Find companies:
Gerdau Ameristeel
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
187 reviews

Gerdau Ameristeel Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gerdau is a great place to work with great benefits and compensation
Charge Crane Operator (Former Employee), Cartersville, GAApril 8, 2013
I loaded the EBT Furnace with scarp steel, refilled alloys and helped maintenance with repairs. Management at Gerdau are all top notch. my co-workers were my friends. they are very safety concious and did their jobs with precision.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive with a lot of hands on
General Helper (Former Employee), Duluth, GAApril 1, 2013
A typical day at work consist of a lot of inspecting,cutting and bending Steel bars.The management was great and my coworkers was excellent helpers as well good with communication.There were no hard work there just common sense
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hot and fast paced
Maintenance / Plant Electrician (Former Employee), Canton, OhioMarch 10, 2013
Pros: learning opportunities, good wages and benifets
Cons: long hours, strict attendance point system
There was always something new to learn. Educational opportunities were great as well. Long hours along with weekends & holidays were the normal. Would have retired from there however, after working there for almost 12yrs, I was let go during a low point in my life. In my opinion, legalism trumps hard work and dedication. Over the years, alot of good – more... people were let go. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They always had cookouts and bonuses when we met our quotas.
Flatbed truck operator (Former Employee), King George, VAMarch 10, 2013
Pros: the cookouts and fun
Cons: i had to leave that job
Well I loved operating that kind of crane and the managment team was great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive jod
Forklift/Machinist (Former Employee), Sayreville, NJDecember 6, 2012
Pros: great pay, uniforms and uniform cleaning service, great benefits
Cons: very hot, very dirty
forklifting and machinist...I lerned about different calbrations for different size bars and I beams.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of cultural diversity,
Q.A. tech. (Former Employee), At. Paul, MNNovember 2, 2012
Management sucks at the St. Paul ,MN Mill. Your either in or your out. Horrible place to work I wouldn't recommend anyone to work here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production of car parts
Heavy Machine Operator, Forklift Driver (Former Employee), Canton, OHOctober 30, 2012
Long hot days because of the furnaces your work with. For the most part it was easy work. Great people work there, they are easy to get along with and very welcoming. The management was good also easy to get along with. The hardest part would have to be the coiner because it jammed a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overhead crane operator
Overhead crane operator (Former Employee), Sayreville, NJOctober 16, 2012
Pros: i was able to learn as much as i want
Cons: getting laid off really took a toll on me
I was happy working at Gerdau. I was capably of doing many thing besides my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, very efficient.
Mill laborer/ crane operator (Former Employee), Joliet, IllinoisOctober 14, 2012
Pros: great benefits, competitive wages, bonuses.
Cons: workforce needs to flex for the workload.
Only worked there for about 5 months. Started as a mill laborer cutting steel with an acetylene torch. Moved into a crane operator after a few months which was really fun. Watched one of the 7 people that started with me move into a lead position only after a few months, only to get laid off after 5 months. They only laid off about 12 people. Which – more... is a lot since it only seemed like about 75 people total for all 3 shifts. Worst part of the job was cleaning the furnace, and having to run from red hot pieces of steel that snaked up over your head. This was back in 2008, so not sure how this facility is doing now.

Coworkers were great. 1st line supervisors were good. The plant manager had a stick up somewhere. Best part of the job is that there are other opportunities within this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The biggest group of idiots gathered in one location..
Roll Guide Set-Up and Repair Tech (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCSeptember 18, 2012
Pros: it use to pay well now the pay is horrible considering the work.
Cons: no breaks, lunch when you can
Management sucks at the Charlotte Mill. Your either in or your out. Horrible place to work I wouldn't recommend anyone to work here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of cultural diversity
Union worker (Former Employee), Rancho CucamongaSeptember 13, 2012
Pros: decent pay
Cons: very little cultural diversity
This is a good company to work for in Rancho Cucamonga, CA and at this time you stand a good chance of getting hired... if you are Mexican. There is little, very little cultural diversity and it doesn't seem to be getting any better. There are hardly any white or black employees working here. About 95% are Mexican and they seem to still only hire Mexican – more... people even though this type of practice is illegal in the United States. They get away with it because no one will report them. Even the Hispanics employees notice the race ratio. This company needs to be ashamed at their hiring practices. I worked there for several years and all I'd seen as new hires are the same race of people. – less

Burns – July 1, 2013

It's the same way the napa shop

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok Place to work
Rebar Detailer/Lister (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOSeptember 13, 2012
Pros: good benefits
Cons: winters are no fun in construction.
If you like Rebar, this is the place. Busy in Summer, slow in winter.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours, good pay, appear employee oriented but fake
Past employee (Former Employee), Monroe, MIAugust 26, 2012
Pros: good pay and incentive with many good people working there
Cons: culture change intiative currently taking place, talk high on safety but practical application is lacking.
going through culture change and tip toe around in doing it. Corporate values are sound but being lost in the plant levels.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard at times and a great place to make friends
CRANE OPERATOR AND FABICATOR (Former Employee), Appleton, WIAugust 14, 2012
Pros: i was able to get all the free rebar i want
Cons: being we had to work over time at the last second.
The typical work day would start out slow at first, because all the work orders would have to be lay out, later on during the day the day would go by fast.
The management of the company would try to look out for the workers in the shop as much as they could.
The co-workers were great because we worked together like a well oiled machine.
The hardest – more... part of the job was to customers happy, which were hard to do at times.
The most enjoyable part of the job is making new friends. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gerdau Fort Smith, AR.
concerned full time employee (Current Employee), Fort Smith, AR.July 31, 2012
Pros: great pay good benefits
Cons: poor managemant, new hire process is outsourced to a recruiting agency
Great place to work if you can get hired on. Don't ever try to work here through a temp service cause they will never hire you. They will let you work there as a temp, train you in different areas of the mill then hire someone off the streets.This is what we call poor management, a waste everybody's time training these temps and then they never hire – more... them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY POOR EMPLOYER
Manager (Current Employee), PAJuly 30, 2012
Pros: none. hide your children
Cons: people of color don't have a chance in this place, your given no assistance in completing task and supporting cast ie. mid management, regional managers do nothing and have nothing to offer.
This company leaves alot to be desired. Trust me management puts on a wonderful show but they only care about the trips, the houses and cars they buy and show no love for the employee on the floor. Total lip service. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME. go to Nucor or Natinal Rebar if you want a real career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place of work with good pay and benefits.
Finishing End Attendant (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNJuly 26, 2012
Depending on the weather, a day at work will vary. I learned the importance of communication and safety at work as well as at home. The management and my co-workers were very informative about job training, job tasks, and job safety. The hardest part of my job was adjusting to the elements and work envoroments. The things I enjoyed the most about my – more... job was compensation/benfits and eveyone going home safely. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place of work with good pay and benefits.
Finishing End Attendant (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNJuly 26, 2012
Depending on the weather, a day at work will vary. I learned the importance of communication and safety at work as well as at home. The management and my co-workers were very informative about job training, job tasks, and job safety. The hardest part of my job was adjusting to the elements and work envoroments. The things I enjoyed the most about my – more... job was compensation/benfits and eveyone going home safely. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here!!!
Detailer/Project Manager (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJuly 13, 2012
Pros: good equipment to work with including cad machines and drafting equipment.
Cons: management located away from workplace has no information about what its workers do.
You either keep or lose your job as result of their production reports and their production talley is based on tonnage of steel detailed and shipped. If you are given projects which have small tonnage then you may be let go. It all depends on the engineering manager and whether he gives you heavy or light jobs. By the way a light job can be more complicated – more... than a heavy job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gerdau work place
Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee), Dinwiddie, VAJuly 9, 2012
At gerdau I work with cranes ,loco. loaders, skid steers . Im also head safety leader on my crew . i write up near misses we have threw out my site . My co-workers are good to work with get along with each other . Hardest part of my job is working threw out a 12 hr day in the heat when your switching rail cars out .

About Gerdau Ameristeel

Gerdau AmeristeelĀ puts its stamp on the steel business in the US. The company is one of the largest minimill steelmakers in North – Read more