Find companies:
GlaxoSmithKline
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
614 reviews

GlaxoSmithKline Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Learning atmophere
Senior Administrative Assistant to Chief of Staff (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAOctober 18, 2014
Maintain calendars of the Executive team
Assist with the project development of the new clinical drug for male enhancement (Levitra)
The management team maintained a very busy calendar which included travel and many board meetings
The position did not present with challenges that could not be resolved
I primarily work alone
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Manufacturing Operator II (Former Employee), Zebulon, NCOctober 15, 2014
Pros: meal tickets, gifts, days off
Cons: nothing
Love working at GlaxoSmithKline, work environment was enjoyable. Everybody worked together on the line to have a sucessful production run each night
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to launch new products
Commercial Director (Current Employee), Guaynabo, PROctober 15, 2014
Pros: new product launches
Cons: overwhelming processes and administrative burden
GSK is going through many internal changes but bringing new products to launch in the US.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good company loosing their pedigree
Respiratory Specialty Representative (Current Employee), West Central PennsylvaniaOctober 15, 2014
Pros: a great product line, supported by a great sales force.
Cons: a lack of corporate direction and leadership.
GlaxoSmithKline is a great company that has fallen on very difficult times. Due to mistakes made by our Management, we are now under a very repressive CIA agreement which makes our job, interactions with our customers and any hope of advancement very bleak. My co-workers are some of the best people that I have ever encountered. They are motivated, hard – more... working and holding up extrodinarly well in an almost impossible situation. Our first line managers are likewise trying to do the best job they can in an organization that is hostile to its own sales force, and very structured.
The best part of the job, without a doubt, are my offices and the doctors I call on and work with daily. They are fantastic. My teammates at GSK likewise make this job fun and very entertaining. They are some of the best people I have ever met.
The worst part of this job is the hostile atmosphere engendered by our upper management. Their obvious disdain and distrust of their own sales force has made this job much more difficult than it ever should be. I simply can't believe that a corporate culture needs to be this adversarial. That is why I have decided to work towards a new job with a new company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
HR Site Coordinator (Former Employee), Clifton, NJOctober 5, 2014
Manage all departments reporting, documentation, preparation, implementation programs and training for GMS (Global Manufacturing Supply) comprised of 291 employees. Improved overall quality of production and processes by implementing and facilitating company‚Äôs first corporate wide eLMS-electronic Learning Management System. Report directly to the HR – more... Director, cross functional to the Site Operation Director as an Executive Administrator also supporting Payroll / QA department when required. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive,customer driven,lean culture
Manufacturing Technician I (Current Employee), Hamilton, MTOctober 4, 2014
Cons: currently under 18 month contract with minimal benefits.
Standard work,lean culture. Working for a large corporation and realizing that you are a part of something big. Coworkers very well trained and knowledgable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Manager, Operations and Compliance (Former Employee), Research Triangle ParkSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: long hours and stressful work environment
GSK is a great company with many opportunities for advancement. Great benefilts for employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just an internship
Engineering Student Intern/Co-Op (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PASeptember 22, 2014
Pros: excellent working environment with highly knowlegable staff.
Cons: poor accountability and control of student interns.
New to the realm of employing student interns GlaxoSmithKline provided a worthwhile learning experience giving both undergraduates and graduates a truly unique and modernized work environment. Due to the scope of how their workforce is employed, primarily outsourced and statement of work, there was very poor accountability of student interns and a severe – more... lack of engagement in the execution of tasks. My recommendation is for GlaxoSmithKline to better define the role of the student intern for increased productivity and better quality of work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Lab Tech (Current Employee), Aiken, SCSeptember 16, 2014
Receive cross-training in different departments. The job tasks that I receive are challenging.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, busy,
Packaging Operator (Current Employee), Zebulon, NCSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: good pay and great management.
Cons: temp postition
I love my job. We stay busy. Everyone gets along great and works as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Research and Development, Regulatory Affairs (Current Employee), Collegeville, PASeptember 2, 2014
GSK is great company to work. Very good pipeline and good performance on new drug development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high performing environment
Manager, Clinical Operations (Current Employee), Collegeville, PAAugust 27, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Cons: it sytems out of date
A typical day is high paced in an intensely focused atmosphere. Every team that I have worked on was high performing and driven to excellence. Throughout my 17 years at GlaxoSmithKline (formerly SmithKlineBeecham) I took advantage of the opportunities available and advanced my career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for; plenty training opportunities for various area in drug development; good employee benefit;
(1) Scientific Investigator in Product Development (Former Employee), Collegeville, PA 19426August 27, 2014
Pros: flexible working hours
Cons: the company tends to lay off employees frequently based on business needs.
My working day was about half the time attending Program team meetings and half the time working in the lab. My major tasks are solving problems based on scientific data to support the needs of Program teams in a timely manners. The most important learning for me in GSK is to understand how my experimental results can help the other discovery groups – more... in verifying the efficacy, safety and developability of potential drug candidates in a timely manner. My managers are very supportive and generous in giving encouragement. My co-workers are excellent team players.

The hardest part of my job was trying to dissolve the poorly-soluble compounds at high doses. The most enjoyable part of my job was to solve the drug development problems and allow the potential drug candidate being moved further for Regulatory filing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Project Manager (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 26, 2014
no complaints, nothing out of the ordinary, this is a great company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great experience working there
Logistics Specialist III (Former Employee), Conshohocken, PAAugust 25, 2014
Pros: great opportunity
Cons: bad management protocal
It was a great experience, had many accomplishments
Very friendly environment,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality
Manufacturing Operator (Former Employee), Cidra, PRAugust 24, 2014
Designated to the Solution Area and the Granulation Area, weighting and sifting
all the materials used for the manufacturing processes.
Responsible for the internal warehouse and accountable for requesting, transferring and reducing the material inventory
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and staying patient focused at all times
Service Operator (Contractor) (Current Employee), Zebulon, NCAugust 19, 2014
Staying patient focus is one of the main goals and I enjoy it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great laboratory setting with plenty of instrumentation to gain experience
Bench Chemist II (Former Employee), Zebulon, NCAugust 14, 2014
Every week the Bench Chemist was given projects with specific tests and due dates that corresponded to respective SOP's. The main duties included HPLC testing for Assay/Impurities as well as Basket/Paddle Dissolution. Once a project was finished it was checked by the Senior Chemist and another project was assigned. Other testing included: GC, Hardness, – more... Dispersion, TLC, acid/base titration and LOD. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting place to work with a solid pipeline
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Chicago Heights, ILAugust 14, 2014
Pros: lots of support from team members
Cons: i was part of a contract sales force
I sold products for depression, allergy and asthma for a year and the reputation of the products and the company helped me to secure some amazing relationships that I still have today with key providers in my territory.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good Company to work for
Imaging Specialist (Former Employee), Research Triangle Park, NCAugust 7, 2014
A typical day at the company was hectic, busy, and fast paced. Management was always there to help with problems that may come up. The best part was the people that I worked with.

1 2 3 4 5

About GlaxoSmithKline

GlaxoSmithKline plc (GSK) is a global healthcare group, which is engaged in the creation and discovery, development, manufacture – Read more

GlaxoSmithKline Photos