GKN Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced enviroment
Inspector (Former Employee), Roxboro, NCAugust 3, 2015
Pros: Great co-workers
Cons: poor Management
- Fast paced and continuous
- How to manufacture driveshafts and the importance of quality
- Decent management
- Very helpful co-workers
- Yolk inspections
- Fast paced and co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
3rd Shift Front Line Supervisor (Former Employee), Emporium, PAJuly 9, 2015
I enjoyed all of the people that I worked with. The disruption in my lfe working third shift was damaging my health and personal life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work environment
General Laborer (Former Employee), Roxboro, NCJune 10, 2015
I enjoyed the time I worked at GKN the supervisors as well as coworkers were great to be around. Hours and money were good as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked my position at GKN.
Press Operator (Former Employee), Germantown, WIMay 21, 2015
The position was fine but I just thought I could do better than GKN. I would recommend GKN to anyone who needs employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sheet Metal Mechanic (Former Employee), Santa Ana, CAMay 13, 2015
Pros: Friendly people, close to home
Cons: high healthcare cost
I'd learned many valuable skills (e.g. reading blueprints, correctly using different types of tool to install, repair, fabricate aircrafts). The most enjoyable part of the job was working as a team to accomplish our monthly goals and the acknowledgement from management of a job well done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gkn
Machine Operator/Assembly Line (Former Employee), Roxboro, NCMarch 26, 2015
Enjoyed working here great atmosphere and really professional environment. Opportunity for overtime and usually weekends off!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace, friendly environment, There is continuous room for advancement. Weekly pay, Eight hour work schedule unless you choose to work
MASTER WELDER (Current Employee), Mebane, NCMarch 13, 2015
Pros: weekly pay
Cons: n/a
Productive workplace, friendly environment, There is continuous room for advancement. Weekly pay, Eight hour work schedule unless you choose to work overtime. There is unlimited overtime available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company
Director of Procurement (Current Employee), Auburn Hills, MIFebruary 15, 2015
Pros: international, diversified portfolio, financially solid
GKN is a multinational diversified company leading in the automotive, aerospace, and land systems fields. A great place to develop ones career whether it be in engineering, manufacturing, IT, or leadership. The opportunity for advancement is almost limitless.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Operator Welder (Former Employee), Armstrong, IADecember 16, 2014
A typical day at work I clock in when I come thru the door and start my shift. I learned how to change parts out the machine to make bigger steel wheels. My co workers were all about getting work done and using great teamwork.My hardest part of my job was trying to stay clean/nongreasy and my most enjoyable part of my job was clocking out after work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Hard
Machine Operator/Assembler (Former Employee), Roxboro, NCDecember 9, 2014
Pros: great supervisors
Cons: not enough money
Great company to work for just not enough pay for the hard labor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
consistant
loader unloader (Former Employee), Salem, INSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: lots of overtime
Cons: short breaks and lunch
doing basically the same type of job unloading parts from a furnace just got to change locations and type of parts
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aerospace
Airplane Assembly Tech (Former Employee), Orangeburg, SCJuly 24, 2014
Pros: company cares about employees
Cons: to far to drive daily, lack of wages.
GKN is a Aerospace co in Orangeburg South Carolina. Good company that cares for their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work everyone gets along good pay
Warehouse/Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Estherville, IAMarch 26, 2014
Pros: sometimes the company provides us with daily fruit, and meals once in a while
Cons: production is very inportant but equitment is old
we work as a team, I have learned multiple things on types of tools and equiptment being used to process a piece of steel to a completed product, a rim. management is willing to work with you. all get along. simply making product when equipment is down. completing an (MO) material order to be shipped.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Job/Productive Workplace
Gear Shift Inspector-Duties (Former Employee), Maiden, NCMarch 5, 2014
This job allowed good hours and the pay was reasonable. Management was good with assisting if help was needed. Good place to work layoff due to temp hire.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
VISUAL INSPECTOR (Former Employee), Sanford, NCMarch 2, 2014
Pros: weekly paychecks
Cons: either too hot or cold inside the plant
A typical day at work was back breaking. Depending on the time of the year you either froze to death or baked. I learned about the important parts that go into the cars and how they worked. I had an excellentr mangement team. They were very understanding, helpful and great motivators. the hardest parts of the job were the long hours and weather. I enjoyed my job because I worked with amazing people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Assembly line worker (Current Employee), Roxboro, NCJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: pay check
Cons: no benefits
The work is easy. My supervisors are great to work for. I wish we had benefits and i also dont care to work 3rd shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great working environment
Cost Controller (Current Employee), Newton, NCSeptember 19, 2013
Pros: great co workers
Cons: young management staff
My work day begins at 7 and ends at 4
I review expense and find ways to find save money
I also complete other special task
My coworkers are lively and help keep the day moving
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My training/learning the job was horriable
Material Handler (Former Employee), Mebane, NCJune 1, 2013
I never really got the training to teach me about what I was assigned to do regulary
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
THis company no longer is in business
Second shift tool crib manager (Former Employee), DuBois, PAApril 1, 2013
Pros: location of the company
Cons: cold in the winter
For those from Dubois, it was the old beer distributor. I loved this job. I worked here when I was 19, so it has been awhile. Everyone that I had worked for and with was very nice and the atmosphere was a calm one.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience work.
Maintenance man/ Laboror (Former Employee), El Cajon, CAFebruary 26, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Most important about working at GKN was the experience, was able to recieve training and optain 3 different fork-lift certificate and licence's.
Claim this company page
Headquarters
3300 University Dr.
Auburn Hills MI, United States 48326
Revenue
$100M to $500M (USD)
Employees
1,001 to 5,000
Industry