach, FLFebruary 27, 2017
I loved working with the people there. they are very friendly and willing to help with anything you need. This place is a true team like environment. Just old run down equipment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Adavancement
Customer Server Representative (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLFebruary 24, 2017
Does not know how to keep good people within the company, and the company is constantly changing. Employee benefits are getting worse every year.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job
crane operator (Current Employee) –  Muskogee, OKFebruary 13, 2017
its good place to work, good pay and good benefits. the most enjoyable are the people that I work together, good team, good pace and solid pays. we receive plenty of training there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for advancement, great culture, good people to work with
HRIS Administrator (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLFebruary 10, 2017
Nice place to work, but too far from home to travel each day. Very friendly staff. Offers annual pay increases and insurance incentives.
Pros
Good healthcare
Cons
Short staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company to work for.
Mill Operator (Former Employee) –  Calvert City, KYFebruary 8, 2017
Worst managed business I have ever worked with. Management shut down a mill making over a million dollars a month to try to save one mill that was consistently loosing money.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
No job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work...if it doesnt close
Mechanical Drafter Designer (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCFebruary 6, 2017
I LOVED my job here. Slow at times, but WONDERFUL co-workers. We were like family. Just got laid off due to lack of funds. Company has been going downhill since i started 3 years ago. It is not a company to work for if you want a secure job. A lot of plants are closing or laying off employees. But overall the work environment and the flexability was AMAZING. Sad to go but with all the cuts in bonus and OT, I am happy to find a more stable company on their way up not down.
Pros
flexability
Cons
going downhill
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hot dirty production environment
Forging Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Lancaster, SCJanuary 17, 2017
good stable place to work, hot, dirty production environment, limited promotion opportunities, good set of production employees, good management team in place
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Environment.
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Fort Smith, ARJanuary 10, 2017
Heard the hours have been cut, but other than that it was a great place. Was hot in the summer, and cold in the winter. The pay was good.
Pros
Pay.
Cons
Hot.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Working Experience
Steel Worker (Former Employee) –  Sayreville, NJJanuary 9, 2017
Management was helpful, 12 hours work days with swing every other week. Co-workers were like family socialized off hours.
Knowiwng I did the best job possible without any injury and reach the compnay goals were the best self gradification on the job.
Pros
Salary, Comradary, and my work ethic knowing I produced the best job.
Cons
Long hours, few days off and swiing shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workforce
Mill Team Operator (Former Employee) –  Calvert City, KYJanuary 5, 2017
Was a good place to work. Poor management.Good workforce, good compensation. Hard, hot work but very fulfilling. Challenging work. Good benefits, received a lot of valuable experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive team and great training
Detailer/Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Duluth, GAJanuary 4, 2017
They trained me really well and have a very knowledgeable staff that are always willing to help and take time out of their busy schedule to assist on my projects.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place, many skills aquired.
production control expeditor (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MIJanuary 2, 2017
The company gives emoplyees input in environment. The benifits are great. The skills given increase on a regular bases in all areas worked. Advancements.
Pros
Benifits, work advancement
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Losing priorities on customers and employees
Gerdau Tampa (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLDecember 20, 2016
Good company that has changing priorities. Due to outsourcing strategy, the company has lost focus on its customers and employees.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Lack of job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Gerdau Ameristeel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 533 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.9