Find companies:
Ghirardelli Chocolate Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
30 reviews

Ghirardelli Chocolate Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales & Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), San Leandro, CAAugust 8, 2014
Fun place to work and get to sample chocolate everyday. The size of the company was smaller, so give a lot of chance to know or meet most of employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced fun place to work
General Manager (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAJuly 17, 2014
Pros: great benefits, vaccation builds up fast, solid bonus potential
Cons: opened every day in year
If you like fast paced environment, selling and serving premium product this is place for you. Company is growing super fast
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Experience of My Life
Soda Fountaineer / Cashier (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 14, 2014
Pros: absolutely none.
I don't even know where to begin. I have NEVER quit a job before no matter how stressful. This was a first. Having previous experience in bartending and food service, this job sounded like a fun opportunity and a perfect fit. I COULD NOT HAVE BEEN MORE WRONG. Management was completely unprofessional to the point where I felt like I was back in high – more... school being bullied. We were constantly being yelled at, given passive aggressive attitude, and mocked behind our backs. They did not know how to make schedules - constantly being asked to come in later/earlier and then getting sent home after a couple hours because they couldn't figure out how to get customer in the middle of HOLLYWOOD BOULEVARD. It was nearly impossible to predict the number that would show up on our paychecks - and most of the time, we had to call out the management on neglecting to pay us overtime etc. The worst part was the these issues stemmed from CORPORATE who did absolutely nothing about the complaints. And this is only the tip of the iceberg.
Its a relief to read the other employee reviews from other locations with the exact same issues. After 6 months, I walked into work 10 minutes before my shift and quit, explaining that this job makes me a miserable and an angry person and I'm done with it. Didn't even give them two weeks notice because they didn't deserve the satisfaction. Five months later and I regularly run into my Ghirardelli coworkers who did not last much longer on the job after I began the domino effect. Pretty sure they have an ENTIRELY new staff from when I was working a few months ago. I walk by the store regularly and refuse to ever go back in or order anything from this disgusting and abusive company. EVER. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company to work for and the location is nice.
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Miami Beach, FLJune 5, 2014
My day would include assisting customers with their purchases. I would also help on the fountain or help pre-pack chocolate bags for the sales floor. Management was great and my co-workers were also great. My schedule was never a problem. The hardest part of my job would be the constant standing in one spot but once you moved around you didn't have – more... that issue anymore. The most enjoyable part of my job was meeting different people every day, which is something you would expect seeing that we were located on Lincoln road. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Greeting, cashier (Former Employee), Lathrop, caMay 27, 2014
I enjoyed the inter action with the guests. I liked most of my co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs restructuring of middle management
Lower Management (Former Employee), Bay AreaApril 1, 2014
Pros: brand, amazing, and supportive, corporate office
Cons: favoritism, lack of recognition of hard work, area managers
I really wish I could have given a better review here. Most of the employees and upper management in Corporate Office are AMAZING. However, the area managers are some of the WORST people I have ever worked with. They have been known to lie about, and seek revenge on, those that stand up for what they believe in and want to deliver true results in the – more... stores. There is enough favoritism and corropution in the middle management to make the mafia look like Disney. I miss the overall community that the rest of Ghirardelli offered, and I especially miss working with certain individuals. It is sad, really, as Ghirardelli has so much potential to be on the Fortune 500, but will never make the necessary changes in the corrupted middle management. Also sad as they lose results-driven and very passionate people all the time. I had many "moments of timeless pleasures", and had brought unexpectedly huge results, but my best memory...? Leaving on my last day, with my head held up high, knowing how successful I was (and had the numbers to prove it), and also knowing that they did not deserve me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but fun.
Cashier/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Orlando, FLFebruary 17, 2014
I worked at their downtown Disney location. Always had fun working there. You had to work fast or you would fall behind. The company treated their employees well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Management
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAFebruary 6, 2014
There's a reason why this place burns through managers month after month. The GM is a glorified secretary and the the area manager has unreal expectations of day to day work. Do some research before you work there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Draining
Operator/Utility Worker (Former Employee), San Leandro, CAFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: great benefits cool people
Cons: to much overtime
This Job is cool for someone whose whole life revolves around their job if you dont mind having time for family this is the place for you. The job is pretty easy the hardest opart for me was not having time for my family and the even harded part is not having me time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and fun to work
Cashier (Former Employee), San Francisco, CANovember 7, 2013
Pros: free food while you at work
Cons: breaks, good health insurance
very good company it's very fun to work.good management every body friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Office Administrator (Former Employee), San Francisco,CAJuly 12, 2013
Pros: too much chocolate daily
Cons: practicing will power on a daily basis
Ghirardelli was not only a place to work, but a great environment that I looked forward to being in daily. My work week consisted of a Monday-Saturday schedule that I looked forward to waking up to and knowing that I was lucky to work in such a fun environment. The days would start off with laughter to enjoying a cup of coffee amongst management staff – more... to then our basic daily meeting. The hardest part of the job was setting up for the international students that would come through throughout the summers, even that was exciting due to the gifts that I was brought from all around the world. I would have to say the hardest part of the job was clocking out daily. Even though I don't work there, I have continued to carry those friendships that were built. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people
Retail Supervisor (Former Employee), Milpitas, CAJune 6, 2013
Great and fun place to work. My co-workers were very nice people. Management is easy-going. Hardest part of the job is doing inventory, luckily that is only once a month. Most enjoyable part of the job is selling the product that you will love. I mean, who doesn't love chocolate?
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst experence ever...
Facility Planner (Former Employee), San Leandro, CAMarch 20, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: too many to list here...
I worked at the San Leandro plant as a temp & they didn't let us forget it. They made us park in the back, even though I worked in the front. Whenever I had to use the printer in the executive suite, I had to go up the backstairs.

I was not allowed to participate in casual Fridays or employee discounts in the factory store. I was working for one of – more... the biggest jerk in the world; he was very rude to us temps & contractors and I had to get his lunch for him too.

I was so glad when they let me go. Willy Wonka would be very sad here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fear the ontario location!
Cashier (Former Employee), caFebruary 27, 2013
Pros: get away with everything
Cons: the whole job
Terrible place to work just ridiculous! Manager is a overly friendly and lets all employees walk all over her its pathetic. Only acknowledges bad workers and gives credit to those who do terrible on secret shopper reports and to those that play like little kids. This place is infested with bugs its sad that they could even sell chocolate here! All over – more... bad company to work for I highly DO NOT reccomend to anyone! Too much drama and favortism its sad that there isnt the slightest bit of respect here. Good workers get treated like dogs while the favorites that do nothing lounge around with the so called manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fear the ontario location!
Cashier (Former Employee), caFebruary 27, 2013
Pros: get away with everything
Cons: the whole job
Terrible place to work just ridiculous! Manager is a overly friendly and lets all employees walk all over her its pathetic. Only acknowledges bad workers and gives credit to those who do terrible on secret shopper reports and to those that play like little kids. This place is infested with bugs its sad that they could even sell chocolate here! All over – more... bad company to work for I highly DO NOT reccomend to anyone! Too much drama and favortism its sad that there isnt the slightest bit of respect here. Good workers get treated like dogs while the favorites that do nothing lounge around with the so called manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible workplace/Stay Away
Cashier/Server/Greeter (Former Employee), chicago, ilFebruary 22, 2013
Pros: location, 30 min breaks
Cons: annoying managers, pay, ghetto employees, drama, always changing managers every few months, disorganized, and triflin
This place is just all together horrible. I wouldn't work there again if they paid me salary., Too much drama and there is always a new manager. Ghirardelli is too disorganized. Not to mention there are freaking ROACHES here. This place should be closed down.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice peopl, hard work for minimal pay
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAFebruary 21, 2013
Pros: free ice cream, desert, good co-workers, good view
Cons: alot of cleaning involved
Working very hard for minimal pay with no union meaning you can be let go at anytime after you have worked very hard, alot of cleaning but good environment and people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shipping Supervisor
Team Leader / Supervisor (Former Employee), Lathrop, CAFebruary 5, 2013
Pros: people, management...etc.
Cons: not permanent
I miss my coworkers!!.Great place to work...however not a permanent position, only available during season
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Profits above people
Manager (Former Employee), SF, CAJanuary 29, 2013
Pros: chocolate and ice cream
Cons: treated badly
I worked for this company for 5 years as a manager. They had extremely high turnover in management and we (as managers) felt that we could be terminated at any time for the smallest reason. No work/life balance here. They say people come first, but not the people who work for them. They pride themselves on delivering excellent guest service, but that – more... starts by making your staff feel important and happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A real good place to work and grow.
Shipping/Receiving Clerk (Former Employee), San Leandro, CASeptember 6, 2012
Pros: great pay, benefits, ammenities, etc.
Cons: not recognizing talent for advancement.
This was by far one of the best jobs I'd ever had. It used almost all of my talents in the computer system, inventory control, time management areas. Our team in the warehouse knew everything and were always willing to help out. My managers were calm and dealt with everything the right way. Hardest part of the job was leaving it.

About Ghirardelli Chocolate Company

The Ghirardelli Chocolate Company is a manufacturer and marketer of premium chocolate products. Incorporated in 1852, Ghirardelli – Read more