Glenn O. Hawbaker, Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved every part of my job
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  State College, PAAugust 24, 2017
Great and professional people, loved my job, quit because I adopted my daughter from Guatemala. Was offered to go back, however, I felt the need to stay home with my daughter
Pros
Hours, co-workers, loved it
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Service Truck Operator (Current Employee) –  Barkeyville, PAAugust 23, 2017
It's a great place to work from day one they treat you great. And try to accommodate your needs for you home and family life. Great pay lots of hours threw the summer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment
Operator Technician (Former Employee) –  State College, PAJuly 5, 2017
This is a good company with a nice benefit package. Overall they are family friendly with getting time off but there are times that it just doesn't work. Very good Family that owns GOH the Hawbakers are very down to earth good people that never forget where they came from.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work!! Run away as fast as you can!!!!
Operator (Current Employee) –  Barkeyville, PAMarch 20, 2017
I have to respond to the operator/ laborer. He's lying. You are treated with no respect, continually Lied about. Unless desperate or have to much time to quit, run away from here.
Pros
Prevailing wage
Cons
Brakes don't exist. Everything is a lie!!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mid-level management is often terrible
Heavy Equipment Operator/Laborer /screed operator (Former Employee) –  Grove City PAMarch 14, 2017
They don't like to pay their guys per diem when they ship them out of town some of the guys that work there are great but the bad eggs in the bunch don't make it worth the while
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Take the good with the bad
Flag person 1 (Former Employee) –  DuBois, PAMarch 4, 2017
I was hired as a flag person and that's what I did. No advancement. They give you plenty of hours, but little to no breaks(not even to urinate). If you flag you are considered disposable. Safety is not even considered in most situations. I would not have considered this job had it not been for prevailing wages. The base rate is $12.00 per hour capped at $13.00. Prevailing rate is set by PennDOT. You don't get fringe.
Pros
benefits, 401K, prevailing wage
Cons
no safety, sometimes they want you to work on a non rate job
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Operator / Laborer (Current Employee) –  Grove City, PASeptember 6, 2016
Lots of great guys to work with. Everyone is nice and get along well. They've given me a couple raises and aren't afraid to pay for the work you do. Haven't been here long, but it's a good place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging
AREA MANAGER (Current Employee) –  State College, PAApril 7, 2012
A challenging experience with open challenges. All permiting at plant level. no assistance from human resources
Pros
ability to make all decisions
Cons
poor equiptment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Glenn O. Hawbaker, Inc.?

Ask a question
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Glenn O. Hawbaker, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 9 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.2
Culture
3.9