Find companies:
Girl Scouts of the USA
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
65 reviews

Girl Scouts of the USA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOod experience working with young girls.
Volunteer (Former Employee), Harlingen,TXApril 2, 2013
Being in the Girl Scouts gave me a lot of experience in working with young girls. Once we were old enough, it was our job to look after and instruct these girls the way we were instructed when we were young. I can use this towards a professional job someday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organization for guiding young girls in various life skills
Assistant Troop Leader for Girl Scout Troop (Former Employee), Christiansburg, VAMarch 26, 2013
In troop meetings we learn about various things, such as camping skills, first aid, sewing, dealing with interpersonal conflict, cooking, safety, computer skills, and artistic expression.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping out the community
VOLUNTEER (Former Employee), Springfield, MOMarch 5, 2013
Pros: helping community and working with kids.
I would go in and help my troop earn badges and with cookie sales both of my daughters were in Girl Scouts and loved it so I joined as a leader.Its great getting to work with kids.learned alot with the Girl Scouts but most of all about helping the community.There wasnt anything hard about it I just enjoy helping the Kids and Community
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great learning experience growing up.
Member (Former Employee), anaheim, CaFebruary 27, 2013
Pros: meeting new people and making friends
Cons: the cliques
I learned different objectives from joining in the 1st grade until now. We would hold meetings every week on a certain day and talk about up coming events and create different activities from the younger girls. Being in girl scouts gives a large leadership role because you're asked to do so many things that involve being on your own and in charge of – more... a group of girls including yourself. The hardest part would be maintaining a pace. Once you start going, it's hard to stop at the end of the day. The most enjoyable part is seeing people with large smiles on their faces because you get the satisfaction you put that there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun in the sun
Camp Leader (Former Employee), Fort Washington,MDFebruary 15, 2013
I assisted the camp leader with bathroom breaks, assigning chores, helping with arts and craft, as well as organization. It was a good experience for me, helped me to really appreciate nature, and being outdoors. I also made a lot of friends, as well as, friendships.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun volunteer work!
Girl Scout Troop Leader (Current Employee), Durant, IAFebruary 5, 2013
You get to interact while teaching girls new habits of life and cultures!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere and much learning in the leadership department
Co-Lead of Girl Scout Group/ Camp Counselor (Former Employee), FLJanuary 23, 2013
Pros: loved the out doors and leadership roles
Cons: not much time to rest or shower
I was able to learn a lot about being in a leadership role and worked hard constantly while enjoying nature and teaching little girls.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
Girl Scout (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 2, 2013
Helped to build my character
keeps young women out of trouble
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to teach, work ,and play
Program Provider (Current Employee), Colfax, NCDecember 23, 2012
I love it! A typical day at work start with the girls and songs.
I have learned even as an adults some times we eneed to keep our in child live. I love the management.The hardest part of the job is staying away from personal relationships with the families.The most enjoyable part of the job I seeing the differance to can make in a childs life as a positive – more... role model. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Volunteer (Former Employee), Dallas, TxDecember 20, 2012
I get to help out little girls and teach them how to become a young lady and camp out in the woods and cabins.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for training girls.
Office Administrator (Former Employee), Merrillville, INOctober 29, 2012
Pros: participating in major company meetings proved to be very valuable.
Cons: with all that is involved with girl scouting procedures, at times, it seemed as though we wouldn't accomplish all that was needed; but, we always accomplish everything.
A typical day required opening the office and insuring my staff was in place. I learned how to interact with all level of children and their parents. For the most part, working as a Supervisor and working with management was very satisfying. I worked well with my co-workers. The hardest part of the job was satisfying the needs of the Girl Scout Leaders. – more... The most enjoyable part of the job was learning all the different types of activities that were involved in girl scouting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Compensation, Benefits, HRIS Coordinator (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 10, 2012
A typical day consist of assiting employees with questions concern Benefits and HRIS related issues.

I provide the utmost customer service to all employees.

I thrive on timelines. Work well under pressure. Multi tasking is my specialty.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative and creative
Outreach Facilitator (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MISeptember 30, 2012
Staff is always coming up with new ways to engage the community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was not employed by the Girl Scouts.
Brownie Girl Scout Troop Assistant Leader (Former Employee), High Point, NCSeptember 11, 2012
Pros: a great experience.
Cons: parades, walking was exhausting!
I was a member of the Girl Scouts of America. I learned many factors of life that I would use in many parts of my life. It was fun making friends and having great troop leaders.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Girl Scouts is a fun way to learn with girls
Treasurer, Girl Scout Troop (Current Employee), Fredericksburg, VaSeptember 4, 2012
We learn and explore different things to prepared girls for future things in life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work for
Area Manager for Kingsport, TN (Former Employee), Johnson City, TNAugust 31, 2012
Pros: good for children
Cons: lots of traveling
Very interesting job, always something new everyday when dealing with different areas
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Work
Chief Executive Officer (Former Employee), NDAugust 14, 2012
Pros: working with youth and helping them learn how to succeed in life.
Leading a regional nonprofit that serves our youth is both challenging and rewarding. Our organization experienced a total organizational review every four years to benchmark progress and to identify strengths and areas of possible growth. This organization provided me with many learning experiences where I gained skills that I can transfer into other – more... job opportunities.

Board members were professional and easy to work with, staff and volunteer support was always strong and our organization regularly met our long range and short term goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting work experience
Aided the Troop Leader (Former Employee), Spotsylvania CountyJune 27, 2012
I had a wonderful time working with teenage girls and helping them to obtain their Bronze Award
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Spent most of the time out doors
Girl Scout Mile Hi Council (Former Employee), Aspen coJune 25, 2012
Pros: was out doors
Cons: summer ended
took the campers back packing and rock climbing and spent almost all the time out doors and slept in tents every night and cooked over a camp fire
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Girl Scout Leader (Former Employee), Kendall, FLJune 5, 2012
Pros: awesome trips, pay is great, networking
Cons: last minute changes
Going down south to start off a camp day with activities for the Girl Scouts. You know your management team by name and face. The co-workers are kind, respectful, and one of a kind. There's nothing to hard for me to do. I enjoy making the difference in a child's life.