Find companies:
Golden Living Centers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
499 reviews

Golden Living Centers Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Fun Workplace
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Plattsmouth, NEMay 12, 2014
A typical day at work starts with early morning report, medications, breakfast, and lunch. The staff is very friendly and always willing to lend a helping hand. I enjoy that I am able to have a little extra time to provide the quality care that these patients deserve. For instance, I can find time to paint someones nails if needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really fun place.
Rn House Supervisor Night Shift (Former Employee), Arab, ALMay 7, 2014
Administration supportive of staff, as well as residents. Small quaint facility with big heart, and great staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start a new career.
Student Nurse Assistant (Former Employee), Glassgow, WVMay 6, 2014
This facility has the ability to change your perspective for the better & can help your start a new career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Place for Elderly to live
Diietary (Former Employee), Marietta, GAMay 5, 2014
Pros: free food as long as you work in kitchen!
Cons: having to deal with awful nurses
This Golden Living was a wonderful place for elderly to live they are kind, warm and welcoming. The management in the kitchen on the other hand is very poor they need a better structure in there.
I worked mainly 5:30 am till 1:30 shift. Making breakfast and lunch. or assisted on the line I shall say. Making snacks and preparing food tray to get ready – more... to go to rooms. I learned here how to use my time wisely and be on time for things it is a multi task job had to do a lot of things in a short time. The most enjoyable part of this job was seeing the elderly faces on a day to day basis. They will always have a smile on there face when they know who is in the kitchen. The hardest part of the job was working with poor management and co workers. Them not having proper training to know how to communicate with others was very hard. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
atmosphere
Certified Nurse Aide (C.N.A.) (Former Employee), Meyersdale, PAMay 1, 2014
Pros: pay was better
Cons: the 90 day probation &having them let you go when you had a medical emergency
like working with people
work day was ok
i learned how to use chart noteing on the computers
co worker ok
hardest part of the job location
management could been better
seeing people smile
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor treatment by management
Admissions Director (Former Employee), Wilkes BarreMay 1, 2014
Pros: opportunity to work with some good administrative staff
Cons: lack of compassion and understanding for being a halthcare facilitly
Required surgery at the end of my probation period. Needed additional time off to recover due to surgical complications and extensive surgery. My request for unpaid leave was denied and I was terminated for taking the time off despite being under medical care. Even though I was told I was eligible to reapply, I do not want to work for a company so quick – more... to terminate me due to circumstances I had no control over and did not even give me the option to extend my probationary period. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive an fun workplace
Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee), Excelsior, MNApril 26, 2014
Pros: its overall ranking i give it 5 stars, good advancement, an great job security
Cons: short breaks
well since I have been working for golden living center I would say I give it an five star rating also it has good benefits that fit your family life style, also you can advance in your career at golden living center I'm going for my RN. The management is great, well since I have been working for golden living center my typical work day is busy an I – more... also have learned that they lock their doors for the memory patients so they want leave their floor without supervision my co-workers they are hard workers, the hard thing about my job is working short its hard to prioritize who to get up first when some family members might want there parent or aunt or uncle up first, Let me tell you a story why I enjoy my job, well someone once asked me what I do for a living, I said '' I sais I'm a nurse's aide I work in a nursing home The person made a face an quickly changed the subject. A lot of people don't understand my job, many people wouldn't do my job, not for all the money in the world'' they say. Being a nurse's aide is not glamorous job! It's a very important one though, I take pride in my job and in my work. There is much to learn, I try to improve my skills and myself, Things do get hectic, sometimes the call-bells seem to go off all at once, Family members ask me to do this or that. They all want priority, I do the best I can, My work is the kind of work many sons or daughters can't do or won't do! Yet somebody has to take care of the sick and the old. So I bathe and shower my patients, I want them to be fresh and clean, I comb and brush hair, I want them to look nice, Their hands shake an tremble so I have to cut their food and help them to eat. I want them to get the proper nourishment, and I told that person now do you understand why my job is so important? These people really need me... They depend on me... That is why I feel I am a very special person. Even though I am "just a nurse aide." – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice working conditions
House Supervisor (Former Employee), Schuyler, NEApril 25, 2014
Pros: nice work environment
Cons: shortened hours
Overseeing RNs, LPNs, CMAs, CNAs, Direct pt care involving the elderly and infirm, treatments, meds, assessments, admissions, discharges
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced work environment that is physically and emotionally demanding.
Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee), Bakersfield,CAApril 24, 2014
Pros: flexibility
High paced work environment that is physically and emotionally demanding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, if you want to actually work
Assist clients (Former Employee), Arab, ALApril 21, 2014
Pros: benefits, earned vacation
Cons: pay/ not alot of room for advancement.
Great place to work. Nice people, but they do want people whom actually work. Especially if you are an aide. Wish I didn't have to leave. Don"t waste anyone's time if your heart isn't in it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly, and professional work environment.
CNA (Former Employee), Independence, MOApril 16, 2014
Pros: the place is very nice and the people really care about the residents.
Cons: breaks
Come in make sure everyone doesnt need anything. Next do vitals pass water and snacks if wanted. ask residents if it was there shower day what a good time would be for them.Start helping people to the dining hall. Help feed residents that cant do it them selfs after passing trays and handing out drinks and silverware. Take the residents back to there – more... rooms or at least hall. Get everyone dressed and ready for bed and toilet the ones that can. After that chart on the day and stock briefs and linens. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
floor staff are wonderful and caring to bad upper managment isn't!
nurse (Former Employee), stillwater mnApril 15, 2014
Pros: great and caring floor staff
Cons: poor upper managment
The floor staff are so kind and giving and work so hard everyday to make the resident's feel at home but why do they have a hard time keeping the managment staff you ask? well they over load them with 100's of emails all day long crazy things they want them to do, cut the staff hours and expect them to work 50/60 plus hours a week, then be on call 24/7 – more... work on the week ends and cover on the floor when there are no staff cause they all quite! thats the Golden way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Caring Workplace
Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) (Current Employee), Gloucester, MAApril 14, 2014
My typical day at work would include delivering the best possible care to my patients while also making sure they are safe, comfortable, and happy. From this job I have learned time management, compassion, empathy, and team work. My managers are very kind and understanding individuals. In addition my co-workers are very nice people and are always there – more... to help me. The hardest part of the job would be redirecting difficult patient behaviors and transferring heavy patients. However, the most enjoyable part of my job would be knowing that everyday I work I make a difference by providing them with a safe environment and making sure they receive the best quality care. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great starter company
Professional Sales Representative (Current Employee), Omaha, NEApril 13, 2014
Sales and Marketing management is amazing and very progressive. Lots of room for advancement with this company. Local management at facilities need some work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eh
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee), Edwardsville, KSApril 10, 2014
I would never work at Golden Living Centers again. I worked there as an aid and was treated very poorly.
The other aids had the "its not my patient" mentality which made work very difficult
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
LPN Charge Nurse (Former Employee), Kirtland, OHApril 10, 2014
Pros: nice hours
Very nice place to work. Great group of staff and management is very approachable. Very open door policy. Great work hours. excellent BENEFITS. Every place has its ups and downs but overall, a great workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
maintains a good work schedule
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee), Fredericksburg, VAApril 5, 2014
Pros: good residential service and care for the residents
the facility has good employee relations. my co workers are greatly involved with the care of the residents and also care about their fellow employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff was very nice, helpful
LPN (Former Employee), Rome, GeorgiaApril 4, 2014
Pros: excellent staff members and teamwork
The staff at Golden Living are wonderful. The facility is clean and organized and the residents appeared to enjoy their stay there, however long it may be. The staff worked as a team to provide quality patient care to the residents and also the families of the residents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working here until union came in
charge nurse (Former Employee), Springfield, TNApril 2, 2014
Cons: union
managed did not look out for its registered nurses once the union came into facility
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great for advancement
ADON/Wound nurse/RN Supervisor (Former Employee), E Stroudsburg, PAApril 1, 2014
Pros: technology, advancement opportunities
Cons: frequent management turnover
Daily labs, stat ivs, clinical assessments, admissions, discharges, staff management, education of staff, residents and families, weekly wound round, implementation of treatment plans, infection control monitoring, monthly qi reports

About Golden Living Centers

Every aspect of every Golden LivingCenter and Community is focused on the patients and residents we serve. That means you have – Read more

Golden Living Centers Photos