Gerdau Ameristeel Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good group of people and works well will each other.
Maintenance Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Cartersville, GAOctober 7, 2016
complete work orders , make repair to equipment and build spare parts. weld or fab equipment, or make repair to building and grounds
Pros
self directed and good managers
Cons
extreme heat and dirty enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company picnic's
electrician (Current Employee) –  Sayreville, NJOctober 6, 2016
making sure overhead cranes have no issues.
job creativity.
talks with us.
awesome
dealing with the heat.
knowing I have no down time because of the work I've done on the cranes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay and benefits. Tough market.
Mill Utility (Current Employee) –  Calvert City, KYOctober 5, 2016
Gerdau is a steel producer operating in North and South America. The pay and benefits are very good, but the over capacity of steel in the global market makes employment in the steel industry unstable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its an alright place to work in the past, but schedule and hours are an issue now
scrapyard operator (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCOctober 3, 2016
this was a great company at one time, but over the past 5 years its been a decline in hours, schedule has changed multiple times, not allowing consistence in being able to juggle family life
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers, but not the best company
Improvement Facilitator (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCSeptember 30, 2016
The company undervalues mid-level managers and request openness, but does not provide that same respect. The overall steel industry seems to be heading rock bottom and plant closures are imminent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with at gerdau
refractory (Former Employee) –  Wilton, IASeptember 28, 2016
Benefits and compensation is good. Swing shift can be tough to get used to. Even though the work is inside most times the heat and cold is a big factor depending on the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally poorly managed
Reliability and Maintenance Leader (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MISeptember 20, 2016
Up until recently, I enjoyed coming to work, I was involved with reliability aspects of operation.
A little over a year ago, I was maintenance representative learning SAP, which has now been cancelled.
I am presently performing numerous functions, that do not relate to reliability. Now due to slowing of business contractors are being let go.
Pros
Well paid
Cons
Poor leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced work place
Overhead Crane/Steel shear operator (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNSeptember 18, 2016
Inspection of the machines before start, Receive workload papers then immediately start to bring stock bars to the sheer area using a over head remote crane to be cut into precise pieces for customer.
Pros
good hours
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is terrible, employees just there for a paycheck
Senior Operator (Former Employee) –  Dinwiddie, VASeptember 17, 2016
Worked there for entirely too long. Management cares more about patting themselves on the back and trying to lay blame for others mistakes. "If I make someone else look bad, I look better"

Safety is a joke. Just depends on who's watching. Rules are bent depending on how much they like you.

Kept trying to do the same/more work with less people, and of course didn't want to pay you more money to do more work.

Kept cutting hours bonuses, somehow I made LESS money, despite getting small raises yearly.
Pros
Its a job
Cons
management, hours, pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good benefits,decent salary,safety minded
Raw Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Calvert City, KYSeptember 16, 2016
Seems Gerdau was more interested in how the business was run then running the business. being hourly seems like the managers didn't listen aswell as they could have.
Pros
Safety was the #1 priority, good vaction time
Cons
benefits could have been better, Ins, personal time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report

Want to know more about Gerdau Ameristeel?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work enviroment
Metallurgical Technician (Current Employee) –  Calvert City, KYAugust 26, 2016
I gained a new family working here which is the best thing having this job. The pay was great for the area. Work environment was hot in summer and cold in the winter but all together a great place
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment but hard work, worth the pay.
SHREDDER UTILITY] GERDAU SHREDDER (Former Employee) –  Wilton, IAAugust 24, 2016
not a bad place to work its dirty and can can be hard but the pay is pretty good and most coworkers are nice easy going peaple
Pros
strait days
Cons
very dirty
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dd
Maintenance & Reliability Manager (Current Employee) –  Calvert City, KYAugust 22, 2016
A company that tried to inflict Brazilian culture on its employees.

Over the past years decreased benefits to low levels.

Put Obamacare directives in place 4 years early
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fulfilling place to work, room for advancement!
Routine Facilitator (Former Employee) –  Wilton, IAAugust 4, 2016
By far my favorite job thus far in my career. The culture is very open and honest and management wanted to help you advance your career. Coworkers work respectfully as a cohesive team and no discrimination witnessed. The hardest part of the job is sometimes long hours, but flexibility is allowed for comp time. Also summers in a melt shop are very hot, but I would go back in a minute if I could!
Pros
Ability to travel & attend trainings
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sound Company with possibilities for upward mobility.
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sand Springs, OKAugust 2, 2016
Enjoyed working with all teams @ Gerdau. Easy access to all training information and possibilities for upward mobility if willing relocate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over 15 years of experience.
Accounts Payable Specialist (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLAugust 1, 2016
Scheduled payment runs, emails with a ticket system using SAP, Lawson and AS400.
I got along with my co-workers very well.
The hardest part of my job is getting the external buyers to communicate with the AP Department.
The most enjoyable part of the job is the outside events Gerdau sponsored.
Pros
Birthday parking space in the covered garage.
Cons
No overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Getting worse by the day
Melt shop (Current Employee) –  Sayreville, NJJuly 23, 2016
The only thing keeping me sane are my coworkers. They have recently change our incentive program causing myself and others a decrease in pay by about $20,000 per year. With that, they changed our benefits which now cost more. A $75 copay to see the doctor is ridiculous to me when the year prior was $20. The management as a whole went from family oriented to dog eat dog. The CEO in Brazil was recently arrested for embezzlement and tax evasion so I cannot trust it here anymore
Pros
my fellow coworkers
Cons
hot, dusty, dirty
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great pace to work
Payroll/Administrative (Current Employee) –  Midlothian, TXJuly 8, 2016
No complaints, great place to work. Constantly changing with the times. Very professional place to work and very secure place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loyalty
Stand builder / Crew Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Cartersville, GA 30120July 5, 2016
Long hours, but good pay. In a time when it is hard to get even full- time and benefits you get them here. Just be alert and do the job and every thing will work out good.
Pros
Overtime
Cons
Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Sayreville, NJJune 30, 2016
Very productive company. I was on a temporary assignment so I did not get to work here very long. But for the time that I was there it was not bad.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Gerdau Ameristeel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 555 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.8