Gill Staffing Employee Reviews

Showing all 46 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many options
Manufacturing Associate (Current Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIMay 19, 2017
When you work with Gill, there are many different options, but the "temp-to-hire" process could take months to even years to get hired into a job where you are not simply "dispensable".
Pros
quick to place
Cons
not permanent or valued
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice stepping stone
PAINTER (Former Employee) –  Comstock Park, MIApril 12, 2017
Good place to start if trying to get on your feet. They offer some benefits if you work with them long enough, and have a variety of jobs to chose from if your assignment isn't suitable for you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General labor
General laborer (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIMarch 1, 2017
Worked as a temp for Comfort Research. Learned how to fill and package beanbags.Good management. all cultures.Packing bags into boxes. Worked with a lot of good people.
Pros
Work Enviorment
Cons
Temp
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rude Staffing, New clients,and its a staffing company need i say more?
Associate (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, MIJanuary 7, 2017
Just another staffing company looking to fill slots for horrible companys looking to use a worker for a little bit, than throw them to the side, low pay, no insurance, just looking to use the average worker.
Pros
money is ok
Cons
horrible work environments, no insurance, no nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gill Staffing
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIDecember 23, 2016
Gill staffing are quick and very consistent on keeping you employed rather the assignment ended or you had conflict at the job related to your schedule they're all about keeping you in employed
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very helpful
Temporary at Hutchinson (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIOctober 15, 2016
I worked at Hutchinson thru this temporary service. I valued the people and job recruiters at Gill. They were very helpful with finding me a job with my job experience, they found me one in less than a week, that I stuck with for almost 3 years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Various Temp Assignments
Various Temporary Assignments (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MISeptember 21, 2016
My tenure here was short and the various assignments I had were minimally compensated. I did not enjoy working in the various factories they assigned me to.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work for
Clerical (Former Employee) –  Kentwood, MIAugust 31, 2016
Variety of job, nice people in office to work with, flexibility to work when you want and what jobs you want. A lot of jobs lead to permanent position.
Pros
flexibiliiyt
Cons
Have to call every week if you want to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Shop Employee (Current Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIJuly 17, 2016
Great company to work for they make sure the employers and employees are satisfied. every job ive gotten from them was amazing and I would recommend them to anyone in need of a job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive day
Factory (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIJune 8, 2016
A typical day at work , would just be getting the work done . Im a friendly person but i also just like going to work and getting the job done and going home ; Management was decent at this job , Everyday they had me doing something different, between machine op and assembly line.
Pros
nothing
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

Want to know more about Gill Staffing?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
picking and packing orders for Family Christian bookstores warehouse
Temporary Assignments (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIMarch 16, 2016
i had a really fun time while i was working at my first thru them and i would have loved to go there again.

i got the hang of it pretty quick . i am a hands on person and once someone shows me a few times on what to do. i learn quickly with hands on jobs.
Pros
not enough pay
Cons
good placements
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not willing to place workers in job where they would excel
Packing Specialist (Current Employee) –  grand rapids miOctober 10, 2015
Gill staffing places workers only where there are openings with little to no consideration to what the employee would be interested in doing based on resume submitted.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't do it. YOU DESERVE BETTER.
Litho worker (Former Employee) –  Rockford, MIJune 12, 2015
I wish I had quit sooner. They don't treat you well, there are no benefits and YOU DESERVE SO MUCH BETTER. I did.
Run as fast as you can.
Cons
Low Pay, No benefits, and they will turn their back on you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Jobs
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIJune 10, 2015
Gill employed me at Ranir Dental. Where I learned alot of skills. Data entry, keeping a job log, keeping my machine running at a high level.
Pros
Great Co-Workers, Location, Good pay
Cons
3rd shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
depends
Machine Operator/Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIMay 27, 2015
everything depends on where you are placed, sometimes you are placed in a good assignment sometimes you are not one thing i dislike is when you are at a good place they all of a sudden no longer need you even though you were told many times you were going to get hired in that's the major downfall of a temp agency. pay i feel they really could pay more than what they do
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp Agency
warehouse worker (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIFebruary 28, 2015
There a Temp agency, and did there job most thoroughly. i worked for a couple of different jobs for them.
The hardest part of the day is right after lunch when your stomach is full. Is learning new things and meeting new people
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gill is not a bad employer
Shipping Clerk (Former Employee) –  Grandville, MIFebruary 22, 2015
I went through gill staffing and ended up with a awful company. which isn't really gills fault. they are just a staffing agency. on their end everything was fine. they were very professional.
Pros
quick to find a job
Cons
poor benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management illogical
Manufacturing Associate (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIJanuary 9, 2015
management .If your, you are a service more than so that it can not be said ,That we have keep these persons working why are the Temp. All ways the last one to be on the pay roll?
Pros
Can that be
Cons
yes or no
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working for them
Quality Control Inspector (Current Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MINovember 25, 2014
I'd Still be working for them or viking if it wasn't because of my car accident.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
staffing agency
Press Operator (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MISeptember 14, 2014
Staffing agency where I worked with H & L Advantage until I was hired in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Gill Staffing. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 46 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.3
Culture
3.2