Find companies:
Golden Nugget
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
39 reviews

Golden Nugget Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Valet (Current Employee), Atlantic City, NJDecember 12, 2014
Pros: great environment
Cons: poor cafeteria food
Golden Nugget is superior in the casino industry because they are committed to providing the best service possible, no matter the obstacles involved. I am honored to be a part of this winning team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Valet (Former Employee), Sparks, NVDecember 10, 2014
Easy and fun but it required a lot of running. The management and co-workers were awesome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Golden Nugget
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Atlantic City, NJDecember 2, 2014
Pros: great place to work
Cons: working grave shift every day leaves no personal life
i come in at about midnight an collect my bank, restock shelves, and prepare to take over the store until about 9 or 10 in the morning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting place to work
card dealer / trainer (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVNovember 17, 2014
Pros: tips(money)
Cons: breaks were too short
Come to work early at least (30)min.before shift starts. Wait to be assigned to my table.Same routine everyday. I learned about being patient, and working with others. Ive always got along with my shift boss and my co-workers. Hardest part of my day was having to smile when being insulted by players. Most enjoyable part of the job was the support of – more... my boss. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high pace working environment
dealer (Former Employee), lasvegasNovember 17, 2014
Pros: very polite coworkers
Cons: not so good edr
good working relationship cultivated here! great Players
everyone is there to have a great time not to serious.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable to have different clients evey day! Great co-workers
Hair Designer/Colorist (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVOctober 18, 2014
Pros: employee's were feed on site. i choose to bring my own/
Cons: at one time the employer added 50% to our 401-k now not so much
During the summer was our slow season so commission based employee's didn't make a lot of money. What I learned was teamwork is a valuable asset in any work environment. Management varied from day to day in their attitude. Working in a corporation is stressful for anyone in management, and their attitude flow down hill.
My co-workers were the glue that – more... held our department together. I could always depend on them for help, for small talk, and for just a smile. The hardest part of the job was dealing with a client you couldn't please. Working hard to do all you can do for a client and a client still isn't happy is just frustrating. When you see the smiles on the majority of clients it makes every minute, every second, and every hour enjoyable doing the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A tiny glimpse into a very exciting profession
Security Officer (Former Employee), Sparks, NVOctober 1, 2014
Pros: no limits to patrol areas, taking casual breaks
Cons: "drama", lack of training.
A typical day consisted of walking the entire property: casino floor, hotel tower floors, exterior/parking lots, kitchens/employee areas, and the tasks that came with them: taking chips from the vault to the gaming tables, escorting slot department personnel filling ticket cashing machines, escorting cashier, keno, or other employees carrying cash from – more... their respective areas to the vault, and mediating guest/staff relations.
I learned a lot of what Police Officers can go thru, on a small scale. I would respond to a variety of calls, most times without cops being involved: domestic disputes, theft, physical/verbal altercations, overly intoxicated persons, fraud, vehicle collisions, etc.
Management was terrible. I got a $0.26 raise upon the review of my 3-month probationary period, and that was it. There was always lots of rumors, gossip, and other unnecessary "drama".
The hardest part of the job was what made it fun, almost addicting: never knowing what would happen in a shift. No one can tell the future, of course, and the thought of walking casually around the casino, then having to respond to a situation that's physically threatening was exciting.
They never gave defense classes or other training. It was mostly a "wing it" by each situation job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
games dealing
games dealer (Current Employee), Laughlin, NVSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: excellent place
Cons: i like my work, coworkers and upper management are always kind an supportive to all employees and customers
I have learned to deal a good, clean ,accurate games (almost) according to casino rules . Always pleasant to my co-workers ,customers and higher management . I enjoy working for golden nugget company , and people that work there . Customers are always pleasant , kind , and I am always happy to deal to them . For the few not so pleasant , I always try – more... to make them happy, in any way I can – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Miserable
Assistant Beverage Manager (Former Employee), Las VegasAugust 7, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
This is the most horrible place I have ever worked. The management doesn’t have a clue of how to operate in any capacity, from the owner to lower management. They never have supplies, always under staffed, and the health department closed down 2 of the restaurants for infestation.
When the new culinary contract went into affect, people who where perversely – more... receiving 4 weeks vacation are now only getting 2 weeks. I’m speaking of people who have worked there for 20 years.
They work lower management 12-16 hours a day 6 days a week for the same horrendous pay and deafeningly no overtime pay no matter how many hours you work. When this happens, how can they expect someone to make logical decisions.
Day shift employees get to eat carved turkey (which isn’t great) while swing shift employees have to eat left over’s from the buffet and grave shift have to eat dried out sandwiches. I’m sorry to say all these things are absolutely true. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable atmosphere
Assistant Retail Sales Manager (Former Employee), Sparks, NVJuly 12, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: low pay
Working in the gift shop and business center generally consisted of helping guests in a laid back and pleasant atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy place
Cage Cashier (Former Employee), Biloxi, MSJune 30, 2014
Pros: business is good
Cons: can't get much time off
Always on the go and very busy. Guaranteed to get hours and co-workers make it enjoyable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casino environment. Exciting place to work
PC Technician (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJune 15, 2014
Pros: meals for employees were free
Cons: field technician position was turned to help desk position
Assisted with migration from MGM-Mirage network to the Golden Nugget domain. Ghosted approximately 50 computers on the network.

Supported users with computer related issues.Added, moved, repaired and changed Microsoft Office, computer equipment, and printers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Front Service Coordinator (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJune 10, 2014
Pros: edr, meeting new people, working in a hotel, nice hours and wage
Cons: had to work with some immature co-workers
I worked at the bell desk and I enjoyed it very much. I typically worked morning shifts 7am-3pm. the work environment was fun and was fast-paced on certain days due to guests checking in and out. Working in a hotel where you deal with guests everyday can be stressful at times but I really liked my job because everyday was something to look forward to. – more... This was definitely the best job I ever had. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Help Desk Analyst
PC Technician (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJune 1, 2014
Pros: casino atomsphere
Cons: temporary position
Work help desk as primary contact for the facility. Route calls as needed. Repair workstations, assist end users as needed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic enviornment
Security Supervisor (Current Employee), Atlantic City, NJApril 30, 2014
Casinos are full of energy and life no matter what shift or department you work in. Don't let some of the poorly spelled reviews on here sway your decision on choosing the Golden Nugget as a place of employment. Anyone who was fired, was fired for good reason. It's a tough place to work for but if you can follow direction, do as your told, and have – more... common sense, you will be accepted into the strong hard working family of your fellow employees and be taken care of. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Computer Operator (Former Employee), Atlantic City, NJMarch 26, 2014
Being a casino, there was always something going on. As part of the IT team you would be doing a lot of different tasks, mostly acting as the Help Desk for system users. Other tasks included setting up terminals for business meetings, or events held in the casino. It is a great starting place for younger people looking to get a start in the Information – more... Technology field. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Housekeeping
Housekeeper (Current Employee), Atlantic City, NJMarch 21, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
management is really unprofessional and unhelpful . Co-workers are very sweet and the place is beautiful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
everyday not always the same
Multi-Games Dealer (Current Employee), Laughlin, NVMarch 21, 2014
Pros: the people
Cons: the people
Enjoy the people I work with and enjoy customers. Has moments when it is fun , and everyone is working well together . The faster the pace , the more challenging , the better I like it. the Golden Nugget provides those opportunities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This should sum it up.
Veteran security officer. (Former Employee), Laughlin ,nvFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: good lower management, but is hampered by bad upper management. if your a good looking officer with a good personality, women will throw themselves at you. 1 free meal a shift, food quality varies. experience in the field, free training, quality varies.
Cons: low pay, says part time but will work full time on part time status, upper management either doesn't care, or doesn't know how to run a security department, lets the director be a shady tyrant, overtime isn't allowed unless your well liked or a supervisor, only a 2 percent raise after a year, fights happen almost every weekend.it's usually an off week if there isn't atleast two big ones, no pepper spray, or tasers
I started working at GNL august of 2012 after moving and being out of work for a few months. This company is good about calling you back for an interview at least,It is not the worst casino to work at,but by no means the best either..Little else good can be said about it tho. I left the company,I wasn't fired.I worked as an Security Officer for a year – more... and a month. I had some fun and learned alot.in the end it is not a career and I moved on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friday Fun Day
Guest Room Attendant (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: busy lunches
Cons: long breaks were awesome
I always have fun at work I learn everything that has something to do with cleaning the hardest part is when I clean room that's a stay over