Find companies:
Global Experience Specialists
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 reviews

Global Experience Specialists Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Operations Coordinator (Former Employee), Las Vegas NVMarch 11, 2014
the culture and people are fantastic, hours can be long right before or during an event.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being host city to a many different industries' conventions was great!
Convention services/ Exhibits (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVDecember 12, 2013
Pros: physical job in nature, ( icould eat eat steak every nite.)
Cons: sometimes the endurance level was trying after one week or more.
Knowledge of many aspects of how-to handling of equipment at show site was an on- the -job learning process. One of which came to us, by very proficient lead people. I found my overall experience to be quite rewarding. Job placement on a day in ,day out, basis was entirely up to managements' needs, also, "okay to proceed"status for that particular show. – more... The hardest part of the job was the fluctuation in start times for a given workday. This to also include, job site location and parking was also sometimes an issue for deliberation on, again, that daily basis. Besides that, I found the spontaneity of various different jobs, selected by management, upon getting there for a day's work, an exhilarating form of employment. Never stressing to me ,due to, my versatility in skills related fields, and ,good nature in general. Okay..Okay! GES taught me so many different jobs, from booth carpet, to sign graphics, to exhibit 'systems' set-up. All of the while, using the utmost safety protocol, as, there were time constraints, all the while. I cherish the memories with that company, over the years. It is all about being a good Host City, from beginning to end of show! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PIT Office - DO NOT WORK HERE!
administrative (Former Employee), pittsburgh, paOctober 8, 2013
Catty People
Horrible amateur management
Toxic environment
You will want to quit after a week...if that long!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Environment
Traffic Coordinator (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDJuly 23, 2013
An unbelievable place to build a career. Working for GES has pushed me to work harder than I ever have in my life. Like any job you will experience your ups and downs however, GES offers a truly unique opportunity for all their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Paced Work Environment
Safety Manager (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVJune 25, 2013
Enjoyable work place with great co-workers. Terrible work/life balance, long hours, will be required to work on most weekends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
• Represent and sell GES exposition services in every convention venue throughout the United States.
Senior Sales Manager (Current Employee), Orlando, FLMay 23, 2013
• Responsible for GES relationship with all Walt Disney World owned and operated facilities.
• Partner with Convention Services, Resort Sales and Resort Operations at each venue and city.
• Worked with most convention labor unions throughout the United States.
• Make daily sales calls to perspective clients.
• Research and prospect daily through internal – more... and external means for new business opportunities.
• Create Tentative File Report, Forecasting, Work in Progress and Quarterly Revenue Reports.
• Windows Business Suite, Sales Force, Oracle, Outlook – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Completely enjoyed working here
Financial Reporting Analyst (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVMay 22, 2013
There are many opportunities to learn about the various lines of business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work you to death
Exhibitor Services Coordinator (Former Employee), Orlando, FLMay 16, 2013
Pros: friendly environment
Cons: incredibly unyielding work schedule, very limited and unstructured training program for new hires
Let me start by saying, I thoroughly enjoyed working with my team and loved the high energy of the conventions. I would have never left had the "work/days-off" balance been appropriate. I have worked in trade show planning for over ten years and was very excited about working with GES, as it is one of the biggest national EXPO companies. I expect to – more... work twelve hours a day during trade shows, that's just the nature of the beast. What I did not expect was working twelve to fifteen hours a day for five days at the trade shows, then pull regular eight hour work days in the office without even ONE day off. Some of my schedules had me working nearly a month without even ONE day off (Sunday-Sunday). Granted, there are busy and slower seasons in this industry, but the workload for one person is unreasonable, at best. Although, I signed on with a nice salary, once I broke down the amount of hours I was pulling, I earned a little over $11.00 per hour. Having read reviews from other GES locations, it may be an issue specifically with the Orlando office and these issues may have been resolved since I worked with the company. This was purely my personal experience. The employees themselves were very nice and worked well together. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, challenging, fun.
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), Chicago,ILApril 30, 2013
Pros: never boring, work independantly
Cons: long hours, benefits
I work at our satellite office in an Exhibit and Events Hotel. Typical day includes reviewing upcoming shows, pulling reports, projecting costs for labor to install and dismantle event. Plan the amount of men as well as man hours needed produce the event. Review the Hotels upcoming schedule and touch base with all clients to inquire if our assistance – more... will be needed. During my career at the Hotel satellite office, I have worked with many levels of the Hotel staff and have learned some aspects of the venue portion in Events,such as client site meetings to view their meeting space. As a Supervisor, I work with several different trades and believe that to better supervise is to not only learn and be well versed in each of their trades, but to listen to their suggestions, observations and to respect their knowledge and experience. This industry has long hours and many weekends, I have regularly worked 70+ hours a week which does not leave much personal time and can be exhausting but the people (co-workers, clients, exhibitors,etc) make it worth it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Account Executive
Account Executive (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 29, 2013
Great opportunity to learn all aspects of experiential markering.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Former employee (Former Employee), Orlando,FlApril 3, 2013
Pros: good rapport between ops dept and their drivers
Cons: everything
The worst company I have ever worked for.Too many chiefs not enough indians.This place will spend a dollar to save a dime.I cant speak for everyone who works there,but when you look around at all the people who work there,they just look miserable(except for management of course).I worked for this company in Orlando,Fl so these comments are about this – more... location as I have not worked at other locations for this co.Corporate needs to come down to Orlando,Fl and clean house in their management dept.I feel thats the only way to save this location,so they quit losing business.I would never apply for this driving job.The dispatcher they have hired has no dispatch experience.He is a a@#hole who will make you want to punch him in the mouth.Anyone who gets this driving job GOOD LUCK TO YOU! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
profitable company
Account Manager (Current Employee), Hebron, KYJanuary 13, 2013
Pros: nice work environment
Cons: organizational structure
busy work schedule, good compensation
working as a team is a must
a lot of tight deadlines, so being able to manage a heavy work schedule is a must
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work enviorment
(GES), Labor Union/ Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), National City, CASeptember 28, 2012
Pros: free parking and lunches.
Cons: not enough shows to work.
Great place to work when there are shows in town. I have set up over 5 comiccon conventions and got a chance to meet some great people. If the hours were there I would still be working here. Management is very good, always making sure we take our breaks. hardest part of the job is finding work and the best part is by far the location and pay scale.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sr. SharePoint Developer (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJuly 3, 2014
The approval process was consolidated with approval routing capabilities for the TCR’s and vendor updates by generating notifications to approvers and notifying appropriate personnel upon final approval.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment requiring long work hours, including evenings and weekends
Exhibits & Design Sales Executive (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONFebruary 10, 2014
Cons: working long hours and working even during holidays.
High level of service delivery required, working under pressure and under timelines. Most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new people from various trade shows and events.