GKN Employee Reviews

Found 193 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Teamleader (Former Employee) –  Timberlake, NCSeptember 7, 2017
I like it beacause its fast, you stay busy at all times overtime if you wanted, great people growth with the company, and you dont always work 12 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work space easy going
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Emporium, PASeptember 5, 2017
Gkn was a great job it was just the right speed and just the right difficulty level for starting in industrial work the management was great and the work was fun
Pros
Paid lunch and awesome supervisor
Cons
Breaks arnt long enough
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No time for a out side life
High Speed Tech (Current Employee) –  DuBois, PAAugust 28, 2017
& days a week is a lot for people and then you can't even get a shift change after being on 2nd shift for 20+years they brought in a few people tat made more then the people that has been there for over 20 years and the new guys can't preform the work like we can
Pros
paid launch
Cons
work a lot and have no life, can't move to a different shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality
Quality Engineer (Former Employee) –  Talassee, AlAugust 23, 2017
Management does not know the meaning of the word quality just ship parts. Company hired more contract employees than direct and did not have a understanding with quality.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
short term employment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Assembly Worker (Former Employee) –  Tallassee, ALAugust 21, 2017
I enjoyed working at GKN i only left due to some personal reason. If had the chance to go back i would...The pay was really good and they had vison, dental and health insurance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fair place to work
International Logistics Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Morrisville, NCAugust 16, 2017
Management was lacking when first hired but a lot of improvements were made. Really working hard to improve work life balance. Pay and benefits were fair as well as several days of paid time off. Only left because job was relocating to Ohio from North Carolina.
Pros
flexible work schedules, great health benefits
Cons
stressful fast paced work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good learning experience
Line operator (Former Employee) –  Woodridge, IL 60517August 14, 2017
I like to work for GKN because they train you properly and with the basics that you could understand and they also train you on how to do program adjustments when need it to do so by a programmer
Pros
holiday lunch
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
does little for thier employees
Quality /Assistant Supervisor - Staff reduction (Former Employee) –  DuBois, PAAugust 14, 2017
after being talked into going to college by GKN they then asked me to quick after I had a lot of money invested into the schooling. so I left to get 2 associate degrees
Pros
a few
Cons
a lot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Newton, NCAugust 10, 2017
very disorganized, poor communication, very much dependent on who likes you not how well you do your job. have many people in positions they are not qualified to hold
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an alright place to work.
Powder coordinator (Former Employee) –  Emporium, PAAugust 7, 2017
When employed by this company and I was a powder coordinator I enjoyed this job for a few reasons. I was on night shift so I was basically my own boss and I knew all of my responsibility for each night.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The plant in Worcester closed up ten years ago.
Toolmaker Grade A (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MAAugust 3, 2017
The company in my view was the kind of place that tried to squeeze every drop of life out of their employees. It was good luck for me that they closed the place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
Shipping and Receiving Manger (Current Employee) –  woodridgeAugust 3, 2017
poor management nothing good to say. the managers do not listen to employees and ignore certain requests. this place has went downhill since 2013 and they will fire you for anything they want go
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard place to work if you're not used to loud noise
Inspector (Former Employee) –  Conover, NCJuly 30, 2017
GKN is a very hot and humid place to work. Does not have time for breaks or mistakes. The workers are nice and easy to get along with but the management could use some help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible job place
CNC Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Germantown, WIJuly 29, 2017
Long hours
Needy place
Underpaid
Not a good place at all for production or engineering
Horrible communication skills from managers,leads,engineering, to floor
Pros
Horrible
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very good
Furnace Operator (Former Employee) –  Salem, INJuly 28, 2017
When you get in the doors you're first day they just put you to work they don't train you for anything at all and their attitude towards you is very poor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unorganized headache
Machinist (Current Employee) –  El Cajon, CAJuly 14, 2017
The culture is to show up and do the minimum to collect a check at the end of the week. Something I cannot grow to accept. It was an fairly easy job (for me).But, I disliked not know what I was to do for the day or the fact the my team members had such a "beat down" mentality when it came to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good place to work
Controls Engineer (Former Employee) –  Armstrong, IAJuly 12, 2017
Many opportunities for advancement. Coworkers are all very good people. Management very employee oriented. Comradely is outstanding. Employees support one another as does management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work for someone with a family.
Facility Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Germantown, WIJuly 11, 2017
All the employees that work out on the floor are way over worked and severely under paid for all that they do. Management is no help and the HR department is pretty much non-exciting.
Pros
Beats unemployment
Cons
Low pay, long hours, selected overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Parts Inspector
Inspector and Operator (Former Employee) –  Gallipolis, OHJuly 10, 2017
I enjoyed my job at GKN and did well but I was laid off after being there a year due to low sales of new vehicles. The job had good benefits. Union job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MAJuly 9, 2017
This was a good place to work with a good workplace culture. Unfortunately, the company closed it's doors. I was a lab technician and enjoyed my job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GKN. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 357 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5