Find companies:
Golden State Foods
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
36 reviews

Golden State Foods Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical
Quality Assurance Technician (Current Employee), Industry, CAApril 10, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: management
Just like any production plant, you will be working everyday 24/7 because it is governed by seniority. If you are a new hire you will be looking forward to just working more at the plant. There isn't any room for people to move up inside the company as they look to hire outside for job advancements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trucks good, no personal life!
Transport Driver (Current Employee), Lemont, ILApril 5, 2014
Pros: nice tractors too bad u can't drive same one everyday!
Cons: horrible hours, fickle management, high insurance. learn spanish.
First thing in morning, i mean midnight folks this is the drill. Get there a half hour early to do paperwork and the mad dash to find a tractor to drive. Thats right folks you'll be driving about 5 different trucks a week. Now keep in mind they want you out of the yard in a half an hour which is totally unrealistic for this job. That will be on your – more... own time also. I've had worse jobs, but the pay for this job should be more for tangling with the Mc Donalds parking lots and kissing booty at the stores which is required by GSF. Union job but union does'nt have your back at all. Over all nice co workers with a few jagbags thrown in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont do it!!!!
Route Driver (Current Employee), Lemont, ILMarch 28, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: schedule, schedule! no personal life!
The company doesn't care for its employees! You are expected to work every weekend for 25+ years. The pay is low for the hours and days you have to work. If you want to see your family or have a family life, look elsewhere!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excessive work load, with long work hours
Purchasing Inventory Control Clerk (Former Employee), Conyers, GAMarch 20, 2014
Pros: wonderful benefit package
Cons: low salary for the amount of work required.
A lot of work for most employees, work long hours and weekends with little to no time for leisure. No balance between work and life outside of work. Not good for morale.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
CDL Class A Driver (Former Employee), Garner, NCMarch 4, 2014
Pros: benifits
Cons: strict
company has high standards but is a great place overall to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee), Kent, WAFebruary 10, 2014
fast paced environment with a strong focus on safety. great group of guys to work next to.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A safe place to work
Meat block operator (Former Employee), Industry, CAFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: a lot foods party
Cons: there is none
Work as a team to advance your work.learn to use my time clean around the area.one of the best management team I have work for.co worker work hard a as team.time went fast and very productive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad for your heath
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), conyers,gaJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: you have a job
Cons: working too much
no days off working 10 to 12 hours day, very cold inside and stinks
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't expect to be there for very long.
General Facilities Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee), CIty of Industry, CAJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: pay was good
Cons: everything else, it was like high school all over again.
Typical day was coming in and wondering which manager was trying to step all over supervisors and associates to get higher on the corporate ladder. then figuring out how to do your job with little to no money or manpower because corporate keeps cutting people and money for facility and maintenance. Don't forget that the hard working people there are – more... rarely recognized for their contributions to the company. This City of Industry plant nor the corporation will ever be on the top 100 companies to work for because the upper management does not even follow their own creed and values. Forget working here if you are prior military because they have used and abused Veterans since i was there. almost all the Vets have been let go in a matter of months. you have to be part of the "cool kids club" to get anything done. there is also some collusion there considering the new operations manager who has little experience is in that position because his uncle is the CEO. This was a great learning experience for me after over 20 years as a nuclear engineer in the US Navy on how not to be a hard charger go getter highly motivated person because inevitably you will be a threat to the upper management and they will let you go and claim you did not meet the standards of performance per the company. everything is "At-will" even if you are an hourly employee... so no one is safe unless you are part of the good-ol-boy club there. there were many honest and genuine employees there, just not in the upper management. they were all backstabbing snakes in the grass. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There was always something to do.
Mixer/QA lab qualification (Former Employee), Industry, CAJanuary 15, 2014
A typical day, Clock in on time and head to my station ( Ketchup deck). Were I get ready do make ketchup/hot sauce. Also after every bath of ketchup/hot sauce I would have to get a sample to test PH balance, Salt levels, and thickness of the product. Management was always willing to help out with any questions you have. Example, any changes on the formula – more... of the product or when change over of a product will take place. Co-workers were fun like family. We spend so much time at work, work was like our second home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked in the evenings and found it to be 95% good and 5% bad.
Blender Operator (Former Employee), Conyers, GANovember 26, 2013
Pros: being rewarded for the good job we do
Cons: the breaks go by so fast sometimes.
I guess a typical day is fast pace production,you zone in on the task
at hand and take care of business,and you are always grateful for the
little down time when some production part break for an hour or so.
What i learned is that management and co workers are a lot like the high school teachers we had in high school,you have your favorite and your – more... not so favorite.I also surprised myself sometimes at formulating a batch of beef where it hit the nail on the head for as being dead on the target.The hard part sometimes,is getting a professional team effort at getting the job at hand done.The most enjoyable parts are the moments of simpatico,the grinding room is a well oiled machine, everything is falling into place.I love to make up games to match a physical task by making it easier and then your co-worker who work in QA or QC come and tell you the product is coming out great for the hamburger patty production.I believe it's all
about your work mindset,your positive energy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Revolving door
IBM i Technical Consultant (Former Employee), Industry, CANovember 24, 2013
Cons: can't execute plans
I have never seen so many good people going out the front door because of management issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company continuing to build its fortune.
Machine Operator (Former Employee), city of industryOctober 28, 2013
• Processes incoming and outgoing products
• Maintain machinery adequately
• Maintain accurate and orderly work habits
• Develop and maintain effective working relationships
• Work at a speed sufficient to met positions requirements.
• Trouble shooting
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Covington, GAOctober 8, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: random overtime
It is very productive and time consuming, great co workers learned how to operate a machine.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job, too bad have too work weekends forever
Route Driver (Former Employee), Lemont, ILOctober 1, 2013
Pros: everything other than the schedule.
Cons: schedule
Great company , good coworkers, nice management.Delivered food to mcdonalds using electric pallet jack. Offered three weeks of good training and had the best and newest equipment. Very driver friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast pace environment
Transportation /Warehouse Supervisor (Current Employee), Garner, NCAugust 27, 2013
Pros: job security
Cons: opportunity to move upward at current distribution center.
Start the day reviewing hours of service, then confirming and DOT violations from the previous day. Next, scheduling the extra board drivers for the up and coming day. I learned to think ahead because the unknown will always come and get you. I have think about any gaps in dispatches and who is off and may have HOS (hours of service). Business demands – more... never stops and we have to be ready to meet those demands.

The hardest part of the job is preparing for the unknown. Typical day-to-day operations is fairly predictable,so you have to have your checklist of items to do and be ready go when it happens. It will happen.

When things are done right, that is enjoyable to me. I can see how the decision I make have an impact on what goes on within a typical day or even for the week. When you can hit all your daily KPI's while meeting the needs of our customer is an enjoyable day, week, or month. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Warehouse
General Warehouse (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 16, 2013
Pros: good management
Cons: company merge caused me to loose employment
Great place to work because everybody was made to learn every department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very physical atmosphere
Consultant, shop lead (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMay 14, 2013
Pros: union shop
Cons: lack of communication, favoritism, and breaching of contract.
Physical labor in a frozen, chill, and dry environment. Loading pallets, stacking product, shipping receiving. Heavy equipment operations. Warehouse coordination and loading, shipping and selecting crew to meet dispatch times and load departures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with a team player enviroment
Utility Operator (Former Employee), Conyers, GAMay 7, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: long hours, you have 3 days when you are forced to work overtime, when people with sinority don't
A typical day at work for me is learning new ways of becoming more productive and efficient. I have learned that not only producing a excellent and quality product is important but having a safe production is the key role. I have had extremely good managers that has showed skills on documentation and the warehouse floor, very easy to work effectively – more... with a good leader. The hardest part of my job is time it takes to learn skills need to do your job well. The most enjoyable part of my job was finally reaching a point of confidence knowing how to perform my job correctly and receiving opportunities and acknowledgements, and advancements – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Executive Receptionist/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Irvine, CAApril 6, 2013
I was the head executive receptionist but I needed full time work and they only offered part time.

About Golden State Foods

You might say this company helps make the Golden Arches shine. Golden State Foods is a leading US foodservice company that is – Read more