Glenmont Job Corps Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 18 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unrealistic Expectations
Residential Counselor (Former Employee) –  Glenmont, NYMay 19, 2016
This is supposed to be a "government funded program" but is managed by a Corporation who's focus is making money, instead of providing the skills necessary to the population it serves. Management is a joke! Management receives bonuses and then brag to other employees who actually do the work and get paid minimally. There are people (Directors & Managers) that are in positions that require a minimum of a Bachelor's Degree that barely have a GED. Don't waste your time applying because you will likely never receive a call back.
Cons
long days, always understaffed, unrealistic expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Career Transition Specialist (Current Employee) –  Glenmont, NYJanuary 6, 2016
I only lasted here for about a month, which must've been an accomplishment. I attended a few meetings and every week there were new staff members due to the high turnover rate.

Management is a joke, the only thing that matters to this company is the numbers. They do not care about the outcome of the students, they just need them to do phone surveys and just find any sort of job to keep the numbers favorable for the center.

The center itself, aside from the new dorms and rec center, is completely falling apart. The bathrooms are disgusting, and falling apart. There wasn't any soap in the bathroom closest to my office the entire time I worked there.

Also if you're a smoker then you're in luck, because the majority of the staff and students smoke. It's like walking through an ashtray most days, but if you're into that kind of thing then I guess it doesn't matter.

Also due to the high turnover rate, many of the more "senior" staff members are very unfriendly and dismissive of the newer staff. If you have a question, good luck at finding any help. There is so much backbiting and gossip, I wonder how any work gets done. There are some very toxic personalities.

There are some very wonderful students, and they are great to work with and get to know. However, there are a large amount of students that have no interest in the program, working or compliance with the rules. There are basically no consequences if the students do not comply. Every once in awhile they will be kicked off center, but that is very far and few because the center is numbers driven
  more... and only views those students as money making opportunity.

Honestly, just avoid this place. I know it might look good because the pay is pretty decent and they might offer you things like health insurance and no nights and weekends. Just run, because once you get there, you will want to.
  less
Pros
You get a decent paycheck, but not enough to keep you there
Cons
Management, co-workers, students
Was this review helpful?Yes18No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Residential Advisor (Current Employee) –  Glenmont, NYDecember 21, 2015
The best part about this job is working with the youth and teaching them everything that they need to learn as they mature and become young adults.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty much good for the most part
Server in the Cafeteria (Former Employee) –  Glenmont, NYFebruary 9, 2015
Well the day starts off by cleaning up the kitchen from breakfast like sweeping, mopping and wiping down the tables, then you prepare the salad and fruit station for lunch. Sometimes you prepare deli station for sandwiches and two people work that line for the deli. By cutting up tomatoes, onions, cucumbers and the meat to the deli counter for service. I learned how to set up stations and working with different people was a con but it was worth it. The most enjoyable part of the job was I got to learn more about the Culinary industry and how it works. Basically it had a lot to do with time management and how quickly you do the task to get it done right and enjoyable.
Pros
great learning expericence
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Residential Advisor
Residential Advisor (Current Employee) –  Glenmont, NYOctober 9, 2013
The management and mission of the program is horrible. Even the good people who try to create a positive working environment have little power and are overrun by the financial motives of the government and the need for profit contracted agency running it. Sexual harassment from staff and dirty working conditions are things you will become accustomed to. Job Corps is a national program where the mission is good, but the delivery is terrifying. Employees are not honored, but instead threatened with job security in the daily briefing meetings. Prepare to be disrespected by STAFF more heavily than the students you work with.
Pros
pay is not awful for a human services position, however leaves you stuck and complacent
Cons
unsanitary working environment, disorganized, prison-like
Was this review helpful?Yes13No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Glenmont Jobcorps
Student/Resident (Former Employee) –  Glenmont, NYNovember 3, 2014
What i learned from glenmont job corps was that success really does last a lifetime.The management was insightful and caring .The students/residents were supportive of each other.What i enjoyed most about glenmont was the family vibe.Atypical day at glenmont is students waking up and continuing their trade in a prompt and determined fashion.The hardest part of glenmont was the adjusting to being on my own for the first time but i steam barreled through it.
Pros
free food, free room and board, work-based learning, friendly and concerned staff.
Cons
adjusting to new environment, insects and deer.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with the clients
Recreation Specialist/Driver (Former Employee) –  Glenmont, NYMay 8, 2015
My tour included ding activities with different clients. And, I learned to work and actively do enjoyable tasks with the clients. And, my co-workers were agreeable when sharing tasks to make the clients feel important. And, the hardest part of the job was not having enough tine to do different activities.
Pros
going to off campus events: basketball, football, rollerskating.
Cons
free meals at work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get up go school eat go learn something in class and go eat again and learn some more.
Auto Body Technician (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYFebruary 8, 2015
February 6 i learned about hand tools management is very good co-works is very grate the hardest part is getting up and the most enjoyable part is finishing the day.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
shorts breacks
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very rewarding work place that allows you to make a difference in a young adult's life
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Glenmont, NYMarch 24, 2015
Glenmont Job Corps is a rewarding place to work. It teaches many kids job skills, self reliance as well as quality life skills. My joy comes from mentoring and interacting with many of the students who have not had the opportunity to have a positive adult presence in their lives.
Pros
Opportunity to assist young adults.
Cons
Staff is often micro managed.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
so-so
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Glenmont, NYAugust 9, 2013
it is ok there isn't much more to say
a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Pros
get to deal with students
Cons
the students trouble makers
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely busy and stressful workplace
Wellness Manager (Former Employee) –  Glenmont, NYJune 3, 2014
I was responsible for managing a very busy multi-service clinic that oversaw the medical care of 16 to 24 year old at risk young people in a residential vocational technical school setting. I learned a lot about mental health issues and how past mental health trauma can affect current functioning. I had a good relationship with my co-workers and staff. The hardest part of the job was being on-call 24 hours a day. My favorite part of the job was working with the young people and watching them grow and change.
Pros
working with young people
Cons
being on call 24 hours a day
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administration
Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Glenmont, NYJune 22, 2013
Management is highly profit-oriented and values maintaining their profitable student population far more than their staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
strict and professional plsce to work
Student (Current Employee) –  Glenmont, NYOctober 9, 2012
over all i have had a pretty good experience here. the students are nice and there are a lot of staff that show their dedication to their students regardless of where the student is in the program
Pros
free meals, nice people
Cons
some trouble makers, cell phone policy a little too strict
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
place was dreadful
residential advisor (Former Employee) –  Glenmont, NYSeptember 12, 2013
i dealt with student behaviors the were less than admirable and staff members who were mostly out for themselves. all that being said i was able to perform in a professional manner and conduct my job as told.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
company didnt care about employees
Was this review helpful?Yes9No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Security officer (Former Employee) –  Glenmont, NYOctober 31, 2013
excellent place to learn and grown for your future. the teach and staff are always available for you.learn hands on skills that will help you along the lines the hardest part is to live on campus and getting familliar with the students and staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very top heavy company
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Glenmont, NYMarch 19, 2014
Pays well, with decent overtime at times. Need to be very flexible, they change your schedule at a moments notice. With a small touch of favoratism and discrimination.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very youthful
Academy Director Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glenmont, NYJuly 9, 2014
Met with staff and students. Always changing environment, not enough hours in the day.
Pros
staff
Cons
funded position
Was this review helpful?YesNo1

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture