Giant Employee Reviews in United States

Found 262 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The typical day was busy, no breaks
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZMay 19, 2016
If you work a day shift its not too bad. Very busy, a lot of side work expected to be fulfilled along with cashiering and customer service.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Work alone, no breaks, sometimes dangerous
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Giant
Front End Lead/Customer Service/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Bartonsville, PAMay 16, 2016
At Giant I have learned what it is like to work under pressure, how to handle difficult customers, how to deal with difficult management, and how some customers make it all worth it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Burtonsville, MDMay 14, 2016
great experience when your willing to work and want to work they work you. the stuff was short handed then it became too many workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
get paid every thursday
bagger (Former Employee) –  Olney, MDApril 21, 2016
my typical day was good. I learned about how to be discipline and how to listen to others above me. the management was okay but every once a while was very good. my co-workers was very friendly. the hardest part of the job was time. the most enjoyable part of the job was getting paid.
Pros
working with the workers and customers
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productie
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Allentown, PAApril 19, 2016
not a bad job at all really good people to work for everybody loves to shop at giant good hours good paid happy customers happy world really good managers good food market to work for and to go shop at
Pros
free food for employees
Cons
good breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Experience
Cashier (Current Employee) –  King of Prussia, PAApril 8, 2016
The people I work with our amazing great customer service. As far as management they suck, they are unorganized and unprofessional. Customers are great. the most enjoyable part of my job our my co-workers. the hardest part is dealing with management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, VAApril 7, 2016
learn everyday about everything.
amazing services
management is amazing
i love the job
it is a nice environment
it is a nice place
i wish i was paid more
Pros
5% off
Cons
no hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with customers
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Many Farms, AZApril 7, 2016
Enjoyed working with employees, but under new management nepotism I had to deal with, I enjoyed working with customers, I have worked at times 16 hour shifts, especially on pay days, I was not trained properly it was more of a hands on training.
Pros
helping customers
Cons
nepotism
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Giant Food Stores
CASHIER/CUSTOMER SERVICE (Former Employee) –  Whitehall Township, PAApril 4, 2016
Giant is a good starting job. I worked there for 2 1/2 years and I enjoyed meeting new people and making new friends. Towards the end we got new management and thats what drove me to quit and start looking for a new job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work doesn't pay off.
Produce Clerk (Current Employee) –  Hellertown, PAApril 3, 2016
I have been working 40+ hours a week, with no benefits. I was promised a full-time job when the job opened they filled it with another person. I am always on time, and never call out. I feel they took advantage of that.
Pros
none.
Cons
no benefit for hard work
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Glen Allen, VAMarch 24, 2016
I have had a wonderful 15 years of service with Giant and would recommend them to anyone. They have excellent benefits, pay, vacation time, and a clear plan with awesome company goals.
Pros
Benefits, pay, work life balance, clear goals, great customer service
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMarch 19, 2016
this job was awesome loved working with the customers , enjoyed helping others, and learning. the staff was friendly and fast paste
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great for ineracting with the customers
Cashier (Former Employee) –  New Cumberland, PAMarch 18, 2016
this job taught me how to communicate with the customer and how to help the customer. i was able to learn how to make a customer turn from being sad or mad to happy. it was something i learned and will never foget
Pros
free food on holidays
Cons
benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace for someone in highschool
Deli Cook (Current Employee) –  Wind Gap, PAMarch 18, 2016
Good workplace for someone in highschool. The pay is good for an entry level job. Great place to begin learning customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job site
Pacel Pick up, bagger (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMarch 10, 2016
I liked working at Giant. the customers was great and so were the managers. my co-workers were friendly and we all got along well. work was always good and I always got the job done.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VA 22201March 2, 2016
Working at giant was fun, it was a long of hard work but I enjoyed myself. The pay was low and I didn't like how much they were paying me.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bakery
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fort Washington, MDFebruary 29, 2016
Working in a bakery at 16 is a fun first time job. Smelling the fresh bake goods was a plus daily but the management was all about micro management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work, stable & great working environment.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Greenbelt, MDFebruary 15, 2016
I assist customers with there purchases, answer questions. I've learned to assist customers with complex request and I also learned how to diffuse customers situations. My most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new people.
Pros
Helping People
Cons
Standing all day
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good company.
Relief Manager (Former Employee) –  Hagerstown, MDFebruary 10, 2016
Giant/ Martin's was a good company to work for. The pay was decent and the benefits were good. The overall work culture was enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accuracy and attention to detail is very essential
Md ­ Stock Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Gaithersburg, MDFebruary 3, 2016
A typical day at work is using a technology wristband too process inventory accurately and to also stock merchandise on the correct shelves.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 269 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture