Giant Employee Reviews

Found 316 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Waldorf, MDApril 25, 2017
management wasnt great and the store suffered.it was always busy, not enought employess to handle everything. the hardest part of the job was trying to manage my time in order to help others.
Pros
nice people
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good store
7th Street NW-Front End Clerk and Dairy (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 22, 2017
The typical day at work consisted of getting carts, helping customers. I learned how to stock items. The management was decent. The workplace culture was fair. The hardest part of the job was working in the warm weather. The most enjoyable part of the job was the co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Assistant Meat Manager (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAApril 20, 2017
I Accomplished and result-oriented Assistant Meat Manager with more than 5 Years of managing meat product stock, ordering and customer service experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place to work
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Sterling, VAApril 19, 2017
I was hired as a cashier when i was 17 at a very low rate of 7.60 an hour. When i turned 18 i was "promoted" to front desk. I was doing the same work as the assistant managers still only being paid 7.60 while they were paid 14-16 an hour. As a front desk employee you are given a set of keys that are used to assist customers and cashiers when necessary. after i quickly learned everything about front desk they found reasons to take away my keys but still expected me to do all of the work without them. The management was terrible and I was actually afraid of a majority of my managers. you are only given 1 day off a week and the hours are horrible.
Cons
horrible pay, terrible management, awful scheduling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They hire with not enough hours to go around
Customer Service Representative/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Norristown, PAApril 18, 2017
A beneficial job but not enough hours to go around to each employee, the company hires but cannot perform for the amount of people needing work. They change the schedule without notifying the employees. Take a picture of your posted schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Pharmacy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDApril 18, 2017
Fill and deliver prescription orders, maintain computerized inventory, conduct monthly medication audits, communicate with pharmacy staff and customers on daily basis. Educate patient about medication.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  MarylandApril 9, 2017
It was productive at certain times, like 12 p.m. because that was lunch time for people. On holidays the store was busy, but when things were slow, it was really slow. When the store is slow I'd usually walk around the store and organize shelves.
Pros
The pay and benefits
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun CoWorkers
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Urbana, MDApril 6, 2017
I liked the coworkers, but the customers not so much. The management was ok, there was always confusion amongst them, and that trickled down to the employees. I did not enjoy that part too much.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part-time job for college students
Customer Service Desk/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Enola, PAApril 1, 2017
It is a good place to work for a part-time college student. The hours are flexible, they provide an opportunity for cross-training and upward mobility, and co-workers are friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NM 87109March 26, 2017
One of the best jobs that I had becasue the manager was sweet and listened to you and she would give you the days that you needed off and was very flexible with the scheduale
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Giant?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace with good staff members
Overnight Stocker (Former Employee) –  Springfield, VAMarch 24, 2017
would stock the shelves with missing product. learned how to break down pallets with certain groceries. being able to work with music playing. short breaks were allowed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive , yet fast-paced and encouraging to be sucessful.
Dairy Clerk (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMarch 14, 2017
Very Professional Enviroment , You can learn a lot from this company that will help someone to become successful in life and understand the rules and policies of corporate businesses.
Pros
Good pay, Good Management, Great skills you can learn to later advance in life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfair treatment from management
Personal Shopper (Former Employee) –  Coopersburg, PAMarch 12, 2017
The company sucks. They don't really treat their employees the way they deserve and management doesn't do anything to reprimand those in the wrong.
Cons
pay, short breaks, employee treatment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the best
cashier and file clerk (Former Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDMarch 9, 2017
Good company to work for, but the people they hire for management have no problem lying to their employees. Just to help themselves. Dont really have much else to say about working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAMarch 6, 2017
My days working here was nice in the begining that was during training but when i got to the new place it was a whole new ball game. Although the people are nice some can be very rude.
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice job to start in your feild
Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LAFebruary 26, 2017
Working for Giant was a fun experience. You work non stop and is never told to take a break. You have to come to work prepared because you never know the task at hand. Sometimes tools are limited and you work with what you have but overall you learn how to get the job done.
Pros
Flexible with hours.
Cons
Does not offer breaks, overtime, or benfits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont come here
Overnight stocker (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAFebruary 18, 2017
poor management, horrible schedules, no work life balance, management doesn't have a clue what to do to fix things. Not enough employee's to do the job
Pros
decent pay if you stick around
Cons
might have a 6 day work schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very fast pace workplace
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 16, 2017
Need to improve the training process
All management need to learn how to talk to their workers
Not to wait every six months to open a position
Train all staffs for each department not just the one they apply to
Pros
Easy to move up in the company
Cons
Not being respected enough as an adult meaning how management talks to employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Giant
Clerk (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAFebruary 1, 2017
I enjoy working with my coworkers and I would love to advance my career. A typical day is assisting customer with their needs in both the seafood and deli department.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Giant
Bakery Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  Burtonsville, MDJanuary 24, 2017
Bakery clerk, assisting customers with cake decorating, product information and anything they need. Helping the baker package pastry's. Assisted the baker with cooking and cleaning. Taking cake orders over the phone and in person.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Giant. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 327 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6