Find companies:
Getty Images
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

Getty Images Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, interesting work, careers can stagnate quickly.
Manager (Current Employee), SeattleJune 23, 2014
Pros: interesting work, flexible schedules, smart people.
Cons: spotty management, lack of career advancement opportunities.
Management? Spotty. Some very good, some pretty dreadful.

People? Cooperative and well-meaning for the most part. There's a couple of dull-spots in the technology operations team. Management in operations is pretty horrifying.

Opportunities? Lots of opportunity until you earn your label. Once your'e the "XYZ Guy", that's your lot. There's a lot of – more... talk about career progression/support, but it's nearly impossible to find examples of it.

Best thing? Pretty flexible on schedule and realistic on what a person can do in a day or week. Location is quite nice for a commuter.

Worst thing? Lack of career growth. Technology leadership. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An exciting workplace!
Field Editor (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAApril 8, 2014
All of the staff are extremely helpful and patient. I enjoyed working with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Inspiring Culture
Account Executive (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: fast-paced, challenging, constant opportunities for growth
I learned a great deal during my time at Getty Images, some of which I would like provide details on:

- The management team invested much time and effort, to ensure that training tools and career development strategy plans were available to myself and my team at all times

- I learned a lot about what it means to sell, and how that aspect of the business – more... must continue to innovate itself along with the changes and advancements of the company and clients' needs

- My co-workers were fun, smart, engaging, helpful and--my team specifically--truly worked to foster a creative and supportive environment – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sophisticated yet Artsy work environment
software test engineer (Former Employee), Seattle, WAJanuary 3, 2014
Pros: access to some great food places to get lunch
Cons: locaton directly under the fremont bridge where many commit suicide
Being creative is essential to work for this employer. As the system culls out old photos and uploads new photos for the editorial section of Getty Images, I tested the process. Management was pretty straight forward, though the atmosphere was 'clickish' everyone made you feel welcomed. Hardest part was keeping up with the waterfall iterations and daily – more... changes of build schedules. Having access to all the photos used by world wide journal and publications is one of the most outstanding perks of this job! Too bad they decided not to continue my contract. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Independent Sales Executive (Current Employee), Chicago, IL is HQ. I work from my home office.October 17, 2013
Pros: free time. breaks as i want. some early fridays!
Cons: must be self motivated and have thick skin.
This position gives me personal freedom and is a great source of income. I work my own hours and my pay is directly related to my efforts. It requires self motivation and effort.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Most Amazing Company Ever
Director of Human Resources, East Coast (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 19, 2013
Pros: cares about the employees, customers and the business
Cons: matrix work environment can be frustrating
Not a bad thing to say. Constant collaboration, solutions driven, bench mark of success.

Management is focused on ensuring you are ready for your next assignment. Constant feedback, with a true open door policy.

Hardest part of the job was working in an environment where some of the HR functions such as recruitment and talent management work not close – more... to the markets we serviced. Those functions were corporate centralized – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard - play hard - many command performances for after hours outings
former employee - it is a small office (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 23, 2013
Pros: great product, name recognition, opportunity to manage [and learn from] major projects
Cons: photographer compensation policies, reputation within the industry, salary, no value of education
Constant rotating door when it comes to layoffs - interestingly enough it is generally the long term (which is 5+ years here!) employees who are no longer needed - ultimately replaced by entry level, youthful types. If you are BFF's with HR, completely inappropriate behavior is acceptable. Rarely receive credit for ideas - middle management is too busy – more... kissing up to sr management to protect their own "interests" as layoffs are almost weekly. Senior director with a GED... (was hired in at a director level by a friend) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working relation overall
Credit and Collections Analyst (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 1, 2012
Pros: great christmas parties
Cons: the department moved to seattle
It was a great company to work for, well effective business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent Contracting
Music Producer (Current Employee), Castro Valley, CASeptember 26, 2012
I set my own schedule in making music, then submitting it for payment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers, Horrible management
Editor (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 22, 2012
Pros: good benefits
Cons: horrible work environment due to poor management and constant threat of down-sizing, out-sourcing, etc.
If you don't mind working for a company that makes you constantly feel you are about to get laid off then why not Getty? While the upper management constantly thanks you for your dedication etc., they are also constantly reminding you (as well as acting upon these threats) that you are not necessary because so many other people want to work for the – more... company. Everybody at Getty Images expects to be laid off, all the time. I would not wish Getty on my worse enemy! Top heavy with untrained, inexperienced and horrible managers which is a shame because most "regular" workers there are great people. Getty's loss in the long run. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insecure owner
Creative Researcher, Los Angeles, CA (Former Employee), Seattle, WAAugust 9, 2012
Creative environment, but owner is insecure and condescending.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and learn
Facilities Coordinator (Former Employee), Seattle, WAJuly 10, 2012
Pros: the management was very knowledgable
Cons: lots of employees that you could possible know everyone
A day at Getty Images was fast pace and lots of opportunity to learn. Best thing I learned was to negotiate a contract with the vendor, which is one of the things that made the management awesome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
way too reliant on their "cool" factor
Sales Associate (Former Employee), NYJuly 6, 2012
Pros: cool factor
Cons: cool factor
Although this is a fairly unique place to work, HR Depts and recruiters alike rely way too much on that as a crutch and come across as "removed" otherwise - once you've been hired. Too many layoffs over the years have also created an edgy environment in certain areas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prestigous company
software test engineer (Former Employee), Seattle, waJuly 2, 2012
Pros: fancy location
Cons: seem to not like people who want to work hard, and not play.
Worked on contract testing their editorital site. I learned more about the editorial copy right laws since I am an editor outside of my software engineering work. Getty is very clickish, not as open for innovation or wanting to try new technology. I didn't always participate in their groups fun events since I was on contract and I believe this cost – more... me my contract. They seem to not like it if you choose to work instead of taking a hour and half out of work time to make baked potatos and socialize. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company to work for.
Software development engineer in test (Former Employee), Seattle, WAMay 10, 2012
They truly use self managed teams, dropping several of the management positions. More than anything else, Getty is smart when it comes to how to treat the people who work there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bring Me Solutions
Market Development (Current Employee), Austin, TexasMay 7, 2012
Pros: fast paced and ever changing market place
Open collaborative environment allowing for alternative solutions to meet the clients goals and needs

About Getty Images

Getty Images has an eye out for the big picture. The visual content provider is a major supplier of creative and editorial imagery, – Read more