Find companies:
Golder Associates
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
34 reviews

Golder Associates Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
CAD Designer (Former Employee), Richmond, VAApril 14, 2014
Cons: free coffer
A typical day at work is 8:00am to 5:00pm, good co-workers, good management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Expectations but Can't Move Up
CADD Technician (Former Employee), Redmond, WAApril 4, 2014
I was able to work on a variety of projects around the U.S. and around the World.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of management leads to lack of work
Project (Current Employee), Lakewood, COMarch 8, 2014
Cons: lack of work
Management is severely lacking in knowledge of proper Project Management practices/processes.

Engineers are regularly appointed PMs and have no education on how to do the work, how to make a schedule or do any sort of cost control. This leads to no one knowing where anyone is on a project, what comes next, or where the budget is...until a month or – more... two down the line.

Flat structure is great, but it leads to management by committee. On any day, the person in charge can change depending on who thinks their work must be done NOW. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Consultant (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAFebruary 14, 2014
This work experience was a part of the school program. We evaluated current business strategy and provided recommendations for improvement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
salary is low
air resources engineer (Current Employee), gainesvilleJanuary 30, 2014
I have been worked for a year but the salary is still very low.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High turnover and poorly managed with a high school culture.
Senior Project Scientist (Former Employee), Denver, CODecember 5, 2013
Pros: good projects
Cons: mangement, office culture, p&a system, high turnover., overly bureaucratic, dysfunctional systems.
The Denver office is managed like a high school. An elitist P&A system prevents advancement for many. There is an extremely high turnover rate, especially for non engineers. They have little respect for the more experienced employees not in the P&A system. The company is overly bureaucratic, which creates complete dysfunction for the project managers – more... to work efficiently. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My favorite
Receptionist (Former Employee), Richmond, VANovember 27, 2013
I truly enjoyed working with Golder. One of my favorite places to work when I was there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Environmental Scientist (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCNovember 11, 2013
I enjoyed working with Golder Associates. It was a good company to begin my employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rather not answer
Proect Accounting Specialist (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLAugust 27, 2013
Good Company Overall. Management at office levels and corporate levels could be worked on. The office was very busy and the Corporate office expected a lot out of us within a short period of time. Some of the employees were good to work with and others not. The hardest part of my job was keeping my boss happy. Management needs to work on discrimination – more... towards employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to develop a career for the right person
Geographic Information Systems Specialist (Former Employee), Seattle, WAJune 18, 2013
- Good place to develop a career.
- Variety of interesting projects.
- Silo'ed approach to using specialists that required you to work a bit harder to create a collaborative environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Golder Review
Instrumentation and Controls Engineer (Current Employee), Lakewood, COMay 7, 2013
Pros: great job security.
Cons: pay is way below industry avarage
Not a bad place to work. Great job security. Pay is way below industry avarage
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to be challenged and grow
Principal (Current Employee), USAMarch 19, 2013
Pros: limitless opportunity to grow
Cons: sub-par pay for the the value produced by senior employees
Golder is an experience that is not for everyone, especially those who are not self-starters and ambitious. If you approach working at Golder as a 9-5 job, you will be left in the dust. If you approach it as an amazing opportunity to expand your knowledge, skills and talents, you will be most pleased. It requires work to excel, and Golder spits out – more... those who do not put in the effort, but rewards those who do. Golder is not a job - it is a calling and a career, which is why there are so many people who have worked for Golder more than 20 years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
geotechnical group in Calgary
former geotechnical engineer (Former Employee), Calgary, AlbertaNovember 25, 2012
Pros: big name, worldwide presence
Cons: poor management, does not recognize talent, do not care about employee professional growth, no or little mentorship
It is in a mess. There is one big name and the rest is empty. This is not a place for professional growth. This company is for the principal, by the principal and the rest of the staff has no say, no value, no recognition.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
depends on your office
project engineer (Former Employee), redmon, waNovember 1, 2012
Pros: relaxed
Cons: little space for career developement and learning
its a big company so it all depends on your office. i can say in general there is very few company-wide programs for career developement. in redmond office there is very little interaction and support of peers-seniors. i always had the feeling that the seniors want to keep you down to do the man labor and the culture propagated down to the peers who – more... felt insecure about sharimg their knowledge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and learning more than I ever knew!!
Secretary (Former Employee), Tucker, GASeptember 10, 2012
Pros: fridays!!
Cons: there were so many good weeks, but there were also cramped times to hussle out reports that went into overtime.
I started out as a receptionist, then was promoted to Group Secretary. I was in my early twenties and my co-workers were very helpful and educational. The hardest part of the job was meeting last minute report changes to be Fed-Exed out as soon as possible. Went into alot of overtime. I enjoyed the job because I met so many great people with alot of – more... knowledge that helped mold me with so many things that could help me in my private and professional life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close to home.
Office Administrator (Current Employee), Green Bay, WIJuly 25, 2012
Pros: can wear casual clothing.
Cons: no short term disabiity
Although I like my position, coworkers, and manager, I have repeatedly asked for more responsibilities. The hardest part of the job is not having enough to work to fill the day. I like the job because it is close to home and dress is casual.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-workers and a productive-fun place to work.
Environmental Scientist (Former Employee), North CarolinaJune 4, 2012
Being an entry level employee, I learned a lot about the environmental field as well as life as a professional. Everyone in the office was willing to help me out when I needed advice in any situation. As a whole I really enjoyed my time there and still keep in touch when I can.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work friendly environment
Geotechnical Engineering Technologist, C.E.T (Former Employee), Whitby, ONApril 14, 2014
Pros: great holiday get togethers for families and employees, great benefits
Cons: potentially long hours
Well known established company.
Accomodating for familiy needs and doctor's appointments.
Coworkers friendly, hard working individuals.
The most enjoyable part of the job were the field placements all over Ontario.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent culture; difficult to move and make changes
Leader - Project Management Office (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCApril 5, 2014
Pros: great teams; good benefits
Cons: frustrating management systems
Golder is an employee owned company. This has the incentive-benefit of in essence working for yourself, as shares in the company provide an annual return. The major shareholders are the Principals and Associates, who act as a "shadow management". This makes it difficult to keep the company nimble and enable changes.

As Leader - Project Management Office, – more... I am responsible to develop the project management skills within Golder, globally. This includes training and development for our PMs, Organisational Support, developing knowledge, tools and systems and developing global hubs of expertise.

The most enjoyable part of my job is interacting wiht my teams and co-workers, a truly splendid group of people committed to the future of the company.

The hardest part of my job is to maintain focussed and positive in an increasingly difficult work environment where project management is seen as periphery to the main technical thrust of the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional growth
Geotechnical Technician (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: continuous learning
Cons: -
I have gained In-house training for Index properties, as well as Specialized testing of soil and H & S certificates in fulfilling my duty as H & S representative.